Motivation logo

5 Best Books Which Changed My Life

The one thing which always keeps me alive is a Book

By Manjula PPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
The 5 Best Books
  1. The Alchemist - Paul0 Coelh0
  2. Tuesdays with Morrie - Mitch Albom
  3. Life is What You Make it - Preeti Shenoy
  4. Power of Your Subconscious Mind - Dr. Joseph Murphy
  5. Your Dreams Are Mine Now - Ravinder Singh

1. The Alchemist- Paulo Coelho — A fable about following your dream

A Brief about the book:

It is the story of a shepherd boy from the Spanish province of Andalusia who dreams of traveling the world in search of a treasure as desirable as any ever found. From his home, he journeys to the exotic markets of North Africa and then into the Egyptian desert, where a fateful encounter with the Alchemist awaits him…

It is an unforgettable story about the essential wisdom of listening to our hearts and above all, Following our dreams.

One of the best lines I liked from this book:

It describes people's inability to choose their own destinies. And it ends up saying that everyone believes the world's greatest lie.

The worlds greatest lie is this:

That at a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what's happening to us, and our lives become controlled by fate. That's the worlds greatest lie.

My experience with the book:

I read this book when I was in the last year of engineering where my conditions over few situations made me depressed, where this book helped me to pick up from the place where I fell and made me reach my goals with faith and determination.

2. Tuesdays With Morrie-Mitch Albom- an old man, a young man, and life's greatest lesson

A Brief about the book:

Maybe it was your grandparent, a teacher, or your colleague who is older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and impassioned, who helped you to see the world as a more profound place, gave you sound advice to guide your way through it.

For Mitch Albom, it was Morrie Schwartz, the college professor who had taught him nearly twenty years before.

Perhaps, like Mitch, you lost track of a Mentor as the years passed, the insights faded, and the world seemed colder. Wouldnt you like to see that person again, to ask the bigger questions that still haunt you, and receive wisdom for your busy life the way you once did when you were younger?

Mitch Albom got that second chance. rediscovering Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final class: lessons in how to love.

One of the best lines I liked from this book:

“Accept what you are able to do and what you are not able to do”; “Accept the past as past, without denying it or discarding it”; “Learn to forgive yourself and to forgive others”; “Don't assume that its too late to get involved.”

My experience with the book:

One such person in my life is my Grandfather, in the last stages of his life, I spent most of the time with him by creating good memories, learned many things from his past life becoming from nothing to something and more than something in his life. For most of his life, he spent money, his time for others' wellbeing. I miss him but he will be my all-time inspiration.

“Memories will never fade away.”

3. Life Is What You Make It-Preeti Shenoy- A story of love, hope, and how determination can overcome even destiny

A brief about the book:

What would you do if destiny twisted the road you took? What if it threw you to a place you did not want to go? Would you fight, would you run or would you accept?

Ankitha Sharma has the world at her feet. She is young, good-looking, smart, and has tonnes of friends and boys swooning over her. She also manages to get into a premier management school for her MBA.

Six months later, she is a patient in a mental hospital.

Life has cruelly and coldly snatched that which meant the most to her and she must now fight to get it all back.

It is a deeply moving and inspiring account of growing up, of the power of faith, and how determination and an indomitable spirit can overcome even what destiny throws at you.

My experience with the book:

Many people go into depression but coming out of it with new hopes, faith and determination can possible with only a few, others end up their life thinking that theirs no faith or chance to live.

One such incident in my life happened when I was in my 10th standard. I am such a child who loves her studies with many goals, I am a topper in class and other extracurricular activities. Always I received praise from my teachers that they felt I will be the topper in state board exams. But things don't happened in such away.

The one who gave her full time to her books, to her poetry all of a sudden I became a person where I couldn't even read a single line from a book. My physical condition was good, there is nothing that mentally upset me.

I was trying hard to know what's happening to me, I used to keep my book in front of me thinking that I can read but things were out of my control. There were days where I felt why I am still living because loves me more, but I became like this which hurt me day by day.

Even my friends who were with me when I was fine haven't come to see me or talked to me over those days. My parents love, my teacher's inspiration, and more than that belief in God and in me made me come out of that stage even though I wasn't a topper in my board exams I got 90% even after not going to school for 9 months which made people talk about me that how did she achieve?

4. Power Of Your Subconscious Mind-Dr Joseph Murphy

A brief about the book:

One of the pioneering voices of affirmative thinking, Dr. Joseph Murphy can unlock the truly staggering powers of your subconscious mind.

In this remarkable book, Dr. Murphy combines spiritual wisdom and scientific research to explain how your subconscious mind influences every single aspect of your life.

By understanding and harnessing its powers you can control and improve the quality of your daily life.

One of the best lines I liked from this book:

“To him, that hath the feeling of wealth, more wealth shall be added; to him, that hath the feeling of lack, more lack shall be added.”

My experience with the book:

The secret of life doesn't lie anywhere it's in the way we think and the way we speak. Life gives us what we think maybe slowly but definitely.

If you keep on thinking about negative aspects of life, it will attract more negative and throws you into a place where it takes time to come out of that.

I am a kind most negative person where my life surrounded me with all kinds of places where I never wanted to be because I used to get scared of things that shouldn't happen but the same things used to happen because life was attractive to fears and negative things.

Life gives you everything when the right time comes, even it will prepare you to withstand the worst situation. Accept everything, but never think things are permanent. Change the way you think then life will be the way you want.

5. Your Dreams Are Mine Now-Ravinder Singh

A brief about the book:

Two people who are completely opposite!

She’s a small-town girl who takes admission to Delhi University. An idealist, studies are her first priority.

He’s a Delhi guy, seriously into the youth politics in D.U. He fights to make his way. Student union elections are his first priority.

But then opposites attract as well!

A scandal on campus brings them together, they begin to walk the same path and somewhere along, fall in love… But their fight against evil comes at a heavy price, which becomes the ultimate test of their lives.

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.”

My experience with the book:

One of the best books with which I got emotionally connected is this one. I am a person where I don't believe in love rather than seeing them in movies and in books.

But one such real-life story which is completely different from this because love happens in different ways even gives many things and even takes away many things.

When things were happening worst in her life, things started changing when he came into her life as positive energy. She never knew that it's just not only his soul that made her life change but every aspect of him-his voice is magic to her, his eyes- where a thousand words can be seen, his words-a power to change anyone.

When he was in her life she has never shown any feelings for him, even he was loving her in many different ways. When things started changing she realized how important he is to her.

Instead of being in his memories, she started loving him more by following every word he told to her to change herself to the way where she will be in a place of one among that successful women.

Rudra -A real Love to her now. Parents' love, friends love changed her and now Rudra’s love had changed and made her be in a place where he always wants her to be.

“Nothing can stop a person to love more.”

book review
1

About the Creator

Manjula P

I am passionate about writing but am not restricted to one thing where I always want to write on Books, Life, Education, Kids, Love, Travels etc. One thing which always keeps me alive is a book and writing because it gives me confidence.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.