Lifehack logo

Twice As Tempting

Romantic Shorts™ readers will recognize our Summer 2021 Writers’ Competition 3rd Place winner as none other than our own Bonnie Wood. This fun entry is a great example of the quintessential romance story. We’re cheering for the good guy, booing the bad guy, and hoping everything works out for our incredibly lovable heroine. We chose this one simply because, aside from being a well-written narrative with a good dash of spice, we were still smiling long after it ended. Welcome. And, enjoy!

By Tanya Sharma Published 2 years ago 15 min read
Like
LOVE ME

I am so energized, I have been with The Premier Marketing Firm for simply under a year and today, Graham one of the Senior Executives informed Derrek Jacobson and myself that we will be chipping away at an Ad crusade together. This isn't simply any record, it's Pacific Coast Wine, probably the biggest winery in Washington State. That, however I love their wine, and, given a decision, I would pick Pacific Coast Wine without fail. There is one more motivation to be energized: I get to work with Derrek Jacobson. The man is so hot thus sweet; I really like him since I began at the firm.

En route to the gathering space to meet with Derrek for our first meeting to generate new ideas, I hear him conversing with Jeff, one of the Account Managers. They have been companions since school.

"Man, I let you know that you would do well here."

"I know, it's insane that it happened so quick," Derrek answers in that attractive voice of his.

"Isn't that so? Also you will be working with Autumn, she's truly cool."

I freeze when I hear my name, grinning at Jeff's remark.

"Better believe it, she is," and I feel warmth begin to spread through my body, "really awful she's fat, or she'd be awesome."

"Derrek, that is brutal man, that chick is truly beautiful and truly cool."

"I realize you're ideal man, I don't intend to be a dick." My watchman drops a score. "I'd most likely go there assuming that I was intoxicated."

How the screw treated simply say? I take in a full breath and return myself to normal. I won't cry, I tell myself, I won't cry. Hearing his dickish remarks did one thing for me. That pulverize I had? Gone. Very much like that. A couple of indiscreet words and he won't ever go back to me in the future. I back up a couple of steps and make some clamor, so they realize I'm coming. Whenever I turn the corner I grin at Jeff, more grateful than he will at any point know for his benevolent words.

"Greetings Jeff." I say, "Are you prepared to begin?" I ask moving in the direction of Derrek, not looking at him without flinching.

He shoots a timid glance at Jeff. "That's right," he opens the entryway, "after you."

"Good gracious, Jen, it was embarrassing," I tell my closest companion via telephone soon thereafter. "Jesus, I can't completely accept that he said that poo."

Jen empathizes. "You know, you could go to HR."

"That is not who I am," I murmur. "I heard a discussion that I wasn't essential for. I'm not going to destroy his vocation over it. In addition, he's right, I am fat."

"Harvest time," Jen chides me, "you are not fat, you are breathtaking and wonderful."

I grimace at the 16 ounces of Ben and Jerry's in my grasp, "You haven't seen me since I moved to Seattle. Indeed, even my primary care physician says I really want to shed thirty pounds. That is a ton for somebody my size."

"Then, at that point, lose it," she says like it's easy or something like that.

I grunt. "Simple for you to say, you thin bitch." She realizes I say that with all the affection on the planet. My closest companion is tall, slim and delightful. "I will go. I love you like 10,000 coconut M'n'm's."

"I love you like 10,000 Oreo treats," she laughs. "Furthermore Autumn, you are lovely."

"Indeed, certain," I murmur. "Bye."

I go to the kitchen to put my 3/4 full 16 ounces of frozen yogurt away. Whenever I open the cooler and see every one of the frozen bites, rather than taking care of it I transform and dump it into the trash. I haul the remainder of the poo out and throw it. Then, at that point, do likewise in the storage space. Crap, presently I have no food, I let out a stuffy snicker. No big surprise I'm fat, all I eat is carbs and sugar. I snatch my keys and head to the store for more solid decisions. I will lose it. I will begin with a solid eating routine and exploiting my structure's rec center.

* * * * * * *

It has been right around 90 days, and I have effectively shed 25 pounds. I feel incredible, I eat a solid eating routine and work out each day. I've needed to purchase new garments, and I will likely need to again before I'm finished. My twofold jaw is gone, and my 90 minutes figure is only an hour now. Our gathering with Bennett Evans, the sole proprietor of Pacific Coast Wine is in a week and a half, I am prepared, I've never felt so positive about my life.

Derrek the dick, as I have named him in my mind has begun to take a gander at me in an unexpected way. He maintains eye contact with me longer than needed and sits somewhat nearer than he did previously. A couple of months prior, this would have excited me, however presently everything I can imagine is him saying, 'I'd likely go there assuming that I was tipsy.' Well screw him, or, not actually.

We have a fantastic mission arranged yet it's not exactly meeting up in light of the fact that we haven't tracked down the snare. Contemplating Derrek's dickhead remark takes me back to that first day and what I was thinking en route to the meeting room, then, at that point, it hits me. Good gracious, I tracked down the snare.

I rush to Derrek's office, "I got it!" I shout as I burst through the entryway.

My hazardous entry makes him shock, spilling his espresso, "What the heck Autumn."

"Gracious, damn I'm grieved." I duck out to the espresso truck and snatch a few napkins, giving them to him, I am sorry once more. "I am so sorry Derrek."

He's touching at his groin, and I envision hot espresso in the lap more likely than not been a piece awkward, I make an effort not to snicker, as I might suspect, Karma strikes once more.

He turns upward and I school my elements, or attempt too in any case, "It's alright." He squints his eyes, "Would you say you are doing whatever it takes not to snicker?"

I make a sound as if to speak, "No, I'm recently invigorated." "What did you get?"

"What?"

"You said you got it, what did you get?"

"Goodness that," regrouping. "The snare, I got the snare."

"Tell me."

"OK, Okay. 'Pacific Coast Wine, We'd Choose It Every Time.'"

Derrek's foreheads wrinkle, as he mulls over everything, "Say it once more." He shuts his eyes.

"Pacific Coast Wine, We'd Choose It Every time."

He gestures, smiles, and leaps to his feet, "I love it!"

He gets me turning me. At the point when he stops the round movement, I slide down the front of him recalling that I disdain this man. Whenever my feet hit the floor, I make a full stride back.

"Eat with me this evening." It's not an inquiry.

I shake my head, "I don't think so."

"Gracious, come on Autumn. We used to have a good time, presently it's all business. Moreover, we want to commend, you got the snare."

I need to let him that know if he wasn't a particularly modern estimated douche, we would in any case have a good time. He's right however it wouldn't damage to celebrate with supper and some Pacific Coast Wine. "Alright," I yield.

I demand we request that Jeff go in any case, sadly he can't, so I'm left with Derrek the dick. We settle on The Melting Pot since it's nearby and it's great.

As we are strolling Derrek slings an amicable arm around my shoulder, I deep down flinch, but instead than be a touchy kid about it, I just let it stay there, its significant burden harsh and awkward. After we request, I attempt to fill the abnormal quiet with crusade talk.

As we are completing the last course, Derrek says. "Go out on a genuine date with me Autumn."

"Uh, no. I don't think so."

"What difference would it make? I figure we would live it up."

I finish my pastry and stand. "Derrek, a couple of months prior I would have seized the opportunity to go out with you." His eyes enlarge. "Be that as it may, presently I'm going need to say no. Additionally, you're not intoxicated."

Before I dismiss, I see his mouth drop open and a look of wretched ghastliness come over his face. I get the entire way to the entryway before I hear him call out to me. Past the point of no return. I push through the entryway and thank god it's midtown Seattle and there are taxis all over. I get the first I see and slide onto the rearward sitting arrangement. He blasts out of the eatery as I'm shutting the taxi entryway.

"Pre-winter, stand by." He calls.

I simply stick my hand out the window and wave, fighting the temptation to flip him off.

The following not many days are abnormal, and I wish I hadn't let on that I had some awareness of his asshattish comments to Jeff. I need to tell him over and over that I'm not intrigued by his clarifications, and that we are fine.

It's several days until our gathering with Bennett Evans, and Derrek has at last quit attempting to offer to set things right to me. I don't know whether he's surrendered for sure. I don't actually mind; I'm simply happy. We get every one of the subtleties concluded by seven o'clock Wednesday night, which is great since the gathering is tomorrow first thing. I expected to be working far later, yet I'm satisfied I'll get a decent night's rest.

"Need to go eat?" Derrek asks reluctantly.

I grin at him to show I'm not simply being obnoxious. "Not this evening, I need to return home and get a decent night's rest."

"OK," he moans. "I ought to do likewise. Goodnight Autumn."

"Goodnight Derrek." I bear his kiss on my cheek.

At the point when I return home, I find I'm too tense to even consider heading to sleep, so I go down the stairs to the rec center and get on the treadmill. I attempt to envision dating Derrek, when I ponder laying down with him, my stomach flips - and not positively. I realize I can never date him on the grounds that each time we were stripped together, I would contemplate whether he thought I looked fat. At the point when I'm great and broken down I walk to my loft, shower and slide into bed nodding off very quickly.

Derrek and I had chosen to ride together to the gathering since the winery's workplaces are on the edges of the city and it just seemed OK. We meet at the workplace, get together and drive to PCW's structure showing up a half hour early. We set up in fifteen and are talking when Bennett Evans strolls quickly later. I hear nothing else Derrek says.

Presently, I've seen photographs of Bennett, and I realized he was great looking, however let me let you know the photos didn't do him equity. Pleasant looking? Please… He is smoking hot. He is wearing a dark custom-made suit and emerald, green tie. As my look follows the restrict, the primary thing I notice about his face are his eyes. They are a dazzling green that I have never seen. I don't know whether the tie is setting them off or then again assuming they are generally similar to that. Then, at that point, I notice the remainder of him, his dim light hair is trimmed short practically military on the sides and back, somewhat longer on the top. Those more drawn out locks look as though he has as of late run his fingers through it. For some insane explanation, my fingers tingle to check whether it's just about as delicate as it looks. His etched highlights seem as though they were cut by the divine beings to be adored by ladies the world over. I understand that I'm frozen completely still gazing at him, mouth open, allowing my eyes to meander all over him, and he's gazing back at me, the edge of his delicious mouth tipped up in a half smile.

I shake my head a little to clear it. Jesus, get it together, Autumn. What are you a mother loving teen?

I expand my hand "Mr Evans, it's a joy to meet you." I'm certain my face is the shade of a tomato. "I'm Autumn O'Brien, and this is Derrek Jacobson."

Bennett gets a handle on my hand in a firm shake, "Ms. O'Brien."

"Kindly, call me Autumn." Please.

"Harvest time, it is. What's more you can call me Bennett." He says lifting my hand to brush a kiss on my knuckles. I'm almost certain butterflies just took off in my stomach.

He holds my hand somewhat longer than needed then goes to Derrek. "Mr Jacobson."

Derrek shakes Bennett's hand, "Call me Derrek."

Bennett leans his head and allows Derrek's to hand go. I can't resist the urge to see he doesn't advise Derrek to call him Bennett.

All through the gathering, when I'm not introducing, my eyes continue to wander to Bennett. Damn, he is hot as hellfire. I'm wandering off in fantasy land concerning what he presumably resembles under that suit when Derrek's words channel through. He is saying 'I… ,' a ton. 'At the point when I got this task.' 'All the exploration I did.' As I tune in, I understand that this fucker is assuming praise for the entire mission. You must mess with me. I worked like a dog for this and he knows it. He was not too far off.

The gathering is finished, and we are getting together. I realize my developments are most likely somewhat jerky from holding in the displeasure and disloyalty that Derrek just gave me. He's not checking out me; he knows he's a dick.

We convey our gear into the parking structure, I put it in the vehicle and hammer the entryway. "I'll return a Uber once again to the workplace."

"Pause, what?" Derrek appears to be confounded. "Why?"

"Since you are credit taking butt sphincter," I shout.

"What?" He asks, as he doesn't have the foggiest idea what the heck he did.

"You made it sound as you accomplished basically everything on this task." I was simply going to leave however I'm so damn frantic I need to get this out into the open.

"Come on Autumn," he begins. "I'm the lead. It should seem like that."

"I'm not dumb, Derrek," I am fuming now, "We should be a group. Whenever I observed the snare, I told Graham, we tracked down it."

"I'm not leaving you here." He chooses.

"You don't have a decision." I spin to storm away and bang into a hard body.

Hands come to my shoulders to consistent me, and I gaze upward. Crap! Bennet fricking, Evans. He's frowning at Derrek behind me.

"I'll take her back," he tells Derrek. It's all the more an admonition rather than an assertion.

I shake my head. "No, you don't need to."

Bennett grins down at me, "It's fine, we can get a chomp."

"We need to return to the workplace," Derrek demands. "Graham is anticipating us."

"I'll message Graham." Bennett's tone is that of a man in control.

I see him, perplexed. "Do you know Graham?"

"No doubt, we play racquet ball week by week."

Derrek doesn't say another word, and Bennett steers me to a beautiful dark Lexus.

When we are back midtown, we park and walk a square or so to a charming little spot called Bluwater Bistro.

"I ought to have asked, is this, alright?" Bennett asks, holding the entryway open for me.

"Sure," I grin. "It smells incredible in here."

After we are situated, Bennett levels a gander at me. "What?" I say abruptly reluctant.

"I intend to tell Graham I need Derrek off the mission."

My stomach flips, "No! Kindly don't do that."

He cocks his head, "For what reason would you say you are safeguarding him?""I'm not. Assuming you go to Graham, Derrek will have everything over the workplace that I got him started off the mission." I see him arguing, "He will make me resemble the trouble maker; everybody loves Derrek."

"That is crappy that he would do that. Are you certain?" At my mitigated find he holds a finger, "At the same time, assuming he to such an extent as says I rather than we, I will start him off. I additionally plan to let Graham know how incredible you are."

This makes me become flushed. "What assuming I suck?"

At the warmed look he gives me I hurriedly add, "at my particular employment."

His smile is naughty and coquettish. "I don't imagine that will be the situation. The connect you accompanied is extraordinary, and I'm certain you had significantly more contribution than that."

When the task is in progress, I observe that Bennett is exceptionally hands on with his organization's endeavors. He is in the plan gatherings consistently. It has turned into a propensity for us to go to lunch when he is around then.

Half a month into the mission, we are sitting in a bistro eating, and I notice that Bennett is strangely tranquil.

"Is everything alright?" I inquire.

"Go out to supper with me." It's not an inquiry.

"Um, what?" I stammer, some way or another more astounded than I might suspect I ought to be.

"Supper. You and me. Tomorrow evening?" This time it's sort of an inquiry.

"Like a date?" I ask feeling like my eyebrows are in my hair line.

He smiles, liquefying my inner parts, "Yes Autumn, precisely like a date."

"Alright." I say, a piece in shock I was not anticipating this.

school
Like

About the Creator

Tanya Sharma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.