Lifehack logo

The Ultimate Inclusive Gift List

For Any Time of Year

By Lilith AcaciaPublished 4 years ago โ€ข 5 min read

When this began for me, I wanted to include small businesses. Not just small businesses, but inclusive and diverse businesses. I did not want any large corporate names on my list. This list is truly unique, and there is something for everyone. I gave a taste of my favorites from each shop. Peak around and see what you can find. I'd love to hear your favorites in the comments. The following are in no particular order.

Support the T

From the about page: Support the T was founded on January 1, 2016, by founder Liam Vella, a non-binary & queer person based in metro Detroit, MI. After taking steps to complete his personal transition, Liam looked for a way to give back to the community; the idea for Support the T was born to fulfill that desire while also allowing him to exercise his passion for creating.

Over the past few years, Support the T has grown significantly; we've gotten to travel to many local pride events, been featured in a Teen Vogue article, and have gathered influencers who have been in movies and tv shows!

While our fundraising efforts have changed form throughout our time as a brand, we are always dedicated to giving back.

By buying a product from Support the T, you can ensure you're not only supporting a small, queer-owned, and handmade business but also helping us fundraise transition-related expenses for someone in need."

This hoodie is a need for me now.

Witchcraft Arts

I have been buying from this store often, and the quality and care are exceptional. Now that they have apparel, it's a whole new ball game! Take my money, please! I want the entire apparel line, but for now, I'm choosing this shirt.

Hidden Goods Apparel

I found this shop in passing. I love their ASL shirts, as well as their inclusiveness with neurodiversity and the trans community. They also have a lot of science t's, and that is another thing I love. This shirt had one of the most significant impacts on me.

Marvelous Minds Art

I love this shop because it is all about neurodiversity! The store is owned and operated by an awesome autistic person. Being neurodiverse myself, I thought I would go for the shirt. Instead, I chose these stickers because of how they made me feel and how the designer described them "This sticker expresses how we all think differently & that there isn't one right or wrong way to have a mind. I call it "Ways of Thinking."

Same Kind of Different

An important word from the shop owner, "Hi, I'm Kelsie. My goal is to support neurodiversity and represent autism pride in my designs! Being on the spectrum often means it can be hard to relate to others, so it's really important for autistic people to be represented and have a sense of camaraderie and belonging. When you find other people that understand our unique experience, it can be extremely validating - and even funny! I hope you find something that resonates with you. ๐Ÿ˜

As you likely already know, less than 50% of autistic people are employed (for a plethora of reasons that I am sure you're also all-too-familiar with). By supporting my work here, you're directly improving an autistic person's life by providing me employment. I'll literally be buying groceries, and dog food instead of a corporation hoarding money ๐Ÿ˜‰ , So thank you so, so much for your support and for being the same kind of different.

๐Ÿ’–Kelsie"

All of her stickers are great, but this one is my favorite.

Spoonie Sister Shop

This shop is specifically for the chronically ill. I adore the Artist's anatomy ornaments and stickers. It was hard to pick a favorite, but the anatomy ornaments will be on my list for next year!

Mvto

About the Artist: "Anja is a two-spirited Mvskoke Creek woman that hails from Florida. They are currently living on Salish land in Seattle, Washington. Their artwork focuses on Mvskoke imagery and language revitalization. Mvto!"

I love these, and a bit sad they sold out. There are plenty of other gorgeous options.

Kitten Carnage

This is my kind of shop, it is very unique, and on the goth side. I love that all the jewelry is hypoallergenic, nickel-free, and you can request different backings for earrings. I have my eye on these.

Naniki Taino

Naniki Taino is an indigenous artist who makes fantastic artwork and will take custom orders. I love this custom order.

Hikotea Arts

This Artist also indigenous Taino, and their art blew me away. My current favorite is this unique owl necklace.

Jewel of Bastet

This store has gorgeous and extraordinary jewelry you won't find anywhere else. I want both pieces, so I will post them both. Unfortunately, they are both out of stock, but there are plenty of beautiful pieces left.

Prados Beauty

Another indigenous brand. I get so excited when I find these. They are primarily a beauty brand. This is a brand I really wanted to feature.

This is from their front page: 'PROUDLY INDIGENOUS. UNAPOLOGETICALLY BEAUTIFUL.

We take pride in our culture, our community, our story, and our products. We design and craft high-quality cosmetics, makeup brushes, lashes, and so much more. Our products are not only beautiful but, more importantly, affordable. Every person should be able to look and feel their best while still being able to afford beautifully crafted items.

As part of our commitment to our community, we have established the Prados Promise. The Promise is more than just a giveback - it's a commitment to help Native communities and those in need throughout Turtle Island. In addition to donating a portion of our proceeds to Native communities in need, we also do charitable work in these communities and support other Native entrepreneurs on our website and social channels.

THE PRADOS PROMISE

When you shop Prados, you are also supporting our mission to support Indigenous communities and peoples throughout Turtle Island. Learn more about the Prados Promise and how you can help.

I am not a makeup kind of person, but this collection is gorgeous. Look at these highlights!

Black Sheep Creations M

Owned and designed by a disabled mother, I just adore this shop. It is elegant, sassy, quirky, and helps raise awareness. I love her immunocompromised/quarantine signs, but I would love something like this as a gift.

Kaylyns Kozys

This shop is adorable and well priced. I am obsessed with this little crocheted ghost!

Typical Black Tees

This store is Pro-black and anti-racist apparel and accessories. They have a fantastic collection. I gravitated towards this shirt.

Innabox

I love Innabox. I actually found them on Kickstarter. They make tons of adorable pins, cards, and clothing. I went back and forth on a couple of things because the Artist also makes chronic illness products, and I settled on two.

Petty Candle Co

I LOVE candles and anything to do with pettiness. So with a name like this how could I resist? This candle sold me.

list

About the Creator

Lilith Acacia

Hello! Thanks for stopping by! Most of my writings are either about things that interest me or things I have personally experienced. My bases will involve chronic illness, neurodiversity, mental illness, and tips and tricks I have learned.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lilith AcaciaWritten by Lilith Acacia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.