Lifehack logo

The Trouble With Store Products

Money Talks?

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

So you go to your local store, in search of something you need, and come across a product that seems to do it all within the space of a simple package.

There is a viable joy here. It simplifies the task that you were probably dreading on doing and gives you a new lease on what is possible. Maybe it won't take as long as you initially planned; maybe it won't take you as long as you thought it would. Of course, in my experience, rarely do things work out so elegantly with, quote on quote, basic products.

In this day and age, there is every possibility of information right at your fingertips through your cell phone. Is there anyone out there--outside of the more traditional generations and those who simply have no desire to chain themselves to such things--that doesn't have some amount of internet access? Even with that in mind, most major stores have public wifi for their customers, so there really is no excuse not to research anything before buying it.

So there is that cool item on the shelf. And though you probably should just settle for what you know, you take what may be the easier route and buy the compartmentalized choice.

STOP!

Here is a suggestion that may or may not deter you to different action in the future.

It is an idea that is supported in part by shared information that came to me, once upon a time. But mainly it is a theory based around my own ideas about things and what I perceive as "the way things actually work".

Again, I could be wrong in some ways, but hear me out if you please. It in part comes down to this:

Anything that is for purchase on a store shelf is there because it has fought to be there. Either by the influence of worthiness or, on a lesser scale, money. There is the first clue toward the caution that must be taken.

In the words of Chris Farley in Tommy Boy, after he is asked why someone would need to put a product guarantee on its box: "Because they know all they sold ya was a guaranteed piece of ****. That's all it is, isn't it? Hey, if you want me to take a dump in a box and mark it guaranteed, I will. I got spare time."

I think the guy's reaction was enough to drive this point home, haha.

Another danger of shopping comes down to frozen items. I wouldn't think this next fact would be far from common sense. Unfortunately, the fact remains that many processed foods are loaded with salt.

We enjoy frozen pizza because it is pre-made, and all we have to do is heat up the oven, pop it in, let it cool, and dig in!

We enjoy microwavable meals for the same reason, do we not?

It is easy to get to the pleasure of enjoying it.

I'm waaaaay too guilty of this, don't get me wrong. I'm still trying to tame that beast.

What also gets me are crunchy foods. And, of course, sugary crap.

Fruits and vegetables are awesome, but do I want to be using the bathroom in the middle of work? Hello, fiber, our dear friend. Why do you torment us so?

Well.........

I think I'll leave it at..THAT.

Haha.

So there are just a few pieces of advice, the first being the real breadwinner of this article.

Think about that and the others for a while, and if you would like to hear more from me on any of the covered/introduced topics, you just let me know.

\m/, B']

Peace!

--& Love, Incorporated"!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.