Families logo

Blood is Thicker Than Water, Always.

No sibling rivalry on this side!

By Tiffany LintonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Being bullied from middle school throughout high school was a very life changing experience, however it built character. Personally, I find myself still learning about myself in the midst of forgiveness and healing, but that’s what life is all about. I remember being tormented in my last year of eighth grade and coming home crying to my older brother about my appearance and how much I wanted to look like a different girl.

He told me that kids can be really messed up and that I shouldn’t want to change anything about myself because I’m super dope with a great heart. However whenever I looked in the mirror for reassurance within myself, I still felt down. I hated myself. I got my feelings hurt, and when guys started giving me attention I based my beauty upon that for a few years as well. Whenever I got my heart broken, I’d ask myself “What is it about me? I thought he thought I was beautiful!” All that time I didn’t tap into my self love and questioned my own worth based on the treatment of others which wasn’t fair to me at all.

My older brother taught me so many new things. He taught me about self love, giving to others without expecting anything in return, not caring about certain things rather than dwelling on things and expressing negative emotions towards others, and so much more. Though we’ve surely had our ups and downs, he was there throughout the many rough seasons of mine. Being that he is a couple years older than I am, he would have to watch me after school while our parents were at work for hours. While our oldest brother soaked up popularity and was always out and about, we stayed up dancing to Michael Jackson records and doing Taebo work outs, and somewhere in the middle of those years he went from being my guardian/babysitter to my best friend.

There are certain things I refuse to tell my girlfriends and parents, hell, there are certain things I refuse to even admit to myself. However, my brother Adrian is the one I go to about every little thing! Even when they gross him out, like the time I mentioned the regret of losing my virginity to the wrong person. I remember crying some heavy tears earlier this year about my most recent break up, and despite not being able to see my therapist (thanks Covid) or seeing my girlfriends as much as I would’ve wanted to, he was there for me. Through one of the biggest trials I’ve faced thus far. A relationship that was a playground for toxic behavior and narcissism and abuse. While I was stuck in denial, I tried to tell myself things would get better, but Adrian kept it real with me all the way. He knew I would be hurt, but he let me know that those are never debatable in relationships. With that, I took his hard, hard advice and left that trash relationship.

I’m so happy to have a strong relationship with my sibling. A lot of people say that they admire our closeness. Cheers to life long friendship with my best friend forever. May this life grant us more opportunities to explore random places in the city, freestyle to 90s instrumentals whenever we’re bored, teaming up against our parents when they get on our nerves, and gossiping together. Most of all, may this life grant us even more time to support each other’s goals and dreams. This is the one person who has always been in my corner who has never once switched up, and I’m very thankful for that. Shout out to me other half! It’s genuineness of it all for me!

siblings
1

About the Creator

Tiffany Linton

Writer, Actress, Educator, CEO, Singer, if you want more then follow me on Instagram: tiffanymulan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.