Men logo

The importance of health in our life

Power of eating healthy food

By Vignesh KotaryPublished 2 days ago 3 min read
The importance of health in our life
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

After living for almost two decades on the planet Earth, I finally understood the importance of health in our lives. As a child and teenagers, we take the importance of health very lightly as we are full of energy and have no burden of knowing about the future responsibility. As a child growing up in the 21st century, I ate a lot of junk food every day without knowing the implications of how it could affect me. I used to eat a lot of chips, chocolates, and other outside pieces of stuff. Junk food was a part of my daily routine.

I also used to need to pay more attention to playing outdoor sports. The worst thing I used to do was sit on a couch all the time watching different kinds of programs on the television. Whenever I played any sport or performed any activity, I found myself very tired after a brief period compared to my peers. Whenever I asked my peers why they were so fit and strong, they told me they played different sports daily at nearby parks and grounds. Strong North Indian genetics were also the main reasons behind their overall strength as I was the only guy who belonged to South India.

When I was in the middle phase of my teenage life, when I watched my favorite actors performing daredevil stunts or my favorite athletes performing at high levels in their respective sports, then I decided that I would do any form of workout daily, whether it could be pushups, pullups, squats, or running. It was quite difficult for me at the beginning. Still, slowly and steadily I found it very comfortable to do it as there was also a huge amount of anger and rage inside me which was helping me to do any workout with good intensity.

Later on, I started changing my diet by adding more vegetables and fruits during and after my meals. I also started consuming more meat like eggs, chicken, and fish to satisfy my protein requirements. Slowly, I started gaining weight which improved my confidence tremendously. I also ran three times per week, which helped me improve my stamina levels. It helped me to talk with a lot of girls at my college and do things that are out of my comfort zone. One of the best benefits that I got from eating healthy foods is that it improved my self-esteem a lot. I was fuelled with a new energy which has eluded me during my school years.

Even though I eat Idli, Dosa, Sambhar, Rasam, or other varieties of foods, I always wonder if it is making me stronger or not. When I researched about it, I discovered those foods were very nutritious to eat. Then I got a sense of pride which made me think that I am stronger from the inside. My ancestors never ate any North Indian food as they have never explored what is like. They lived for more than eight decades just by eating rice and exploring what Roti is.

Watching people suffering from long-term diseases despite listening to stories about how fit they were throughout their lives confuses me sometimes about whether taking care of their health will help me achieve anything productive or not. But the thing that always forces me is that if I stop taking care of my health, then what will happen to my family and my future generation? To protect my future generation, I need to make something big in my life to sustain myself for my future self, and having a healthy body would play a huge role in it. And the one thing that comforts me is that I am very well aware of what is right or wrong.

LifestyleHealthEmpowerment

About the Creator

Vignesh Kotary

I am a writer who has a deep passion for expressing my feelings to society.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Vignesh KotaryWritten by Vignesh Kotary

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.