Men logo

Men - When Did You Last Cry?

An Open Discussion?

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
15
Men - When Did You Last Cry?
Photo by Tom Pumford on Unsplash

I have been stuck on what I could add to the Men community. I mean I am a man but didn’t know if I had anything new or interesting to say. Then I thought about crying.

I really don’t mean this as a boast, people. But I am a crier. I will cry at lots of different things. This is not what a lot of guys like me, who were brought up in the 80s were encouraged to do. Now, I am not saying I was chastised by my parents about crying, because I wasn’t. What I am saying is that there was this culture of “Boy’s Don’t Cry” (I don’t blame you if you now have Robert Smith’s voice in your head – I do too, I do too.)

At school on the playground and even later in the 90s when I went to college etc., it was not really seen as the done thing – crying. Although I believed the misinformation that males should not cry, that didn’t ever stop me. The waterworks would start. And as I got older and wiser, I realised why. Crying is very normal. Healthy even.

I really am not trying to preach to the converted here, but I have always felt strongly that men should be allowed to and given space to express themselves through crying. Not just when their favourite team loses or wins, but for all manner of things.

That’s why I thought I’d put forward the question – men, when did you last cry and why?

I can share when I last cried – my wife and I had a disagreement and fall out (we’ve been going through an extended rocky patch – to put it mildly – for a long time now. Mostly due to me being a selfish, lying ass – but that’s a different tale for a different day). Anyway, so we had a shout off and things got grim pretty quickly…then they calmed right down. Then I erupted. I think it just all got to me – I’ve been trying to make improvements to how I am in life, in our relationship etc. And I felt sad that I had screwed up yet again.

It was when we made peace and hugged it out that I cried. It was like a release (I had had a stupidly sore headache all morning, which cleared once the tears were wiped dry). It may have been a little over the top, but it was a healthier way of dealing with the screw-up than any number of other ways I can think of.

Before that, I cried when I read Cathy Holmes beautiful piece about a piece of artwork and her mother passing. I consider her a friend, that was a beautiful piece and it moved me. So, tears flowed. Do I feel less of a man for telling you all that – not in the slightest. Why should anyone, be told to stop crying. That’s part of the reason why toxic masculinity is a thing. Notice I said part of the reason. Don’t come at me in the comments or I’ll cry.

Joke.

I also thought to in some way lessen the burden and the stigma attached to crying I’d share with you some of the things I have cried about over the years:

  • The birth of both my sons.
  • Each and every time my wife and I nearly split up for good.
  • The death of my uncle Giovanni and death of my Nonna. (An interesting side note on the latter is that I felt I had dealt with her death admirably and healthily, until like a year and a half after she had gone, I was thinking about her and cried a whole bucket of tears over her. I was speaking to my wife about it, and she said “Well, of course you’re crying out of the blue…you never grieved properly” I was taken aback and tried to argue that I had. She said “Paul, you cried for like a day and then went back to normal…that wasn’t really enough” She was right. So, I definitely still need to work in the crying department)
  • The death of Dermot Morgan (the actor that played Father Ted, the main character in an Irish comedy show shown on Channel 4 here in the UK about Catholic priests)
  • The death of Jeff Buckley
  • The death of Wash from Firefly
  • The death of Darth Vadar/Anakin Skywalker
  • The end of Pan’s Labyrinth
  • Most of This is Us (HBO TV show)
  • Many of the big deaths in Grey’s Anatomy
  • The Downward Spiral by Nine Inch Nails, All We Love We Leave Behind by Converge, Me Ves Y Sufres by Hope of the States, The Day the Whole World Went Away by Nine Inch Nails, Electro-Shock Blues by Eels.
  • The death of Bill in Kill Bill 2

Just…so…many…things.

The list is endless. Some of those are quite clearly frivolous and non-consequential, but they mattered at the time.

So, I have no idea whether you cry or not, but don’t hold back, if you want to. You will feel better, trust me (yeah, trust the Scottish guy). Or don’t, but don’t dismiss people for crying.

*

Thanks for reading!

I would have shared a picture of me crying, if I had one on file - there may well be one on file, but trust me, I don't look nearly as cool as the guy in the image at the top.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this piece - let's have a civil discussion about crying. Or something.

WisdomMen's PerspectivesMasculinityManhoodIssuesInspirationHealthGeneralEmpowermentCulture
15

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    Brilliant and important article. So many men are just waiting for permission from other men to feel what they feel… To know it’s okay, it’s allowed, it’s normal. Well done Paul. Your courage in sharing your vulnerability IS the change the world needs. You saw how it immediately brought you closer again to your wife, because vulnerability is the all important authenticity key. It’s the key that grants us access to everything we truly desire. But it takes courage to use. And your article will help other men find that courage. And in turn, pass it to others. ❤️ It’s how the good will triumph x

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    I used to get in trouble for not crying, and for not wanting to cry. People would get really upset with me for avoiding crying; I've lost at least one female friend because she demanded that I cry and I refused. I've... known a lot of weird people. The things they scream, and I mean scream, at me are always the same and I've started to just tune them out. Toxic masculinity, internalized sexism, etc. But that's not the reason I don't cry. I don't feel shame, or like less of a man, or anything like that. For me, crying emphasizes the negative emotions, puts them under a microscope and makes me feel even worse. There is no release or catharsis. Ever. The bad feels only go away when they fade on their own, but never with tears. Of course no one ever believes me, so I typically don't talk about my feelings. This is not because 'men don't have feelings' but because I'm not good at expressing them, and everyone I try to talk to jumps in with their own opinions and refuse to listen to what I'm saying. Preferring to try and bully me into their way of thinking. "You're just a man, you don't know what you're talking about" is something I hear often when talking about my own feelings.

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    The death of Bill in Kill Bill 2, the end of Pan's Labyrinth--you got it! Thanks for this thoughtful piece.

  • "This Is Us"--if you didn't weep openly you probably weren't human. My prayers are with you & your wife. May future tears for both of you be for naught but joy.

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Paul, I came to your profile to catch up on your work and WOAH, you have put up a lot that I have missed! I have my reading cut out for me:) As my eyes scanned your page this one jumped out at me right away. Thank you for writing this! I love your honesty in sharing your story– it's truly inspiring! Not many people can admit their faults, especially in public. That, my friend, is freaking amazing, and where a lot of growth can emerge. I applaud you for that! As far as crying– I am a huge supporter of it:) More men need to let the tears flow. It's a proven stress release! My husband and both of my boys cry, quite often. As babies, my boys would cry if a sad song came on. It was unreal. They felt it so deeply that tears flowed without even understanding the words of the song, the music just moved them. It was the purest and most natural thing I had ever witnessed. I'm grateful you put this up in the men's community and hope that more men feel proud of FEELING and let it out. Bravo, my friend!

  • Test12 months ago

    Man I really love this. Your honesty. Men have it hard right now. IMO. I hope no one comes for me for that comment either. Anyway, I wish more people cried (myself included). Maybe we wouldn’t be where we are (in some ways). Eloquently done, Paul.

  • Dorothy Gibbs12 months ago

    Crying heals. Many think of it as a weakness, but once you cry about something is when you are strongest.

  • See, in my honest opinion, men should be able to cry and express their emotions without being judged. They're humans. End of story. I'm so happy that you're a proud crier, because like you said, it's healthy. So glad you wrote about this!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    I ABSOLUTELY love this! I agree with your stance. I believe that both sexes have tear ducts for a reason! 😊

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    I didn't know you cried when the boys were born. I didn't see you cry.

  • Sara Wilson12 months ago

    I truly love this piece. I'm a mother to a son who cries and I'm raising him in Texas. A place where they don't do well with men or even boys crying. I have to constantly correct grown people when my son is sensitive or passionate about anything. It doesn't make him weak or any man for that matter. Emotions are human and should be felt and expressed when necessary.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.