Motivation logo

30 Journal Prompts to Self Discovery - Day 6

What is your definition of success?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

Hey everyone, happy day six! I'm almost a week in and pretty happy with where this journal is going. I really hope people are writing along with me and you guys are finding it helpful or at the very least fun. Here's the quote for today: "A writer is by nature a dreamer; a conscious dreamer." —Carson Mccullers

DAY SIX: WHAT IS YOUR DEFINITION OF SUCCESS?

My first thought when I read this question was to think of my dream job: to be paid to write freely and be a well-known and beloved author of an awesome fantasy series. My next thought was that even if I someday accomplish this dream, that doesn't necessarily mean that I would be successful; just successful in my business adventures. In my overall life though, what would I consider success? I believe that everyone has a different definition of success. What some may consider success others might consider a burden. Is the richest man in the world actually the most successful? Or is the happiest man in the world the most successful? People who worked their way to the top of their career from absolute poverty, many would consider those people successful. That, I agree with. However, everyone's idea of success is different.

My definition of success is being happy. I would like to be debt-free and better off money wise, but that's not happiness. That's more security than anything. My definition of success is being happy more often than not. The ultimate goal for me is to be happy nine times out of ten. That, when something bad happens during my day, it ruins just that moment and I don't think about it for the rest of my day or even the rest of my week. My idea of success is people genuinely being happy with where they are, who they're with, and where they're going. If you're not happy, then all the money in the world wouldn't really matter, would it? I don't believe so. I honestly think that the most successful people are the ones who are genuinely happy in the life they've created.

I'm not quite there yet. I'm working towards it and even writing this is part of my journey. I don't know what exactly will help me accomplish this goal. I'm happy with most of my life. I love the people I surround myself with and I think I've pretty much kept away from anyone that doesn't make me feel happy. I'm not at my lifelong career but I don't hate my job. And I'm taking steps towards what I hope will be my lifelong career. I love my daughter. She drives me crazy but she makes me happier than anything else. I think the main thing holding me back from what I consider success is where I'm going. I'd like to be farther along in where I'm going. I'm not exactly sure where it is that I'm going in life, but I'm on my way and I'll get there. I'll get to my definition of success once I decide exactly where I need to be. But my main point being, I'm working on my definition of success and I have every intention of reaching it.

My thoughts: I think this question was good but I feel like there should've been more to it. I feel that it would've been better to ask what our definition of success was and what we personally felt we needed to do to achieve it. I included the answer to that question in my answer, but I don't know that everyone would read that much into it and I feel it should've been directly asked. I like that it made me look at what success really meant to me. My first thought was what would be my dream job but I realized that that is only one part of my life. It's not success in life, just success in the business world. I guess this question doesn't really specify success in a particular part of life so it could be answered on that level too.

success
1

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.