Marriage logo

Serendipity Series

Part I: 12/22/2022

By Ariel Celeste PirelaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

It’s 6:02 pm on what feels like one of the most magical days of the year. I thank God for the blessing that is my life. The covering over me will carry me through all the days of my life. I’m meeting the same characters over and over, except in different costumes. I’ve adopted the mindset of, “there are no enemies, only teachers.” For this disposition, I am eternally grateful.

My first thought was to open this notebook and go in on the negative aspects of my day. I may still go there. But, I am trying a ‘reset your password’ approach to life called “living peacefully.” It’s new. So bear with me.

But just know-- at any moment, this think-piece could get real petty. Anyway, back to Peaceful Obama. Side note, this America can’t possibly be the same one Barack and Michelle was running?

Because they had this hoe on lock. Once that administration ended, this ship went belly up.

Back to business, foreal. Today, I learned the truth about this power. “The power protects itself.” I’m learning my thresholds and my thresholds are learning me. Today, I proudly spent 8 hours with my in-laws. Anybody with in-laws knows they should probably stop reading here if you wanna avoid being triggered. But if you messy, read on.

At the point when I’d reached the bottom of my energy tank, my threshold spoke up. First, before that, my new uncle gave me a weed brownie and the family restaurant turned into a day party in my mind. So, I was lit. Before that, he treated me to crack flavored pomegranate razz lemonade tea (more on that later). [psyche!].

So, I’m super hyper, mentally spent and now slightly lit. Stupendous!

I check the time and it’s 1:00pm. We been at the restaurant since 9:30am-- mind you--it’s 1:00pm. It’s not just us in the restaurant. It’s the family, the employees, the local community and us. So five hours end and now I feel like someone has milked me dry-- all four utters at the same time for a rush Laughing Cow order at Whole Foods.

So then, my threshold, knowing this about me says, “hey girl how bout you go for a walk outside.” It’s middle of December in upstate New York and snowing outside. I looked at my threshold and said, “that's a swell idea.”

I proceeded to zip up my Uniqlo jacket, adjust my Zara puffer bucket hat and throw on my wanna-be Cartier frames. The grandma yells, “Where is she going?” I turn around, “Who me? I’m going for a walk outside. I can’t stay in one place too long, it makes my nerves bad.”

Am I turning into my grandmother?? But hey, it works! Everybody was like, “Oh okay.”

Wow, grandmother--no wonder why that is one of your go to lines.

So, I get outside-- walk up a few Baton Rouge country paces and notice an Indian fabric shop across the way. Amazing, I’ll go shopping now. Glad I brought my wallet.

I get in there and the store clerks wrap me in their care. I texted my man to let him know where I went and proceeded to enter another dimension.

These ladies, who were real sisters-- taught me all about Ganesh. An elephant headed god known for protection and the prevention of obstacles. I told the store clerk, “Well gimmie him, I can’t stand obstacles!” She busted out laughing.

They loving the vibes and so am I.

I then proceed to pick out my first ever pair of parachute pants. Two pair, actually. They are so dope. One as Buddha heads printed all over. The other, has little farm animals and farm figures. Super cute. The lady told me these are good for hiking, walking on the beach or as a cover up for swimwear. All great ideas, I said to myself.

“I’ll be in Puerto Rico next week! Boom! Look how that works.”

With this purchase, my packing is half-way complete. This is serendipity.

I got a Ganesh figurehead, sage, incense, gratitude rock, evil eye earrings and Ganesh earrings.

I was gone so long that of course, my fiance came over to look for me. These ladies sucked him right in. I got t him a nice shirt and we got his grandmother two elephants for a last minute stocking stuffer. Wow, what golden child(s) we are!

I came back, kicked my feet up and waited for my ride. “I’m outta here.”

Now, I’m back at the in-laws house, writing to K Dot’s “Poetic Justice” under the sweet smell of incense and sage, in my Buddah pants, chilling.

Chaos. Order. Rest.

This is the way of the world.

-acj

ceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

Ariel Celeste Pirela

Ariel Celeste Pirela is committed to maximizing potential for others & documenting her own growth along the way. She leads a millennial motivation movement by instilling confidence, creativity and conviction with her affirmation products.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.