Marriage logo

Best Resources for Planning Your Wedding

How to Plan the Perfect Wedding Without the Stress!

By Zehna ReddonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Best Resources for Planning Your Wedding
Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

Before I conceived my son I was already planning my wedding, which was set to be this August, 2020; however, thanks to a surprise pregnancy followed by the apparition of the COVID-19 pandemic we had to postpone. So, after my son was born we decided to start planning again; but to start from scratch. I was overwhelmed; I hadn't really organized anything because it was all just brainstorms gone to waste.

So, this past March I started re-planning our wedding; this time for July of 2022 but, I got serious. I found some of the best tools and websites out there for planning your perfect day.

First I bought myself a wedding planning book, made by The Knot. I bought it on Amazon for around $25.00 CAD, and it contains all the checklists, workspaces and tips you need to start planning. To coordinate with the planner and help with organization and other key things, I also signed up for TheKnot.com; the site pairs perfectly with the planning journal and you can even sign on to create your own wedding website, which is super cool. The best thing about TheKnot.com is that they have insight on some of the best wedding vendors out there. You're able to browse thousands!

Another site similar to TheKnot.com is WeddingWire.com. They also have tons of resources for wedding vendors of all sorts, from ceremony to reception venues, to bridal styling, and more.

If you're specifically looking to browse apparel; I would definitely recommend David's Bridal, Helen's Bridal, Anomalie, Babaroni, and even Amazon; I bought my veil and shoes on Amazon for $20.00 CAD!

Finally, for a little photo inspiration, check out Pinterest. They have amazing finds for wedding ideas all across the board (no pun intended). If you need to look at visuals for inspiration for your big day, Pinterest is the place.

There are a few important things to keep in mind when you're planning your big day!

-Plan ahead. In order to make it as stress-free as possible for you and your partner, you'll need to give yourself ample time. I gave myself over two years.

-Set your budget first. Make this one of the first things the two of you do. This is important later on.

-Start your guest list early. Give your parents and your partners' parents, and anyone else you'd like to write a guest list; around 4 weeks to do so. After that, put it all together and start narrowing down to a number that fits your budget; you'll want to do the cutting after you price a few venues and find a few of interest.

-Make sure you book any priority vendors first, and keep in contact with them regularly.

-Have fun with it. Ask a few of those special people to help out.

Honestly, planning your wedding should be a fun and exciting experience for the both of you. If ever either of you begin to feel stressed or overwhelmed, don’t be afraid to take a few steps back. Give it a few days and back to it if needed, and don’t be afraid to ask others for help, if need be. This may include pre-marital counselling, as recommended by the owners of TheKnot.com and several other wedding planning websites. Ultimately, when planning your wedding just know, your vendors are there for YOU to make sure your day is special.

Finally, if you're looking for reasonable wedding stationery, check out Staples, Walmart, Shutterfly, or VistaPrint!

These would have to be my go-to's and tips when it comes to wedding planning, and I hope you find them just as useful! Happy planning!

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.