Motivation logo

10 Things the Pandemic Has Taught Me

A millennial’s perspective

By Honey LemonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

10 Things the Pandemic Has Taught Me
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

It’s hard to believe that almost two years have gone by since COVID-19 took over the world. The pandemic isn’t over yet, but in the midst of it, I know it has made a lot of people, including me, more reflective and appreciative. It has also helped me recalibrate old habits and spark new interests. Here are 10 things the pandemic has taught me.

1. Finding joy in the little things while in WFH mode

  • The feeling you get when you don’t have to wake up extra early to drive 1.5 hours in traffic to work.
  • Realizing that you didn’t have to get an oil change for the past 2 years and saved loads of money on gas.
  • Seeing the clear blue skies of Los Angeles without smog when no cars were on the road.
  • Making your own lattes and snacks at any time of day.
  • Not getting a cold or flu for almost 2 years because you weren’t exposed to sick co-workers.

2. More germ conscious

The pandemic has turned me into a germaphobe. More cautious about what I touch on a daily basis like door knobs, faucets, and check out counter touch screens, I now carry with me a keychain door opener hook, a mini stylus pen for touch screens and disposal gloves for when it’s time to pump gas with germy nozzles.

3. Internet “hack”

With Zoom calls consuming a lot of my days, frozen faces with “Your Internet connection is unstable” and “can you hear me?” problems were pretty much resolved by going back to the old-school wired days: an ethernet cable with a USB adapter. Strong and stable connections made the eyesore of wires bearable to look at.

4. Don’t compare

Note to self: Comparing yourself to others will always rob you of your joy. Don’t let yourself give into FOMO, especially when you’re looking at all the fabulous photos and experiences your friends and strangers are posting on the gram.

5. Be more grateful

Slowing down forced me to be more reflective and gave me more leeway to write in my journal. I’m learning that joy can also be a choice and is not just a feeling. When you count your blessings and choose the positive perspective in every situation, it adds joy and hope to your life.

6. Appreciating a good podcast and audiobook

I was never really into podcasts or audiobooks, but found them to be amazing for multitasking when doing chores or tasks that don’t require too much concentration. I was able to finish a lot more books this way than with hard copies, making me feel more accomplished and learned than just listening to music.

7. A clean space leads to a clear mind

Slowing down and staying home during the pandemic has given me time to be more intentional about making my bed and create better habits to clean and organize on a more consistent basis. Not having messy clutter that can be seen from my peripheral vision takes away added distractions when I’m working from home and motivates me to be more productive.

8. Be a rainbow in someone else's cloud

Loneliness and mental health has been a big issue during this period. It has reminded me to always be good to those around me. Check up on your family and friends and let them know you’re thinking of them instead of waiting to be contacted, especially if it has been a while. You’ll find that brightening someone else’s day will brighten your day as well.

9. The value of constantly learning

Whether it’s learning about a new topic like NFTs or learning from new experiences and our own mistakes and failures, I’m finding there’s never an end to learning if you want to experience personal growth to reach your full potential just like when amateurs become experts in their field.

10. The importance of gut health

I’m constantly hearing that your gut is your second brain. When your gut is in good shape, your whole body takes notice including your mood. I’ve learned that in order to keep a healthy gut, it's important to manage stress well and eat lots of anti-inflammatory foods like fruits, veggies and probiotics. Toning down on sugar, dairy and caffeine has made me feel much healthier than my pre-pandemic days.

Life will always be full of good and bad surprises just like we experienced with the pandemic, but the important thing is to always keep our hope alive and use every experience and situation to learn and grow. Here’s to a better future ahead as we all navigate the beautiful and complex journey of life.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.