Marriage logo

My Wedding Day

November 3, 2012

By Erin BelzPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

My wedding day. Oh, what a wonderful day it was!!!

It was on November 3, 2012.

It had been cold in the week or so leading up to the wedding, but the day of?? Oh no!!! Mother Nature decided that she was going to make it HOT!!! It was about 84 degrees that day. It was perfect and glorious!!!

Glorious because it felt so good and no one had to freeze to death.

I had a strapless dress (the lace that you see in the picture was fastened to the shaper I had on underneath), which was perfect for the weather.

My bridesmaids had knee length strapless dresses on in a brown color. They also had pockets!!! Which was awesome. The guys' tuxes were brown, as well. They all wore ties. Patrick's vest (and I believe his tie as well) were crème in color to try and match my dress. The groomsmens' vests and ties were brown to match the rest of the tux.

It was at a place called Rancho de las Aguilas (or Home of the Eagles... I'm sorry if I butchered the Spanish spelling of it!!!). It is on 30-40 some odd acres and just BEAUTIFUL!!! The leaves were starting to change colors. It was the perfect place for a fall wedding.

I started my morning off with hair and makeup. The guys, I'm not 100 percent sure what they were doing. I had spent the night at my mom's house while Patrick and his groomsmen (and maybe his dad) stayed at our apartment.

I was excited about getting married. I was even more excited about getting to see Patrick in his tux. Haha!!! He looked good in it, too. At least, I thought that he did.

We did so many pictures!!! I have over 500 pictures on a CD and printed out!!! The only stinky part was my mom missed me getting my dress on. But that's a ok, 'cause I have a million pictures of me getting dressed. She was able to put the veil in for me, though, which is great. My shoes got left behind at home so my sister and brother-in-law raced back to my mom's house to grab them. I would have been perfectly fine to go barefoot for the wedding.

My mom was very adamant about me having my blue shoes. Haha!!!

Of course, my brother-in-law and a family friend had to run to the store to get a guest book for the wedding. Somehow one didn't get bought prior to the actual wedding day. But they made it back in time before guests started coming in and sitting down.

The wedding went off without a hitch. I was so glad for that, too. There was a 30-minute cocktail time while the inside was transformed from wedding ceremony to the party. Alcohol was one thing that I did want at my wedding, especially since my sister didn't get to have any at hers. I did have regular drinks like tea and water for everyone who didn't drink or couldn't drink.

Food was delicious. Cakes were delicious. We danced what felt like forever. I had the BEST DJ there ever was!!! He is one of UAB's police officer's that I used to work with. Everyone was dancing. Everyone was having a grand old time. We had music from all sorts of different generations. I enjoy older music (Malt Shop/50s/60s/70s). We had a ton of fun.

I had too much to drink, but I still remember 98 percent of what went on, haha!!! I would love to be able to renew my vows at like the 10-year or the 25-year mark and invite a ton of people for it, more than I had at my actual wedding.

Different food, different music, different everything.

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Erin Belz

I'm Erin. I'm a lover of all things. My husband is a chef. I'm a dog mom. Inhave 2 dogs and their names are Jagger the Pibble and Monte the Tiny Pupper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.