Men logo

Great Ceasars Ghost! I Can See!

From blind as a bat to not, literally overnight?

By Jason Ray Morton Published about a year ago 3 min read
6
Great Ceasars Ghost! I Can See!
Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

I'm going to share a true story and a bit about myself. I have always had poor eyesight. That's the crux of why I'm writing this story, because it's not easily believable what's transpired. After many years of wearing glasses, accepting that I needed them much past the point of needing them, I grew quite accustomed to them.

At 24 I aimed for the center of the blur when I had to do firearms training, faking my way through how blind I was when it came to distances. I hated the idea of wearing glasses because I was just awkward and nerdy enough that they were the icing on my cake of self-loathing.

Fast forward to middle age. While on duty at the sheriff's department one day in 2014 I happened upon a young prisoner that was out to hurt any white guy in a uniform. That was a craptastic day. Being attacked because you're in a uniform is one thing, but because you're white and in a uniform is another. Yes, crazy world viewer types, it's a racially motivated crime to attack someone because of their skin color, even if you're of a minority, and attack a white person.

A concussion, neck damage ending in cervical spinal stenosis, and swelling on the optic nerve took about eight weeks to subside. There was a 15 to 20 percent loss in my eyesight, going from single-vision lenses to trifocal lenses in just two months' time. Blind as a bat, I called it, but I was worse because I didn't have sonar.

"A tisket, aa tasket, a blind-man headed for his casket."

By NordWood Themes on Unsplash

The older I got the worse my eyes proceeded to get. Eventually, especially after the injury, I couldn't read a book or do work on a computer without wearing them. If I took them off, I had problems seeing my glasses and had to practice where to keep them every day. That meant leaving them in the same spot in the bathroom when I showered, the same spot when I swam, and the same spot when I slept.

That was life. It was just how things were going to be until the day I died, short of having surgery done, and as a single parent I didn't have the kind of money or vision coverage that would pay for elective eye surgeries. That was alright though, we learn to adapt and we continue to function.

Then, An Amazing Thing Happened

I've seen and experienced some crazy things and weird circumstances, so believe me when I know how weird this is going to sound.

It's Thursday, June 8th, 2023. I woke up at a little after six my time, read a couple of stories, and looked at a couple of emails before getting up to start my day. When I came out to my computer desk on the opposite side of my home, it was to check a work email and see if there were any dispatches from our company.

I clicked on the computer, find the icon for the company system, and signed in to see my appointments for the day. The entire time, I had absentmindedly not put on my glasses.

There I was, for the first time in over a decade, able to do basic data work and read text on a computer screen without the aid of corrective lenses. As I sit here, writing this story, I'm glasses free. It's the very first time I've written a story on Vocal and not wore glasses to do so.

While there are stories about vision getting better later in life, it's a rarity, and stories about vision improving this drastically overnight don't appear to be in any online forum I have found yet.

"Miracle?" or just a strange coincidence? Or is it a combination of the right circumstances of better living, better diet, and a supplement or two interacting in just the right way?

Leave it to me to start getting my vision to return suddenly and it is during one of the ugliest points in human history.

IssuesHealth
6

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Congratulations! And sorry about that human history part.

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Wow, that's amazing! Congratulations, it must feel awesome. As for seeing during the ugliest time in history, it's better to see and know than not.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Wow, good for you...mine is proceeding as expected (cheater readers)

  • Mark Gagnonabout a year ago

    I guess the song, "I can see clearly now" has special meaning for you now! Joking aside, I'm happy about your remarkable turn of events.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.