Motivation logo

3 Powerful Books That Will Change Your Life

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” – Cicero

By Anitha SankaranPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

In my life, books grew together with me like a sibling, since I’m the only child in my family. When I feel happy I read, if I’m feeling down I read, too bored I read. I love to travel a lot. When I’m not able to travel, books are the best virtual vacation spot. To live in the world created by the author amused me right from my childhood. I have felt gap between imagination and reality fell off through books. 23rd April observed as World Book Day becomes best day to share three books which made me think, changed my perspective of life, gave strength to me when I lost hope.

Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

I stumbled upon this gem when I was searching for motivational books, which aren’t too straightforward and filled with boring advice which makes me sleep literally. I remember the month I read the book. It was in October 2015, a challenging time in life. I left my job to accompany my husband to a foreign land. It sounds to be a joyous phase, but it wasn’t. This hard rock called the disc herniation hit me bad, and I was almost at bed rest for months together. My regular activities were quite challenging. Life at bed isn’t easy, it collapsed my confidence to an extent where I was losing myself. Who am I, what I was doing, what’s my life? Nothing made sense. I felt my life was gripping away from me. Thanks to Paulo Coelho. He is the alchemist who gave rebirth to my life. Do you feel you are at life’s edge? This magical treasure “Alchemist” is for you.

Chicken Soup for the Soul - Think Positive by Amy Newmark, Jack Canfield, and Mark Victor Hansen

Post Alchemist light of hope, I joined a public library in my neighborhood and used to visit there. I drank the first Chicken Soup for my soul in one fine day, while I picked it up from the top shelf of the library’s self-help section. Think Positive was my first pick in the Chicken Soup series. My mom’s ma used to tell her a quote. This book reminded me of that quote. Always see below you and not above. My mom used to advise me we should learn from people who face struggles and still lead their life with grace without complaining. Those 101 stories were inspirational. It made me realize the value of positive thinking. I stopped whining and counted my blessings, which I took it for granted. Choose your appropriate chicken soup for your soul, and I assure you won’t be the same. You will feel a drastic change in your thoughts about life.

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

Wait, what? Kafka on the shore. It is not a self-help book, but how can it change the perspective of life? It is a fantasy fiction book, but it hides puzzles about life. Did Murakami gave hints to solve those puzzles? Hell, no. It contains open-ended puzzles which makes your head spin. Some have said Murakami books leaves a heavy, disturbing impact. Some may have felt it psychological or depressing. In my perspective, like light and dark, his book has both elements. We humans have two shades. What you feed grows. Kafka on the shore solves life’s puzzle when read on a deeper positive note. I marvel at the level of thinking and Murakami’s attempts to make us think and understand the complex thing called our brain.

book review
Like

About the Creator

Anitha Sankaran

I'm a freelance writer and a former IT professional. I write poetry, articles about personal development, short stories and flash fictions.

Twitter: @sankaran_anitha

Insta: @anisesh1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.