Lifehack logo

Tiffany Types for a Price!

My guide to staying focused while chasing a bag in college!

By Tiffany LintonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
MOOD

One extremely broke afternoon in college I scrolled through the University at Albany's group chat on an app called "group me." I came across a message that further changed my life. "Yo, does anyone in here do papers? I have an Africana Studies paper due this week, I'll pay. It's 10 pages." Just then I remembered that I completed an Africana Studies paper the previous year that was ten pages in length. Hmm...I did score an A minus on it. Maybe he's in a different class and I can just rearrange some things, give it to him as if it's brand new and get my money, because ramen every night for dinner is not it. I don't care how fancy I think I am even with all the Old Bay seasoning I throw in there. I need dinner. I need real groceries, I thought to myself. I easily started a direct message with him in the "group me" app. "Hey, I think I can do your paper. $1o a page. Send me your email address, I'll have it done before the week is over."

Lo and behold, a duplicated, (but properly edited and rearranged) paper worth an A was completed. A few nights later he messaged me saying, "Yo!!! I got an A! Thank you!" Well damn. Maybe instead of searching all day for a job I can keep this up! I eagerly searched for students in the group chat who needed their papers done. Each time there was a distraught undergrad student, I would take matters into my own hands and get them an awesome grade while collecting my cash. At this point the success was tangible. Somehow I had requests from my school to schools in Staten Island, Manhattan, and California. No matter where the students went to school, the money ended up in the same place—my lovely cash app address, $tiffanymulan. Word started getting around, friends would tell friends who would tell friends, and next thing you know, I was able to start taking care of myself in college without working a nine to five while being stressed out about classes and studying.

I would come back to my dorm after classes, get all of my work out of the way, then get the research papers of my customers complete. I won't lie, at times I was exhausted, but I knew that if it meant money in the end then honey, my brain was well awake. I started promoting myself on Snapchat as "Tiffany Types For A Price." On those nights when I would be up at three in the morning with an eight AM the next day, I'd listen to my Just Keep Going Sis playlist. Allow me to take you down musical lane.

1. I Reminded Myself That If I Wanted My Cash, I Had to Get to WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XgKktyhAQg

I love me some heat with a Caribbean flair, typical coming from a Jamaican girl like myself. This hit tended to distract me though. One minute I would be indenting a paragraph, next minute my waist is rolling around. Someone hand me the face palm emoji please!

2. Cardi B: DROP TOP PORSCHE- Me: Start it over

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Q0JwB3VHus

It's only right. The way I was able to help students finesse their way into a better GPA while I got paid as well! Thanks for the remix Bruno, it was genius and it turned 2018 upside down!

3. Think I'll Do Some Papers for the Weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxOHyAFOEvw

Miss SZA, this entire album was amazing. Whenever i had a quick three to five minute paper, this one was on repeat. The semester in which I began this entire side hustle, I was going and growing through a heart break, so this one was an automatic replay...even if it meant pausing my papers for a good cry and then resuming!

4. Am I The Only One That Binge Listened to the Entire Black Panther Soundtrack? This Track Right Here SLAPPED!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17rFEzznMGo

Maybe it's because I felt like a big shot every time someone requested a paper to be done. Anyway, more importantly: Wakanda Forever. That's on period!

5. TBH, Anything Lauryn Hill Allowed Me To Remain Focused

Guuuuuys, you know you better watch out! We caaaan't let these professors know about my writing writing writiiiiing! I had to remind each of my customers to add their headings with their professors name on the papers when they received the emails.

I happily graduated with a little more money in my pocket, but way more than I would've had if I never replied to that first guy's group chat message about needing a paper done. You never know where your skill might take you. However, when you choose to do something it's always good to remain focused on your path...with a dope playlist of course! It's the R&B for me!

school
1

About the Creator

Tiffany Linton

Writer, Actress, Educator, CEO, Singer, if you want more then follow me on Instagram: tiffanymulan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.