Men logo

558

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
2

Melting my emotions on the page

From months of pain and rage

The longest year I’ve had in a long time

Perhaps ever

Death

Mistakes

Fights to survive

Unconfronted terrors

Cast into the wilderness

A bewildering loneliness far from home

Seeking counsel every week

To overcome the weaknesses and lies I’ve told myself

Cut off from my support again

But at last I have made some friends

Oh thank god

It’s about to end

Another turn

A twist of circumstances

A spate of strange occurrences

Is this random coincidences or is it fate

Avoiding thoughts of the universe throwing us together

What are the odds that we keep running into each other

Someone so similar to me in experience and tastes

It’s like looking at my face through a stranger's eyes

Too much strangeness in one place

I don’t know what to do

I’m trapped here

And all I want to do is be with you

Rotting in thoughts of wishing for my selfish desires

Only to find them half-fulfilled

Oh, this can’t be real

Peering into your eyes

This can’t be happening

Remembering dreams of a past future

Remembering the day the wave crashed over us

Thrusting us nearer and nearer to the precipice

But you’re gone now

Loneliness and pain are at it again

Rotting my brain

Is this what it’s like to slowly go insane

Wondering when it will end

Watching an unworthy foe fall

A short escape

And now they call me

Escape is imminent

Finally freedom

Escape from this prison of paradise others find so nice

Arriving at my new home

Expecting it all to melt away

But the struggle continues

Caught in a trap between two worlds

Rowing against the tide

Seeing a familiar face I didn’t expect to see

It’s not her, but too close for comfort

Avoid, avoid, avoid

Avoid at all costs

I don’t need this

Not here

Not now

Missing her

The one I loved first

The one I turned to when everything felt the worst

Missing her comfort

Calling out but she is silent now

And he’s not much of a talker

He thinks we only called to talk to her

But I always wished he would open up

Our trips to nowhere were always the best

At last, the worst of the tests are over

Now onto the daily grind

But there’s more to help me lose my mind

Pretending all is fine

Oh what do I find

A rotting mound of incompetence and laziness

Ignorance of the worst kind

An unwilling mind

Indecision

A culture of fear and unhappiness

An abyss of solitude is the reigning attitude

No one to turn to

They tell me I should’ve planned

Or just be a man

Hollow sentiments from those who will never understand

None of this was the plan

I thought I’d be elsewhere long ago

Living a dream

But we are trapped here for now

Until we can find an exit

An escape from this reality

Is it all an illusion

Missing her again

Another reminder

Just slowly wondering

Shuffling from one task to another

Just wanting to get out

From beneath this behemoth

It’s all in your mind

It’s all in your mind

I tell myself

It’s not that bad

Look at all the wealth you have

But it’s for nothing

If the wealth you seek is the happiness and freedom you once had

The little taste you had before you left

The short time things felt the best

When you thought all was great

Before the of year of 558

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

WisdomMen's PerspectivesMasculinityManhoodLifestyleIssuesInspirationHealthFatherhoodEmpowermentCultureBrotherhood
2

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    This takes me back to the song (with reprise) in Sondheim's "Into the Woods": "Agony"!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is such a pervasive loss.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.