Motivation logo

4 Awesome Advice I Wish Someone Had Given Me Before My Twenties Ended

You’ll learn valuable life lessons that you couldn’t possibly fathom.

By NapoleonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
4 Awesome Advice I Wish Someone Had Given Me Before My Twenties Ended
Photo by Eliott Reyna on Unsplash

I was once 22.

It seemed like a lifetime ago when my twenties came to an end. It was 30 years ago. I am 52 today.

I want to say, I am loving my 50s. Who knew I can still fall in love, but as I turned 52, I lost my Mom.

Life happens at any age. I wish I lived my life in my twenties. This past year was either the best or worst experience of our lives. I know that we now look back and can’t believe how fast the time has gone. But, hopefully, we learned more than we had already known to help us for the rest of our lives.

It would be best if you weren’t holding yourself back.

When I was young, I wasn’t happy. I was hard on myself.

If you are 22, stop following a life script because there is none. Instead, allow yourself to make mistakes. Then, instead of getting by, focus on your goals.

Once you start getting older and have the education, the job, the car, the house, those things are very nice, but they’re not a part of living. It’s easy to get caught up in that and lose sight of what matters most — your relationships, health, and happiness.

There is a bit of wisdom to share about the importance of self-care and how it helps you be a better version of yourself.

Be healthy. It’s essential to take care of your body so that you can continue to experience all of life’s beauty.

It would be best if you had a career going by 22.

I don’t know if I would be able to have a career going by 22, but I’m glad I had the chance. My twenties came and went so quickly. While to some, a career is their job that will last until their retirement.

I would rather go for it whenever you feel you need to change careers. The only advice that I can give never leaves a job until you are secure in getting your next job. Never stay on the job, only because it pays the bill and pay for the food on the table, even if you are miserable.

Don’t be afraid. I was always on the safe side because I want to make sure my thirties are just as successful.

But at 52, I have a new career, and I say the best was saved for last. So my last act is that I have become a writer.

Relationships won’t always be happy.

Often, people think about the future and how it will always be happy. Still, in reality, relationships have their ups and downs. Many people want to find a partner in their life and start building a family and all that jazz. Still, relationships with other people are not guaranteed to be perfect.

Some people are scared of getting into relationships or even committing themselves to one person. It’s not always easy to deal with the possibility of heartbreak. This is the reason why you have to know what you’re dealing with. You have to learn how to be aware of your partner’s behavior, attitude, and even their choice of words. If you feel like it’s time for you to break up with someone, there are many subtle signs that you can look out for.

And when that happens, choose yourself.

It is OK to fall in love and lost, than not having to love at all.

A few months back, I will be the first to say that I will never find love. Like many, I have started to believe that love is for the young, that at 52, love will be harder to come by, but life has proven me wrong.

If I look back when I was 22, while I walked away from a relationship, I also walked away from love. So if you are in your twenties, dont walk away from love. Even if it results in heartbreak, keep on loving because love is the most beautiful feeling, romantic love included.

Keep an open mind.

I think that it is important to keep an open mind, especially when you are young. It can be hard to understand the things going on around you, and it is natural to want to close yourself off to things that make you uncomfortable. However, you don’t know what will happen in the future, and you might have to deal with those same things anyways.

When you close, you miss the opportunity of what life has to offer. Yes, we will commit mistakes, but even during those times, the lessons are plenty.

A life well-lived isn’t a life without mistakes. And as you grow older, allow yourself to embrace new ideas, keep an open mind because there is no one ideal way to live, but each of us can keep on choosing along our journey. In the end, the destination is finding your truth.

Final thoughts.

You’ll learn valuable life lessons that you couldn’t possibly fathom. It’s OK to not have all the answers. Don’t be afraid to start over, and embrace what life has in store for you. We are all afraid of failure, and that stops us from reaching out to our dreams. But what if we don’t try? What will we regret when we are 50?

You are only 22 once.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Napoleon

Working to be a better storyteller everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.