Lifehack logo

This Diet Could Be The Key That Unlocks Superior Brain Performance For Writers

Because we're not always all about late nights, booze, and half-smoked Pall Malls

By Rick MartinezPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Often, but not always, when one thinks about a writer or creator, an image of, shall we say, "disturbance and romance" forms.

We might conjure up late nights, booze, and an ashtray overflowing with half-smoked Pall Malls. And of course, then there's the messy AF workspace where it looks like a mom and her pack of rats live. And weirdly, it feels romantic for some.

Often, but not always.

But the truth is, many of us live the romantic life of a creator and really take care of ourselves.

I don't know about you, but I'm overall better when I feed my mind, body, and soul healthy goodness. Way better. And in my untrained, yet "I've tried every diet out there mindset," here's what's worked.

And worked well for me.

There are many different diets out there, but the Paleo diet is one of the most popular. It's also an excellent option for writers who want to stay sharp and perform at their best.

What it means to go full-on caveman

"Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food."

― Hippocrates

The Paleo Diet emphasizes eating foods that our hunter-gatherer ancestors ate in Paleolithic times: meat, vegetables, fruit, roots, eggs, and nuts. One of the most significant advantages of this type of diet is that it eliminates grains (which can contribute to bloating), dairy products (which can lead to irritable bowel syndrome), and sugar from your everyday life. These ingredients have been linked with depression-related symptoms, among other health issues.

Paleo, which is high in omega-three fatty acids and other nutrients found naturally in foods, has been shown to help reduce inflammation. Chronic inflammation can lead to fatigue and pain, plus mental and cognitive things like Alzheimer's disease or depression. So it's a good idea for writers who have lots of stress from slinging ink all day (and often all night) long.

The benefits don't stop there, though.

My story: After starting a Paleo Diet, I noticed that my mood improved significantly. No more feeling sluggish after lunchtime Zoom calls or dinner with the family - I'm ready to take on anything. What was once an arduous task became easier than ever before, thanks to this new lifestyle change.

And the truth of the matter is this, the only real change I made was the type and quality of food I shoved in my pie-hole.

What's in it for your brain?

"When diet is wrong, medicine is of no use. When diet is correct, medicine is of no need." Ayurvedic Proverb

Everything we dream, do, and then create emerges from our thinking piece.

Our brain.

And the best diet for brain health is one that reduces inflammation and includes omega-three fatty acids, which are essential to good thinking health.

A Paleo Diet does this by getting rid of many ingredients in the Standard American Diet (SAD), such as grains, sugar, or dairy products. These foods have been linked to chronic inflammation - a condition where your immune system attacks healthy cells. Since starting my new lifestyle change, I've noticed: better mood, reduced fatigue, definitely more clarity in my thinking, and the best part of all is my energy levels are through the roof.

The Paleo Diet is fantastic for writers because it eliminates the "bad stuff" that has been shown to exacerbate conditions like depression and anxiety. Of which these are significant blocks to our creative streams. It also helps with mood since grains (which are eliminated), sugar, and dairy products all contribute to a negative emotional state.

My story: After several bouts of panic attacks, I was prescribed medication that made me feel like I was in a fog. But the doc said they were necessary. So I complied.

Until the day I didn't.

My personal experience has proven just that. While I cannot say I've ever suffered from depression, I have had these unreal bouts of anxiety that have, in essence, shut me down for the day. Since beginning a Paleo diet, though, my mood has improved significantly, and my anxiety "incidents" are far less than they've ever been.

Note: I do not recommend stopping medication or doctors' advice. This is my personal story I'm sharing.

What are the top 5 Paleo brain foods?

"Your Primal efforts must be fun, energizing, and easy to maintain at all times, otherwise, you are destined to fail." ― Mark Sisson

This list is not all-inclusive, and it's also not the only thing to focus on.

Plus, these are not the top or best Paleo foods, rather ones that may have a direct impact on your noggin.

My point is that if Paleo is as suitable for you as it is for me, then learn more. Have fun with it. Set yourself up in such a way that you succeed on this journey.

But first, here are the top 5.

1. Fish: omega-three fatty acids, which are essential to brain health.

2. Leafy greens: high in vitamin K, magnesium, and potassium. Vitamin K is essential for blood clotting and iron absorption, while magnesium helps with sleep quality.

3. Fruit: contains the vitamins B12, C, A, and E and antioxidants to combat inflammation. Just make sure they are Paleo-approved fruits, as not all are the same.

4. Roots/Bones: bone broth has been shown to reduce joint pain when consumed regularly (especially helpful if you struggle with chronic back issues).

5. Eggs: Full of choline that is vital for memory skills (say goodbye to forgetting where your keys are or where you parked). Plus, they're not just a protein source but also contain healthy goodness - and nutrients needed for brain health.

My story: Being a creature of habit, this part was easier for me. Once I knew what foods I should eat, I only shopped for and prepared those. I literally eat eggs, a little fruit and take my fish oil every morning now.

But if a caveman had it, would he eat it?

"No cookie is a good cookie" ― Pete Abilla

Look, I love cookies. They're one of my favorite sweets to eat. That being said, every so often, I do indulge, but overall I stick to avoiding certain foods.

Failure to do so and my body lets me know right away.

I usually ask myself a silly question like, "If a caveman had this, would he eat it," then I proceed to eat the sugary morsel.

And nearly always regret it later.

So here's what to avoid, regardless of a caveman's opinion.

1. Grains: Bread, pasta, rice.

2. Dairy products: milk, cheese, yogurt. You can still have butter and ghee if you need to eat dairy.

3. Sugar: honey or agave are the only sweeteners you're allowed on Paleo (and even then, they should be used in moderation).

My story: breads continue to be a struggle for me. Not just cookies but bread in and of itself. I will say that after cleaning up my diet and forgoing bread and grains, I felt way better.

And the moment I "cheated" and indulged in pasta? Oh boy. My gut let me know what it thought.

If you take away my coffee, heads may roll

"I have measured out my life with coffee spoons" - T.S. Eliot

Can I have coffee while following a Paleo regimen?

This is a colossal question not only for writers and creators but coffee fiends everywhere.

And it also depends on who you ask.

A Paleo purist may say no, and a Paleo realist will say heck yeah.

I'm a realist who happens to love coffee.

In my opinion, the trick isn't in the coffee itself; it's what you put in it.

You have to ditch those deliciously flavored creamers. The days of crustal brown sugar are over. And forget about the Pumpkin spice over the holidays.

But all is not lost.

You can put some heavy cream into your coffee. This is allowed since it's super low in bad carbohydrates and high in fats.

You can also try making Bulletproof coffee - a mixture that includes MCT oil (that contains healthy fat) or coconut oil, which will help keep hunger pains away for hours after consumption. Plus, there are no carbs added like most store-bought brands have.

Lastly, adding collagen powder is a great way to up your collagen consumption while also keeping skin healthy and robust.

My story: I make Bulletproof coffee. It's simply black coffee blended with ghee or salt-free pure butter and MCT oil. It tastes great, and I'm not hungry for hours afterward. If I crave something sweet, I'll use a dash of Stevia.

The final word

The paleo diet may be a good option for writers who want to stay sharp and perform at their best. Its focus on brain health can help with mood issues or focus problems while also providing crucial nutrients for cognitive performance.

While this type of eating is not for everyone, I felt compelled to share what has worked for me as a writer and as a person who demands the most from myself in all that I do.

Try it; you might just like it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.