Motivation logo

4 Reasons Why Nurses Make Great Entrepreneurs And Freelancers

And how to break free of the “dollars for hours” trap for good...

By Rick MartinezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo via Pexels

The other night I was on a Zoom coaching call. I wasn't the coach; I was one of the coach's clients, to be precise.

Anyway, part of my share with our group was about a new freelance project I launched, and I was asking for feedback from others. It's worth sharing that I'm the only nurse entrepreneur in the group.

I mention this because I see so many of my fellow nurses complaining online. And no, this isn't necessarily something recent or related to current global events and pandemics.

This has been going on for some time. As an experienced nurse of 25 years now, I can attest to that fact.

It surfaces on Instagram as whining memes and Insta-stories. On Twitter as micro-posts of why their unit, the manager, or shift sucks. And on blogs, where the gripe session is really about how "they don't pay us enough."

So then a young, as yet un-tainted nurse joins the fray with the "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" mentality as soon as the first shift, experience, or job goes awry. And they too beat the drum of unfairness in nursing.

I don't get it. Never have and never will.

And I'm here to say the exact opposite is true.

You CAN beat them.

It'sThese days, it's so easy to freelance and tap into what we as licensed pros ALREADY know, and I'm going to prove it to you.

Here are four solid reasons why and how we make the best freelancers and entrepreneurs anywhere.

1. You hold a license. I know all the naysayers and the ones stuck inside "the box" are about to yell back that the license is useless without a system or physician oversight. But you're wrong. You've been trained to think linear and as a nurse.

When you couple that training with out-of-the-box thinking, then there is no limit to what you might accomplish.

2. Multitasking. This is second nature to us. Doesn't matter what unit or place you work; you likely manage five things and seven patients all at once. It's likely a subconscious act for you now, making you an even more potent freelancer, creator, or founder.

It's true, and deep down, you know it.

3. Research. When a family, a patient, or a doc asks a question, and you don't know the answer top of mind, you know EXACTLY where to go and how to get it. And you do it marvelously.

Big props to nursing school because all those sleepless nights and then sitting for boards taught us how to rapidly consume, disseminate and put pertinent information into practice stat.

4. Marketing. Ever had to explain a diagnosis to a parent, child, doc, and an oncoming shift? Did you tailor your message and delivery of said message to the exact audience with different words but still get the point across? I bet you dollars to donuts you did.

We are superior marketers.

Most people spend years upon years trying to understand communication and messaging, and we, as nurses, do it in our damn sleep.

In closing...

The truth is there are dozens of more reasons. But my hope is that if you're a nurse and read this, that things click for you.

Look. I'm pro-nurse. As I mentioned, I am one of us and proudly have been for twenty-five years now.

I want better for our profession, and I want better for my fellow nurses, but in my experience (decades worth), the wheel goes round and round.

What I learned a long time ago is that it's our choice to stay on that wheel or create your own.

I've been unemployed and unemployable for over twenty years now as an RN.

Now it's your turn.

If you can't join 'em, BEAT 'em.

Here's how to do just that.

success
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.