Lifehack logo

This Is Not Where I Saw Myself at the Age of 40

The Daily Freaked out Thoughts I Have Wondering How to Keep It All Afloat

By Heidi ElizabethPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: AMB Credit Consultants

When I was in high school deciding on my future, I wish that they had somehow prepared me better for the realities of everyday life. I mean, let's be honest, when you are young, you aren't concerned with balancing a checkbook, clipping coupons, or figuring out how to make a car payment and an electric bill in the same week. This has become my everyday life now.

There are probably a lot of things that I should have done differently in hindsight; gone straight to college, finished my degree when I eventually made it to college, taking a better look into maintaining good credit, etc. I didn't imagine that, at the age of 40, I would still be living paycheck to paycheck and living back home. I don't live beyond my means but on what I make, I can't even afford to live in my car with my dog!

Don't get me wrong, my life is a heck of a lot better than a lot of people out there, but it's my reality that I am faced with on a daily basis. So, just to give you an idea, here's what I have to deal with at times: I get paid weekly—thankfully, every Friday... by Sunday, I am looking for loose change for gas later in the week. If I didn't live at home, I would have to find a few roommates in order to afford a decent living space, but having a large dog in this state makes that nearly impossible. Now, the thing that keeps me up at night is that my mother is in her 70s and talks a lot about not being around for long...and as hard as hearing that and dealing with that reality is, I then worry about what I will have to do when that horrid day comes.

On average, I figure out ways to make things work. I haven't missed my car payment or been without gas in my truck or food on the table. I am blessed in that instance and it breaks my heart to know that things are so much worse for a lot of people out there. But with the way things are going in this country, it could easily be me tomorrow, and that is definitely not where I saw myself at this age.

So, what do you do? Well, the first thing I did was set a realistic budget and get rid of things that are not necessities. Yes, would I love to have the full cable package and a brand new TV? The answer is yes, but it is not anything I need in order to survive. Now, I have just internet and two streaming channels: Hulu and Amazon Prime. I got HBO for free with my FIOS, so between these three, there is TONS of content to keep me entertained.

The next thing I did was start grocery shopping with an actual list and pay attention to prices and sales. My mother has been a lifesaver knowing prices, where something is always cheaper, and not being held to shopping at just one store. Lucky for us, we have a few markets in the area so we can utilize the different sales.

I started realizing that I don't need tons of credit cards or store cards. I have one credit card for emergencies and ONLY emergencies: car breakdown, out of work for extended timeframe, etc. I stopped paying attention to sale emails I get from a lot of my stores and realize that they often come back around, and unless I am in need and not want, into the trash bin it goes.

Another thing I use now is restaurant coupons. So those BOGO deals are when I may splurge with my friends and head out for a nice dinner. Splitting the check is a lot better than being the sole holder of the bill. Also, when I get a little extra money, I buy gift cards to keep on hand for those times where money may be tight. At least I can eat.

Lastly, for the other essentials, I try to be on the lookout for deals to keep my business with places. I have called my electric and gas company to be put on a budget plan, which has greatly reduced my monthly cost and keeps it the same every month when budget planning comes up. I keep an eye out for competitor pricing and bring it to my current service providers to either match or offer me a better deal to stay with them. I also decided that getting a part-time job for a short period time helped with getting those small, past due things caught up and put a little money in my savings.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.