Lifehack logo

Why Energy Management is the Key to a Happier Life

The ultimate resolution

By Helen HaywardPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why Energy Management is the Key to a Happier Life
Photo by Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

I spent a lot of 2021 feeling burnt out and unable to do anything beyond the minimum requirement. Tired is not the word for it. My energy felt heavy, stagnant, and completely depleted. I know I’m not alone.

Feeling so empty of fuel can lead you down a path of guilt or shame for not being able to do anything. And then the guilt and shame can spiral you even further in the wrong direction.

So what do we do? It’s easy to start setting tasks and goals that we think will change our downward direction. Get up earlier every day; cut out all junk food; train for a half-marathon. Sounds good? It might, but it also might make things worse.

At the start of the year we often feel the need to set lofty goals and resolutions. While I do like a good goal to aim for, I also like the idea of theming my months and year to bring some focus in achievable chunks. This shifts my mindset to moving through my days and weeks with intention instead of feeling like I’m on a never-ending, unforgiving treadmill of “self-improvement”.

This year my theme is energy management.

Last year my energy circled down the drain. My goal now is to divert my energy flow in ways that revitalize it rather than drain it.

What boosts my energy?

What sucks it out of me?

What keeps it flowing?

These are questions I’m learning to ask myself everyday while being open to new and surprising answers.

I love this resolution for many reasons.

  • The process is as much of a reward as the outcome, which removes the undue pressure of a pass/fail goal
  • It gives you a chance to stop and reconnect with yourself in new ways
  • It’s agile and forever relevant, because what might be true one day isn’t necessarily true the next
  • It keeps the ultimate goal in sight: living a happier, healthier life

Energy management can be whatever you want it to be. It’s different for everyone and it can change from day to day. Let’s take moments of pause throughout each day to ask ourselves, listen, and be conscious of what we’re doing.

So how are you feeling right now? Has anything happened so far today that made you feel lighter? Has anything made you feel excited? Is there something you’re looking forward to? How would you like to finish the day?

Do you mind if I take a moment to share some of the things that have made me feel lighter, calmer, or more excited recently?

Walking with Caramel

Caramel

Caramel is this sweet being that I have the fortune of spending my days with. I can be a bit of a wimp in the cold but living in the part of Canada I live in, it’s kind of unavoidable. To embrace it - and honestly, to force myself to get out into the fresh air for some time away from screens - I’ve been walking more with Caramel. It’s not always super far (he’s a big boy and lazier than I am), but it’s becoming an enjoyable and calming ritual.

Listening to Podcasts

This is one I’ve loved for a while but my energy management exercise has reaffirmed how much it boosts me. My two favourites right now that bring value to my days are Morbid - A True Crime Podcast and Wine and Crime. It makes me feel so happy to spend time listening to these smart, funny gals who I would love to call my friends.

Podcasting

I’ve always known it on some level but recently I’ve accepted it more and more that I need a creative outlet to feel like myself. Yep, I am a Pisces. I’ve been toying with the idea of starting my own podcast. I know for sure that it is work, but I just can’t shake the idea. So, even for fun, I’ve been digging into the idea more. I found some websites that might help nail down the topic focus. For those also thinking about it, here are a couple I've found:

50 Podcast Ideas You Should Try

75 Podcast Ideas and Topics to Explore

Puzzles

I was lucky enough to be able to take a couple of weeks off work over the holidays. I needed to disconnect and I wanted to spend time away from screens. So I cracked open a jigsaw puzzle that had been sat on the shelf for who knows how long. I loved doing puzzles as a kid, but throughout the years I’ve fallen into a self-improvement trap of only doing things that are considered “productive”. There is joy to be found in doing something for the fun of doing it, rather than trying to be constantly productive.

Planning a Trip

Travel has obviously been a casualty of the past couple of years and it’s something I’ve missed so much. However, later this year (fingers crossed) I hope to go on a trip with my two sisters. We had a Zoom call recently to start planning it, and it felt so good to even think about it. I love to explore and experience different things, and it will be wonderful to spend time with my sisters. It honestly just feels good to have something to look forward to.

https://www.worldatlas.com/lakes/lake-tahoe.html

Specific goals and achievements we do reach are great, but what really matters most is how we feel. How are we experiencing life? Are we living quality moments or going through the motions? I invite you to ask yourself energy focused questions each day and really notice how you feel.

Here’s to creating a new day, everyday.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.