Lifehack logo

Things I have learned living abroad

A journey living abroad

By Megha PavanagdPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Things I have learned living abroad
Photo by Artur Kraft on Unsplash

I’m from India and I have been living in Glasgow, Scotland for 1 and half years. I came to Glasgow in 2022 for my master’s. I would admit it was hard at first living alone in a foreign country far away from home. I know most people would have gone through this at some point in their life. I have always wanted to go abroad as long as I remember but the reality of living abroad was different than what I had in my mind. Don't get me wrong it's not all bad living overseas, living abroad does have its perks along with difficulties I guess most people go through especially if they are living in a foreign country for the first time.

Glasgow is beautiful and it is an ideal place for students to enjoy their student life. As a student, I had a wonderful time exploring the city and trying good food. It is easy to get lost in the city. I mainly like exploring the city center, of Glasgow which has many shopping malls and people playing good music on the road. Here are the things I have learned living in Glasgow for a year and a half :

1. It takes courage to go abroad

It is not easy to leave your comfort zone, a place that has been familiar to you your whole life. It takes a lot of courage to leave your comfort zone and see what lies ahead. If you get the courage to go abroad you will get a chance to experience and try new things, a chance you would not have gotten if you remained in a place that was familiar to you.

2. Homesickness hits hard

When I first got to Glasgow, I remember it being really hard for me and I did spend my first night crying myself to sleep. I missed my family, for me, it was the first leaving them and going abroad and it was really hard. I missed them and it took me a while to get adjusted to everything. Now and then I did miss my home, and my family but it was not as bad as in the first few days.

3. An opportunity to meet new people

While living abroad you will get to meet new people from all over the world. You will get a chance to know them and their culture. I got a chance to make friends with people from all over the world. Got a chance to learn about their culture and make new memories that would be remembered for a long time.

4. There is no such thing as routine

Every day you wake up it would be a new adventure. You will get a chance to meet new people and experience a new culture. No 2 days would be the same.

5. It can be expensive

When you live on your own you would understand the value of money. You would learn to cut down on your expenses and you would learn to save money. Most people probably work multiple part-time jobs to take care of their living expenses. So, when you are studying it would be difficult to manage studies, attending classes, assignments, and part-time jobs. It would be difficult to manage everything all at once.

6. Get an opportunity to immerse yourself in a new culture

Every culture is different and you would get an opportunity to experience their cultures.

All in all, coming abroad is the best decision I have made. I dared to leave my comfort zone and experience something completely different.

After living abroad for a year and a half, my mindset has changed, got to meet new people and expereince a new culture. I have broadened my horizons and I don't think I can ever go back.

travel

About the Creator

Megha Pavanagd

Love telling stories after all life is journey.

Follow me on instagram : meghapavangad

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Megha PavanagdWritten by Megha Pavanagd

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.