Marriage logo

Oh Kunafa!

I want to try new recipe

By noura nurPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

writing...Last year I want to try new recipe but it didn't work and I continue trying until it become my first online business from home.

You: "Hey, you know what? I thought I'd give making kunafa a shot, especially since it's such a beloved dessert in your home country."

Husband: "Oh, that's a fantastic idea! I absolutely love kunafa. How did your experiment go?"

You: "Well, buckle up, because it turned into quite an adventure in the kitchen. I found a recipe online that seemed promising, but let's just say it didn't quite go as smoothly as I hoped."

Husband: "Oh really? What happened?"

You: "Okay, so first off, let's talk about the phyllo dough. I've worked with dough before, but this was an entirely different level of delicate. I mean, it's paper-thin and super fragile. Attempting to separate the layers without tearing them was like performing surgery with culinary tools."

Husband: "Oh no, that sounds quite challenging. Did the dough tears affect the outcome?"

You: "Absolutely, it did. As I was layering it in the pan, some areas ended up with layers that were too thin, while others stubbornly clung together, resulting in a base that wasn't the perfectly uniform structure I had envisioned."

Husband: "I can imagine how tricky that must have been. But you persevered, right?"

You: "You bet! I wasn't about to let a little dough trouble deter me. I powered through and managed to prepare the cream cheese and berry filling. That part seemed to be going well, at least."

Husband: "Well, that's a silver lining. What happened next in your kunafa journey?"

You: "Here comes the plot twist. When I drizzled the rose water-infused syrup over the kunafa, things took a rather soggy turn. Instead of the syrup soaking in gradually, it seemed to vanish into the phyllo layers almost instantly."

Husband: "Oh, that's unfortunate. Did it impact the overall flavor?"

You: "Oddly enough, the taste wasn't half bad. The cream cheese and berry combination turned out to be a surprisingly delicious pairing. There was this delightful contrast of sweetness and tanginess. However, the texture was nowhere near the crispy and syrup-soaked goodness of a classic kunafa."

Husband: "It sounds like you made the best out of it. Do you have any insights into what might have gone wrong?"

You: "Hindsight is 20/20, right? I think I might have underestimated the level of skill needed to handle that delicate phyllo dough. Perhaps a bit more practice with it would have been wise before diving into the whole recipe."

Husband: "Well, that's how we learn. Do you plan on giving it another shot?"

You: "Absolutely! You know me, I'm not one to shy away from a culinary challenge. However, I'm thinking of opting for a simpler kunafa recipe next time, something that's a better match for my current skill level."

Husband: "I admire your determination. Even though it didn't turn out exactly as planned, the effort you put in is impressive."

You: "Thank you for understanding. I'm still determined to master the art of making kunafa just as authentically as you've enjoyed it back in your home country."

Husband: "I'm sure you'll get there. Cooking traditional dishes can be quite complex, but each attempt takes you a step closer to perfection."

You: "That's the spirit! Your patience and support mean a lot to me. Thanks for not giving up on my kunafa mishap."

Husband: "Don't mention it. We all have our culinary moments, and it's all part of the learning journey. I'm here to support you and enjoy the delicious outcomes together."

You: "Couldn't agree more. It's all about the journey, and I'm grateful to have you as my partner in these culinary adventures."

food and drinks
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.