Lifehack logo

The Spring Clean

and how I do it

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago Updated 27 days ago 4 min read
Like
The Spring Clean
Photo by I Do Nothing But Love on Unsplash

Ah, so spring is officially upon us. The days are getting longer, the air is warming up, and the green is reappearing.

During this time, it’s common for all of us to want to do some cleaning. Why spring? Who knows? Maybe because it represents a new beginning, much like the new year.

I certainly feel happier when the sun shines high in the sky and the air smells fresh.

But where do we start? Well, this will depend on each person, with no one having the same methods, thought processes, or house type.

So I’ll tell you how I do it.

Letting Fresh Air in

Now, I don’t clean everything in one day, as that would overwhelm me, but the first thing I tend to do is open the windows beforehand to allow the warm air to freshen up my house.

I know it’s not cleaning or reorganizing, but it does put a little pep in my step, as does plugging myself into my music, which helps motivate me.

Going Through My Clothes

Photo by Burgess Milner on Unsplash

After that, I start sifting through my clothes, pulling out each type and throwing them onto my bed. I then grab each piece of clothing and decide if I will keep it.

My main rule for clothing is that if it hasn’t been worn for six months, I don’t plan on wearing it for six months, it no longer fits, or it simply isn’t my style anymore, I let it go.

But instead of throwing them away, unless I have no other choice, I either donate the clothes or give them to friends I think might like and can fit into them.

I mean, why deny someone else the ability to wear the clothes you don’t want anymore?

Other Items

I try doing the same with other items, but they often get recycled. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that happens with all of them. Plenty of these items also get donated.

My Bedroom

By Spacejoy on Unsplash

When that is complete, I begin to clean, which I actually like doing, whether or not you believe me.

I start with my room. It’s never easy, though, as my room is tiny and often has things thrown on my floor, either from reorganizing or laziness.

I dust, vacuum, and spray down the windows and mirrors, sometimes cleaning off the ceiling and walls with a Magic Eraser if I’m on a roll.

I also wash dirty clothes, my sheets, and the duvet cover, dust accumulating from other cleaning and placing objects on it, doing a quick cleaning in the laundry room.

The Bathroom

By Steven Ungermann on Unsplash

I move to the bathroom, another daunting task. I always start with the sink area, moving stuff around to clean the counters with natural cleaners. Since that’s what I prefer, I quickly move to the shower after that.

Then I move into the shower, knowing it will be the most difficult part of cleaning the bathroom.

I clean the toilet and floor last, keeping my cleaning systematic to certain spots as I go.

The Kitchen

By R ARCHITECTURE on Unsplash

Which transfers to the kitchen, which is easier, where I first clean off the counters, sink, and stove. I then do the cabinet doors, the top of the fridge, also with the Magic Eraser, and the dishwasher.

Sometimes, I scour the fridge in the middle, throwing away anything past its sell-by date or meals that have been in there for over a week, cleaning the shelves before putting everything in its proper place.

I finish the kitchen thoroughly by sweeping and mopping; floors are always the last thing I clean.

No need to dirty a freshly cleaned floor, after all.

The Living Room

By Lotus Design N Print on Unsplash

I then move to the living room, which is right next to the kitchen, usually my final area of cleaning, where I also vacuum, dust, and wipe down the windows.

It can involve moving furniture and making a mess, depending on how deeply I clean it. Luckily, I clean that area when no one’s home, so it doesn’t impede anyone.

When I’m Finished

But it’s worth the workout when I’m done, the house smelling cleaner and feeling less cluttered, sitting in my chair with a cup of coffee, proud of myself.

Now, I can’t say this is how you do it or feel, but I hope I put a positive spin on cleaning and maybe gave you some ideas.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.