Motivation logo

$20,000 Later: Life After Winnings

How prize money made me spend less and work more.

By DEUXQANEPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
8
Photo and artwork courtesy of the author.

I was about five months into working in the fitness industry until I lost my job due to Covid-19. It was a minimum-wage job, and I was exploring my interests in the field. Basically, one coach got a bunch of members infected, and it was all downhill from there.

"I'm quitting this Saturday," I say via text to my manager.

On a Wednesday.

Call it rude, but I was comfortable quitting on short notice to protect my health. I had a master's degree to fall back on. Plus, I could use the time off to prep for a job as a therapist. I took careful notes and spent much of my time studying and writing psychology articles online to help others and solidify my learning.

Days later, I wound up winning a writing contest whose grand prize was $20,000. I didn't think I'd come out in 1st place. But I must admit I was exhilarated when I found out the news. I planned to quit my job at the gym regardless of if I won or lost. But there it was, $20,000, sitting in my checking account.

I moved out of my parents' house almost immediately.

I felt ready for this because I was planning out my move for the longest time. I landed a cozy 1-bedroom apartment in New York City. After unpacking, I figured it would be best to write out my budget for the coming months.

Then I realized some not-so-exciting news.

Photo and artwork courtesy of the author.

$20,000 is not a lot of money.

I took the time and wrote out my budget in a small black notebook that I'd been keeping for years. It used to be a journal, then it was a sketchbook, and now it's for budgets. However, at the rate I'm going, this prize money will not last me long. After just quitting a job, getting a new one was a priority, especially after moving out.

Cutting back on senseless spending was also important.

It meant taking ruthless stock of my financial carelessness and impulsivity. I felt uncomfortable seeing where my money was going. Money went towards clothes the last few months, food with friends every week, and was dropped on many decorations.

If I didn't play it smart, this $20,000 would be gone in about five months.

After all, I was burning nearly $4,000 a month. And knowing myself, I may be spending money in other areas that I'm still blind to. If I didn't cut back, I would have to give up my apartment sooner than I thought.

Going back to live with my parents would be an embarrassment. It would mean I didn't even try to find a new job and just sat back doing nothing. To put things in perspective and figure out ways to cut back, I applied financial advice from a smart friend.

From there, I learned to get creative with saving money.

Photo and artwork courtesy of the author.

Immediate Ways I Cut Back On Spending

My friend suggested setting aside about 30% for taxes in the coming tax year.

That left me with $14,000.

I had to forget about floating for 5 months and instead think of 3. In a good way, this forced me to get serious about cutting back my spending. Here's what I did.

1. Take Into Account Your Electricity Expenditure

Are you really saving electricity? I began with little things like turning off the lights when I wasn't using them. I used "Energy Star" appliances and only did laundry when I had a full load. Plus, utility costs were lower at night. Luckily I was raised not to use a dishwasher and cleaned all of my dishes by hand, saving me money.

2. Swap Sugary Snacks For Fruits

I stopped buying snacks from the grocery. While all those sweet deals for candy and chocolate were in my face after Valentine's Day, I pulled away. I switched to fruits and vegetables blended into smoothies. Let me tell you, to soothe my cravings for sugary sweets and replace them with fruits has been the best "life hack" I stuck with. I've been tossing them into a blender and experimenting with all sorts of combinations. Now, I don't feel the slightest bit guilty about wanting sweets because I know fresh fruits will always be the answer.

3. Hit Up Your Friends, Switch To Family Plans

For music and Dropbox, I switched to family plans. Normally Spotify is around $10/mo, and the family plan is $15/mo. Split among six people, Spotify becomes $2.50 for everyone involved. I wound up hitting up the five closest people interested in a family plan, and we all saved ourselves a little bit of cash. Dropbox Plus sits at about $12/mo for one person, while the family plan is $20/mo for six people. Apply the same method here: find friends to split the plan with, and you and yours will pay about $3.33 each.

4. You Don't Need A Gym Membership

Lastly, I cut back on spending money on a fitness app to provide me a workout plan at the gym. Over the years, I saved up enough money to eventually have enough equipment for a home gym. If you ask me, all you need is an adjustable bench, adjustable dumbbells, a yoga mat, and resistance bands. You can get a treadmill, stationary bike, and/or rower if you want to go the extra mile (pun intended). After a couple of years of weight training, I've come up with my own workout plan.

As long as it includes squats, bench presses, pull-ups, deadlifts, overhead presses, or any variation of these five, you're good to go.

Photo and artwork courtesy of the author.

Life After Contest Winnings

Overall, I may have only saved $119 this month and added more money to my Roth IRA and emergency fund. But I stopped buying clothes and snacks I didn't need. I can keep all my subscriptions, some at a lower price, or nothing at all. And I'm proud of being able to contribute more to retirement now as well as preparing for a rainy day too.

I could probably cut back on a lot more, like living with a roommate and switching health insurance plans.

$20,000 from a contest made me realize it's not all sunshine and rainbows afterward. I still had to lock down a job. But in the meantime, after the results of the challenge, I took my writing seriously. I continued the habit for months to come.

Photo and artwork courtesy of the author.

Today, I find it funny to see the parallels in both money and my hobbies. I lost a lot of money on things I could have let go of. I had so many hobbies I wanted to do but never stuck with.

When I started cutting back, I saved money and improved.

When I focused on one hobby, I made much faster progress.

The $20,000 let me take the leap of a lifetime and move out. But the work continued, and in a few weeks, I was working remotely as a mental health counselor.

The work never really ends, even if you win. But it shouldn't make you any less grateful. When you do get recognized for your perseverance, remember: that's only the beginning.

success
8

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.