Marriage logo

The Beginning of a Journey

Meeting The Love of my Life

By Mani SacasaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It feels like yesterday that I met the love of my life but what a journey it has been and I look forward to the future we may hold. Last year, I took one of the biggest risks I have ever taken in my life but it was worth it.

Everyone knows the story of how a boy meets a girl, a girl meets a boy, etc., and they meet, fall in love, and live happily ever after. Mine started a little different than usual and was difficult, but we are now married and just had a beautiful baby together.

I met my wife online, and she happened to pop up on my Facebook page one day. I was in shock. In my eyes, I had never seen anyone more beautiful in my life. I sent her an invite but did not speak to her until weeks later when I wished her a Happy Belated Birthday. At that time, my Spanish was horrible; despite being Hispanic, I could barely speak the language, and I constantly used an app to help me. Back then, I also did not have a passport and a pending citizenship application in the US, but something in my gut told me I needed to meet her in person as I knew she was the one.

I went to my birth country’s embassy and requested if there was any way I could fly to Nicaragua, where I am originally from, as she was able to meet me there. Luckily, they were able to approve my request, and despite not knowing anything about Nicaragua and the language barrier, we agreed to meet there as she already lived in Central America.

I will warn you that flying to another country when you have a layover is one of the most challenging things to do when you do not have a passport. Somehow I made it to Nicaragua, and despite being born there, I had not been there since I was 3, and was held up at customs as they did not believe I was born in the country. I felt horrible once released as my now wife was outside waiting for me with a huge banner and more to surprise me. Nothing like sitting in a holding cell for a few hours in your own country because they think you are someone trying to claim citizenship in a country…….

When I was released and finally saw her, though…that is when everything changed. I knew she was beautiful speaking to her over video chats, but it was something else in person. I knew then and there when I held her for the first time that I wanted no one else in my life and that she was and still is perfect in my heart.

We have had our challenges in being together. As stated, I did not have a passport and am in no way a rich person. I was also risking ever receiving my US citizenship, the only country I knew until that point in my life. I managed to get a Nicaraguan passport while I was there and was able to start traveling a little more freely despite restrictions for citizens from my birth country.

We are, though, almost two years together, and our love is going strong. Our son was born two weeks ago, and we have a bright future together.

I was unsure how I wanted to share this journey with everyone, but I knew I wanted to share my experience. In time, I will explain all the in-between and more.

I do want to finish for now by saying that it is essential always to follow your heart and trust your feelings. Despite what others say, be true to yourself, or you could miss out on what could be the best experience of your life.

I followed mine, and I am with the most amazing woman I have ever met in my life. She is funny, intelligent, and humble, and she is also the most beautiful. I do not know what I did to deserve this kind of happiness, but I would not have been living this amazing life I have now if I had listened to everyone else instead of what my heart said.

I can’t wait to share this journey with you all and hope you enjoy it as much as I experienced it. Until next time, stay tuned……

travel
Like

About the Creator

Mani Sacasa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.