Lifehack logo

Writers block

How I deal with it

By Jen PhillipsPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
Writers block
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

How do I deal with writers block? I don’t. If I’m being completely honest I don’t deal with it at all. Do I get it? Yes. - isn’t this a bit of a contradiction? Yes.

I see it as not writers block but nothing to write at this moment of time. No big deal, move on. Go do something else. Go for a walk, paint or whatever your hobbies are do them. Don’t think about what you are going to write next because it never comes.

After you’ve come back from your walk, write about it. What did you see, hear, experience on your walk. Complain about the person at the grocery store taking up the whole aisle. You painted somethjng? What’s it about? Why did you paint it? What is your interpretation of the painting you did. What are the hobbies you are interested in. What is your day job. There is so many different things to write about.

Sometimes I just pick up my iPad/ phone and just start going on and ranting about a topic, attempt at the grammar and call it a day. Sometimes people will have the same rant you do. Does it have to make sense to everyone? No. That’s the best part about writing. It doesn’t have to make sense to everyone because if it did you wouldn’t just have a couple of favourite authors or writers.

There is almost 9 Billion people on this planet, why are you worried about what a couple of people think? Especially, when it’s negative. I honestly don’t have the time for writers block and what people think of my writing or art.

I really don’t care much on what people think because I’m not writing what they are thinking. I am writing what I am thinking. You don’t like my writing? Okay, that’s nice. It wasn’t for you to read. Oh? You enjoyed it? Well, here’s 50 others you might like.

I do have a couple of stories I would love to make a second chapter or even a third chapter on but honestly I can’t think of any ideas of how to continue them right now.

Guess what? That is okay! Want to know why? Because I am able to just write about something else right now and come back to them later on when I do have some idea.

I’m also lucky in a way weee my brain wonders a lot. So, I try to write down the ideas that I do have in my head. Just dump them all in the notes app in my phone and come back later when I have a chance to sit down to write them out.

Sometimes when I do come back to the ideas if there’s no context I forget where I was going with that. Then I just take that idea and run with it and something completely different is done with that idea. Then time will pass and I’ll have original idea of the topic. I get annoyed with myself because it sometimes sounds too familiar to the rewrite I did on it. So, it ends up being scrapped or it gets turned into something completely different, again.

The bright side about that is that it turns into a few other ideas on the side. Which means I have content for a least a few days if not a whole month. So, is that any better? Probably. Is it very annoying? Heck yes.

With that said, is there even such thing as writers block? Or is it lack of inspiration? The answer to this is yes.

how to
2

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    whether you call it writer's block or lack of inspiration, the key is to keep writing and trust that the creativity will flow again in due time. Thanks for sharing your insights!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.