Lifehack logo

What Should You Wear According To Your Size?

Not The Usual Answer

By Liz WallPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
What Should You Wear According To Your Size?
Photo by Bill Oxford on Unsplash

I worked in styling and costuming creating looks for shoots, film and theatre and constantly was met with the fearful answer of “I can’t wear that” coming from people who were taught to hate their bodies. My ability to pick eye-catching looks stemmed from my youth when I would create elaborate and extravagant ensembles, outfits people assumed I wore because I was confident but primarily they were my armour.

My body ballooned up and shrank down over the years, soft in places I didn’t want it to be, shooting pain in places that made it hard to get through the day. I felt absolutely awful trying to get clothes that fit when I was bigger sizes, coming home in tears, feeling all I could do was dress in comfy clothes and looking good wasn’t allowed. I still have major body image issues, but then again I did when I was thin. Now while I feel there are so many things that I can’t wear, I know on some level that’s a more of not being comfortable. I learned through much and painful reflection that it’s not a case that I are others shouldn’t wear tight clothes when our dress sizes are larger or stick thin and that our bodies shouldn’t be seen, but simply that some people personally don’t want to see it. Media bombards us with what the ‘right’ body is and shames any of us that don’t fit into that category which trickles down into society at large. We all know that’s wrong yet when it’s so prevalent from all corners influencing the world in general, it can be hard not to take it on board.

I’m not the kind of stylist who will tell you what the latest fashion trends are or one who will tell you to hide your belly, pressuring you to get the look, or trying to pigeon hole you into this tyrannical notion of covering up and fitting in. I won’t dictate on how to look good but instead try not just to help you feel good, but help you look in the mirror and not just feel comfortable or dare say good- I want you to feel fierce and say “yes I can and want to be seen”.

My first questions are about what your favourite things to wear are and what you’d like to wear if being self conscious wasn’t an issue. I assess what you feel your favourite features are and what you’re most fearful of exposing . I look at the basics of what accentuates your shape, not what should be hidden. Then I pull things out of my rather extensive wardrobe and style to something that’s special, not just a day-to-day look. I love to see that sparkle in your eye when you see yourself in the mirror with a look of joy not humiliation over how you look. If it’s for a shoot I’m working on I love to see that utter fear drop when you feel confident to do your thing. Most of all, I love to see you not feel how I do when I look in the mirror - yes a hypocritical feeling but one that allows me to understand and empathise as to where you are.

Beauty is so subjective, for some it’s claiming their own looks, for others they feel best when subscribing to trends and catwalk looks. If covering grey hair and minimising wrinkles makes you feel good then do that, if shaving your head and getting pierced is your look then absolutely go for it. Although perhaps idealistic, I dream of a world where we look how we want and our choices are of our own volition not being pressured to conform. I dream of the day when nobody feels their body is wrong and protruding bellies, larger thighs, extremely thin bodies with no curves, are not things to be hidden or people are made feel they have to change the skin they’re in. Modify your body and beauty looks to how you want but please dear, do it for yourself and not the voices we’re hearing or the things you’re told about how you need to be.

So to sum up, my answer to what you should wear is whatever the fuck you want.

clothing

About the Creator

Liz Wall

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LWWritten by Liz Wall

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.