Lifehack logo

To All Those with Kidney Disease

You CAN improve your kidney function!

By Debra ImriePublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I almost left these 3 people last August. I have lived with them since my first grandson Milo was 4 months old. I retired and moved from Wisconsin to Colorado Springs to be his full time caretaker. Grandma Deb was his only babysitter except when the other grandparents from Minnesota came to visit or fill in for me when I needed to be gone. In the summer of 2020, all things changed.

The reason I tell this story is to explain my passion for creating and cooking low or no-sodium foods.

I was ill for a couple of months starting in June, suffering from fatigue, no appetite and often not keeping food down. I saw 3 different doctors, who told me I had an ulcer or told me "sometimes women your age have these symptoms", or "we will continue testing until we find the answer".

Finally in August, my son insisted I go to the emergency room and I am so thankful that he did that. After testing, they found that I had no kidney function and needed dialysis. One doctor even questioned me about drinking antifreeze.

I don't know how much longer I would have survived without dialysis, but it was serious. I am so thankful that my son saw that I needed help. I was able to restore some kidney function and end dialysis 2 months later.

I now eat no salt and eat foods to improve kidney function. There are so many resources online for low or no sodium foods. I make my own soy, Worcestershire and Hoisin sauce, along with catsup, alfredo, spaghetti sauce or anything else you can have a craving for. Unfortunately, restaurants or fast food are out of the question (sometimes I find something on the children's menu!).

I recently stayed 5 weeks with my 88 year old mother and she also has Stage 3 kidney disease. I was able to make all of her favorite foods in a low sodium manner. She loves deviled eggs, potato salad, and coleslaw. We made Asian dishes, Italian dishes and plain old comfort foods like meatloaf and mashed potatoes.

What I would like to accomplish from this story is first, what the warning signs of kidney disease are. Extreme fatigue, appetite loss and nausea (often vomiting after eating) were my most prevalent signs. These can be signs of many ailments, but the blood test to check the filtration (GFR) was essential. During my illness, I saw a Gastroenterologist who performed an endoscopy and then prescribed a high dosage of omeprazole. The Nephrologists attributed my total loss of kidney function to that drug.

Also, people my age (and of any age!) should be proactive in their health care. My first doctor visit explained to me that I would be notified only if anything was abnormal with my blood test. I was never notified and later when I asked for the results, found that my GFR was half of where is should have been. Ask for your test results!!

If someone reading this needs to reduce sodium intake, it's very easy and there are few limitations. Ok, bacon and salted buttered popcorn are out, but there is turkey bacon and one learns to eat popcorn with no salt.

My son bought me some great cookbooks on Amazon. And my Nephrologist reinforced the fact that everyone should be on a low sodium diet. So many people salt before they taste. Yes, salt makes everything taste better, but I cook with a lot of garlic and onion powder. I also have tried to use many other spices. Most people don't even notice!

My GFR will never be more than half of where it should be, but I am far from dialysis. Also, my doctor really recommended daily exercise as a great help. Foods that I eat often are cauliflower, cabbage, blueberries, and Arugula. I didn't even know that I loved cauliflower! I roast it in olive oil and spices.

I would be happy to share any of my recipes or sites with another person who faces the challenges that I have faced. I also know that sodium is not the only culprit. Potassium and phosphorus are also considerations. And a renal diet is different from a low sodium diet.

To all those on dialysis out there, my heart goes out to you. I still remember all the faces of those who sat in the dialysis center with me. I was one of the lucky ones. I pray that some of you have found a donor for a transplant.

health

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DIWritten by Debra Imrie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.