Marriage logo

"Meet Cute" Merlot

When Ebony and Ivory, "Meet Cute"

By Dajah Aujoule Published 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
www.meetcutewines.com

What is a meet-cute?

“A meet-cute is a common scene found in romantic films in which the love interests first meet. The typical approach to these scenes is comedic and/or romantic. They can include awkward misunderstandings, slapstick comedy, or love at first sight. In most cases, the characters feel either a mutual attraction, aversion or some combination of the two.

The term “meet cute” originated back in 1938 in the film Bluebeard’s Eighth Wife. Claudette Colbert and Gary Cooper meet while shopping for pajamas, and it turns into a delightfully cute conversation, hence the name.” https://www.studiobinder.com/blog/what-is-a-meet-cute/

www.meetcutewines.com

A little background story: I decided to try this challenge as a Play Script, in order for you all to get the full effect of the story and the characters. I think it's mighty cute and you should get some good chuckles out of my story. So here it goes...

Setting: Montego Bay, Jamaica at the Harmony Hotel, Resort, and Suites for a wedding reception.

Cling, cling, cling…

Ebony: On behalf of the bride’s side, I just want to give a toast to love. Congratulations to the newlyweds, Michael and Nicole Cooper. (takes a sip) Nicole has been my friend since we were 10 years old and I love her dearly… and although my love life has been tragicccc, Michael and Nicole give me so much hope. Oh and thanks to muah (cheesing) the wedding turned out beautifully, might I add… While we are here to celebrate the joining of a beautiful union... IT’S TIME TO GET DRUNK!!! I mean I have already been sipping on this Meet Cute Merlot, and I must say that I am a little bit tipsy, well more like a lot tipsy. Anybody else with me? (Boujie blank stares and giggles)

Nicole: Okay Brenna, (Haha) I think you’ve had enough of the wine baby girl, but I do love and appreciate you so much. If it weren’t for you, my wedding planning process wouldn’t have been nearly as fun and well put together. I just wanted to thank you all for being there with us through this lovely process. (Hugs Michael)

Michael: Yes yes yes, God almighty! This has been such a long road. But I am finally here today with the love of my life! (smiling, happily) I want to thank Nicole’s family and friends for accepting me as the man for her… And I want to thank my family and friends for being here for me and my beautiful wife throughout this stressful process. I have never felt happier in my life. But in the meantime, I’m with Ebony… LET’S GET DRUNK!!!

Nicole: Okay everyone, we aren’t going to hold you guys up… it’s time to have fun, line dances anyone?

Wedding party: Yay, woo hoo let’s party, I’m down! Etc…

Ebony: Okay bestie, I’m going to head over to the bar and grab me some more of that Meet Cute Merlot.

Nicole: Alright now Ebony, you better slow it down because I am not watching you on my special night. But you know what… I’m going to go ahead and tell the security team to look after your crazy ass.

Ebony: Whatever you say, sister, you know I’m the queen!

Nicole: Yeah, the queen of falling over and twisted ankles…

Ebony: OH HUSH and come over to the bar and take a shot with me before I let Michael take my best friend away from me.

Nicole: No matter what, it’s me and you till the end my best friend.

Ebony: You know it!

https://www.zoetryresorts.com/en_us/resorts/jamaica/montego-bay/photos-videos.html

Ebony: Excuse me?... excuse me?

Waiter: Yes ma’am?

Ebony: Can I please have two shots of the Jamaican Sunset?

Waiter: Coming right up, for you lovely ladies!

Ebony: Lovely? Oh no she’s married come again…

Nicole: LOL, don’t mind her sir, she’s just a little “tipsy”

And speaking of tipsy, after this shot Ebony, you need to drink some water and calm yourself down.

Ebony: I’ll think about it, Cole. (Laughing sneakily)

Nicole: Excuse me, security?

Security team: All walking over together… yes ma’am, how can we help you? And congratulations on being a newlywed.

Nicole: Thank you so much! But I would greatly appreciate it if you do me this favor on behalf of my crazy best friend?

Head of security: Anything you need!

Nicole: So my best friend here is getting a little too drunk for my liking, and I’m not going to be able to watch her while I enjoy my wedding party… Could you all keep an eye out for her? Just to make sure she doesn’t wake up somewhere in Timbuktu? LOL

Head of security: Yes ma’am we can do that for you with no problem. I will have my best guy look out for her. Hey Jones?

Ivory Jones: Yes sir, I will keep an eye out for the young lady.

Ebony: HA HA HA, I will be fine and I do not need your help, ‘Top-Flight Security Jones”

Nicole: CTFU, be nice friend!

Ebony: Okay, okay, I’ll try lol

Ivory Jones: Don’t worry ma’am I won’t be down your back, you can enjoy yourself and I will watch from a distance.

Nicole: Sounds like a plan, I’m out of here! (chucks deuces) Oh honeyyyyy, dance with me!

Ebony: Waiter, can I please have another one of those Jamaican shots?

Waiter: Sure thing sweetheart!

Ebony: (Takes the shot, and stares at the party, having a ball)

*Music plays* WOBBLE BABY, WOBBLE BABY, WOBBLE BABY, WOBBLE!

Ebony: Oh shoot now, this my cut, who wants to dance with me? (Stands up, and stumbles into the arms of security, Ivory Jones)

Ivory: It’s okay I got you, ma’am.

Ebony: Umm, please get off of me, I DO NOT NEED your help, and I definitely do not need a babysitter either!

Ivory: I’m sorry ma’am, I am just trying to help.

Ebony: I wish you would stop calling me ma’am like I am some old ass charity case… and would you just leave me alone please?

Ivory: Okay so if you don’t want me calling you ma’am anymore, could you please tell me your name?

Ebony: Why? I could have sworn I asked you to leave me alone and let me get drunk in peace.

Ivory: Ma’am, there is no peace in being drunk if you can’t handle yourself, or if you pass out…

Ebony: I know how to handle my liquor, I am 30 years old and I don’t need you to school me on how to drink.

Ivory: Look, I’m just doing my job… which is keeping an eye out for you and making sure you stay safe tonight.

Ebony: UGHHH whatever! (Walks away to the restroom)

Ivory: Hello, excuse me, Mrs. Nicole… Your friend is giving me a hard time and won’t tell me her name. I don’t want to keep calling her ma’am, and if I do I think she will put her heel up my ass (Nicole and Michael both laughing hard)

Nicole: Lord where did she go off to?

Ivory: The restroom ma’am!

Nicole: If you keep calling me ma’am I think I might put my foot up your ass too HAHAHA, just kidding! But her name is Ebony!

Ivory: Eyes got wider

Are you serious?

Nicole: LOL, yes I’m not just giving you a fake name, especially if I want you to look after her.

Ivory: Right right! Well, as soon as you spoke her name I immediately became intrigued…

Nicole: And why is that?

Ivory: My name is Ivory!

Michael: HAHA, what are the odds of that!

Nicole: Wait, I don’t get it?

Michael: My love, as much old school music as we listen to, you ought to know the reference… “Ebony, Ivory… living in perfect harmony.”

https://level.medium.com/38-years-later-did-you-really-think-ebony-and-ivory-was-a-solution-to-racism-fc624c3f6409

Nicole: OMG! That is actually pretty dope and funny. HMM, how old are you Mr. Ivory?

Ivory: 35 years old!

Nicole: That is right up Ebony’s alley, although she tends to date older, you will do.

Michael: Honey, stop trying to play matchmaker and let the man do his job.

Ivory: LOL, no it's fine, she is way too drunk anyway, I wouldn’t want to take advantage…

Nicole: See, this is what I mean, such integrity and I love it!

And in the meantime, you should go ahead and check only my best friend please!

Ivory: I will get right on it, you guys enjoy the rest of the night!

Michael: Thanks, you as well!

Nicole: Hey honey, give me a second please! (Walks over to the DJ booth and whispers)

*Music plays* (Ebony, Ivory… living in perfect harmony)

Ebony: Bursts out the bathroom yelling, “Hey that's MY song”

Ivory: Watches Ebony as she heads to the DJ booth to sing Karaoke boisterously…

Ebony: Okay now, I need someone to come up here and do this karaoke with me, yall know this song has my name in it right? (Cheesing hard)

Ivory: I’ll do it with you!

Ebony: Oh no not Mr. Top Flight Security…

Nicole: Ebony, don’t be rude… his name is Ivory!

Ebony: Looking back and forth confused… IVORY?

Why are you playing with me Cole?

Ivory: No, that is really my name!

Ebony: What the hell? This has to be some sick joke… You know what I’ll just do the damn karaoke by myself because I don’t need Mr. babysitter bothering me and messing up my mood. DJ Turn me up!

Ebony: ‘Ebony, Ivory… living in perfect harmony”

Nicole: Sneaks a microphone and hands it to Ivory

Ivory: It’s fine, it’s fine… she doesn’t want me to sing with her, and plus I am on the job.

Ebony: *Singing* and almost completely falls on her face, at least until Ivory catches her in his arms. Both making eye contact, Ebony and Ivory both begin to blush.

Ebony: Uhh uhh okay, I guess you can sing with me, but after that I want you to leave me be, please?

Ivory: As you wish now let's sing!

While singing the song, they began to build a connection that everyone could see. It was like sparks from fireworks, coming out of the sky. While singing, they both began to dance and in that moment, they began to kiss one another.

Michael: Well don’t you see that, matchmaker Nicole to the rescue. Good job babe!

Nicole: LOL, I try my best!

Head of Security: JONES!! Let's get back to work

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Dajah Aujoule

My name is Dajah and I am a high school English teacher who LOVES to WRITE! ✍️❣️ I have an autistic son who is my everything. I am writing my own book, should be done real soon! 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.