Lifehack logo

The Corona Diaries #2

Recreation and leisure in quarantine

By Talia DevoraPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 18 min read
3

WHAT WERE SOME OF THE THINGS I DID TO KEEP MY MIND AND BODY OCCUPIED DURING QUARANTINE?

Since I knew that I was going to spend the majority of my free time indoors, I had to think of what I had to keep me busy while hibernating in my apartment. The night before quarantine began, my mom and I ordered a bunch of diamond painting kits from Amazon as we were enjoying a family meal at the diner. There are always things to keep myself busy in my apartment, but I needed more preparation to put me at ease.

Of course, there were household tasks to finish and online assignments to complete before the end of my first year of college. I was never bored and I coped well, but I knew there were going to be moments when I did not want to do very anything except vegetate on my bed or the sofa. I had moments when I would fee despondent, frantic, frustrated or just pure mental and physical exhaustion from all the stress I was experiencing. At least my apartment was filled with fun and productive activities to keep me busy. I always made sure that I completed my chores and schoolwork online, especially on yucky weather days.

I was not allowed to go to the store since my parents were paranoid of me entering a public place and not sanitizing my hands. I either got my food delivered or my mom/dad would bring me any essentials that I needed for the week. If I wanted to do any leisure shopping or any health food shopping, it was restricted to online shopping, which I did not mind. It was a bit irritating, but it was for my own benefit. Whenever I left my apartment, it was limited to nature walks or hanging out in the yard by myself or with my peers. It was okay for me, because I did not have to worry about waiting for a bus or having to Uber anywhere since I kind of needed a break from that type of obligation. I enjoyed not having a specific time to leave my apartment for an appointment or class which meant that I could just kick back and complete my tasks in a relaxed manner. I made the best of every day and I always thought of it as an opportunity to grow and become more spiritual.

Here are some of the activities that I did during lockdown:

NATURE WALKS

I often took myself to the nearest walking trail in my area. Going to the park is like going to my second home, so I wanted to pick a larger park that I could have more lengthy walks in. Due to the lack of sanitation, I was unable to sit on park benches and read a book under the trees, so I chose a park with a longer path than just a park that consisted of a playground or a bunch of park benches and picnic tables. Their was also a place where I would hang out in, which was a little rock garden next door. My apartment is situated in the Lebovic Community Campus, so it had a modern-looking, large Jewish community centre next door. The rock garden was located beside the Jewish community centre.

The Rock Garden

On days when I would go on longer walks, I would go to the local trail called Richvale Greenway. On the days when I would go for shorter walks, I went to visit a few local parks such as Pioneer Park, Tannery Park and Mill Race Park. There were always gorgeous parks to visit in my neighbourhood. I would avoid the park benches, but would always walk on the grass. I would even encourage myself to walk around the neighbourhood as I also loved looking at the different houses, buildings and landmarks. Even though I did not like being forced to stay in my area, I made the best of each day. I refused to let mandated quarantine stop me from enjoying nature. Public health even encouraged Canadians to get out for exercise, so I ended up doing myself good!

Me on one of my nature walks in April 2020

Later on in the pandemic, I would often leave the house in the evenings, since I often felt criticized for leaving the house. An old man who lived just next door to me was sending me countless letters telling me to stay home and not go out. He was 80 years old, so he was prone to getting the disease and becoming severely ill. A few of the janitorial staff in the building were very overprotective and would often ask me where I was going or would tell me why they didn't think going to the park was a smart idea. I also had the impression of them thinking that I was fooling around and not being independent enough to make my own decisions. Even though I knew they were coming from a good place, I felt very nervous since I heard from public health that it was safe for me to do so. I didn't need to hear anyone elses opinions, just because they were paranoid. Despite all of the criticism I felt, I continued to leave the building to go to for walks. I just avoided the stores, the eateries, crowded areas and did not bother doing any funny business in the community. The neighbourhood parks and the garden were my only two places that were permitted.

ARTS/CRAFTS

I had lots of art supplies and craft kits in my apartment. I was able to get back into practicing one of my old creative hobbies from when I when I was 13 years old. I started doing some latch hooking, which I have not done in years. Quarantine was an awesome opportunity for me to do some rug hooking, which is one of my all-time favourite hobbies. I would often watch Beyond Scared Straight or anything on Netflix while doing a bit of my latch hooking project. I did not like doing my craft projects without TV, because I always needed background noise. I needed the occasional break from my phone, so Netflix was the best alternative for me.

A mandala rug hooking project I began in May 2020

Since I also enjoy painting, quarantine has got me to put my artist attire on. I lost most of my drawing abilities, so I would painted randomly. Most of my paintings consisted of squiggles, shapes and tessellation pieces to create an intricate abstract painting. I did not have to focus that much. I just needed to liberately express my thoughts and my emotions. A few of my abstract paintings were based on my thoughts about the Coronavirus and how lockdown affected my mental and emotional wellbeing.

One of my abstract painting called Anger

Furthermore, quarantine gave me the chance to try new craft projects such as diamond painting. I have been longing to try diamond painting, but I could not afford to get any. My mom would purchase a bunch on Amazon and they were high quality kits. When I would be watching YouTube videos, listening to music, waiting for my laundry to be finished or FaceTiming with a friend, I would work on a bit of my diamond painting project at the art table. Diamond painting is one of the best, easiest and most therapeutic activities I have ever done. I totally recommend diamond painting.

Starfish in a Glass- one of my diamond painting projects

GAMES/PUZZLES

Puzzles and games are an all-time favourite activity of mine. I have been playing various puzzle games since I was in junior high school. Unfortunately, depression made me lose most of my interest in recreational activities like games and puzzles. Once the pandemic began, I was able to regain most of my fulfillment and discover some new and old puzzle games on my computer, iPhone and iPad. I have been playing puzzle games such as Puzzle Bobble, Kitty Scramble, Qbert and Letter Fridge. The iPad and iPhone have been lifesavers for me, because I could find and enjoy playing millions of free games that are just as entertaining as the paid games. Best of all, I get to sit on the sofa and play in the dark. I don't have to worry about putting on a lamp and grabbing my pencil if I wanted to play a pencil game at 10 pm.

Kitty Scramble
Puzzle Bobble

There were days when I got sick and tired of reading, watching Netflix, cooking, baking, doing crafts and being on YouTube. I wanted to do something intellectual but engaging, so doing puzzles were the ideal solution. On yucky weather days, video games would shift my mood and melt away the unnecessary negativity I was dealing with from time to time.

I have even started a jigsaw puzzle that I got from Indigo and ended up finishing it within two months of lockdown. It was a tremendous accomplishment that I am very proud of. I haven't successfully completed a jigsaw puzzle since the 10th Grade, so the pandemic definitely brought back some of my good old puzzling days at home.

READING

Before and during the pandemic, I always had some kind of reading material handy. I have a whole selection of novels, a handful of Russian language newspapers, a couple of German novels, a few travel and tourism encyclopedias, spiritual handbooks and educational brochures in my bedroom. I am not the type of girl that just reads novels. I am fascinated by anything that is related to foreign languages, multiculturalism, spirituality and the tourism industry. I have a miniature library in my bedroom and a larger one in the living room by the window.

One of the best books I have read during the pandemic

Reading is a great way to pass time, especially during long days at home. Of course, I would want to do other things as well. But reading was my go-to activity since it was considered "mental medicine" for me. On days when I wasn't really craving fiction, I would read non-fiction material in Russian, German and English. I would access articles, encyclopedias and blogs on the internet and on library apps such as OverDrive. I was always reading something, even if it wasn't my usual recreational read. I am just glad that I continued to have the motivation to keep learning and developing my skills, because I value personal development.

STUDYING FOREIGN LANGUAGES

Quarantine was a great time for me to review and continue studying the Russian language, in addition to mastering my German and Hebrew language skills. I also decided to learn random languages just for the fun of it. After listening to tons of Tatar music, Chechen music, watching video clips in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Kyrgyz, and Turkish, I decided to spontaneously learn these five languages on Pinterest, YouTube and DuoLingo. Chechen, Kyrgyz and Tatar are indeed challenging languages to find on DuoLingo or Pinterest, so I would watch YouTube tutorials. Languages such as Hebrew, German, Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Turkish were easy to find on DuoLingo and Pinterest, so those were my main resources for learning Hebrew and German.

Below is a Tatar language tutorial I found on YouTube. The YouTube channel is called I Love Languages! If you love learning foreign languages, I suggest subscribing to this channel.

There were days when I would be discouraged, but refused to relinquish my motivation to keep studying. What would be another solution for language learning? Playing games and doing various word puzzles in foreign languages. Thanks to my iPad, I was able to discover foreign language games such as SloWord, WordsUp and games like Sunny Words that also included games in Russian and German. SloWord and WordsUp were the games that I played the most, because I found them a bit easier than some of the other games I played. SloWord has vocabulary games in languages like Chechen, Tatar, Kalmyk, German and Russian. I still play SloWord, even if lockdown is finished. I downloaded it on my iPad and iPhone for free. I totally recommend downloading SloWord on your iPad or iPhone.

SloWord

WATCHING YOUTUBE VIDEOS

Watching vlogs on YouTube has always been the best things for me to do, even before quarantine began. There is always something comical, educational, interesting, comforting and uplifting to find and watch on YouTube. I love watching vlogs that are related to lifestyle, culture, personal stories, cooking, education, travel and comedy. One of my favourite YouTubers Venus Angelic is born the same year as me and she makes really good vlogs based on Japanese culture/lifestyle, cooking/baking, fashion, travel, leisure and has made a few blogs about language learning since she is multilingual. She currently lives in Japan and is a very smart, jovial, inspirational, feminine and sophisticated YouTuber, which are the reasons why she is one of my favourite YouTubers alongside Canadian YouTuber Taylor R. Taylor R also does lifestyle vlogging and has lived in Japan for quite a few years before moving to Hong Kong. She is also a model and has so much to offer to the YouTube communuity.

Enjoy watching a collaboration of Taylor R and Venus Angelic. Indeed, this is one of my favourite videos of them!

In terms of travel vlogging, I was able to discover a British vlogger and author Bald and Bankrupt. After randomly watching one of his vlogs called 10 Things I Hate About India, I started watching his Russia vlogs. After finding out that he is fluent in Russian and has similar personality traits to me, I became really fascinated by him. During the summer, I began binge watching his videos. Out of all of his travel vlogs, his Russia blogs are my favourite.

His linguistic skills and cultural awareness are not the only reasons why I consider Bald and Bankrupt my favourite travel vlogger. He has a wonderful personality and inspires me to continue following my passion for language learning and studying the Russian language/culture. He and I have so many things in common, and his brilliance just amazes me.

Enjoy one of Bald and Bankrupts Russia vlogs! This is Bald and Bankrut travelling to the Tuvan Republic to explore the culture and is one of my favourite Russia blogs.

Bald and Bankrupt is not just a comical and sarcastic middle-aged man who makes travel vlogs. He is also an amazing virtual tour guide, teacher and storyteller. With all of his knowledge about Russian culture, Indian culture and huge vocabulary, he can teach you so many new and interesting things. He also shares many of his personal experiences in his videos, so many of his viewers can get to know him. His friendliness and capacity to network with the locals is amazing and his fluency in both Hindi and Russian make it possible for him!

Enjoy watching one of his educational videos about studying the Russian language!

Check out one of his most entertaining and funniest India vlogs!

COOKING, BAKING AND WRITING RECIPES

Baking and cooking has always been one of my go-to activities, especially on crappy weather days. It is also a therapeutic activity to help me get through rough times, and is something I enjoy doing as a social activity with my friends. When the pandemic started, I started to increase my time in the kitchen and enjoyed discovering recipes on YouTube, Pinterest and from several health/nutrition/food bloggers on Instagram.

I enjoy baking and making all these nutritious desserts, but I also enjoy making savoury dishes that are vegan, vegetarian, keto and paleo. I love foods that are a part of the Caucasian, Indian, Russian, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Jewish and Middle Eastern cuisines, so I also enjoy making and eating things from around the world! Before the pandemic, I made this Chechen dish called Zhizhig Galnash which basically consists of noodles with smoked meat and broth. The noodles are homemade and the meat is typically boiled. The Chechens usually eat it with broth in lieu of pasta sauces, ketchup and mayonnaise.

Chechen Zhizhig Galnash with Smoked Red Meat

As the pandemic progressed in the spring, I was always on Instagram, YouTube and Pinterest to hunt for vegan, vegetarian, keto, paleo and international dishes/desserts to make in the comfort of my own kitchen. Some dishes like Chechen Chepalgash (buttered flatbread filled with cheese, pumpkin or meat) and Sushi are too complicated for me to create, so I have to constantly go on a search for more simplified versions. With that being said, I have managed to make delicious things like Konjac Noodles and Meatsauce, Keto Broccoli and Cheese Fritters, Crispy Tofu with Nutritional Yeast and Garlic, 4-Ingredient Sweet Potato Brownies, Pita Pizzas, Low Carb Waffles, Indian Style Shrimp and Potato Fritters, Brownie Truffles, Banana NiceCream and many more. I will continue my quest for amazing recipes, even when the pandemic is over. I value the importance of cooking and baking.

Chechen Chepalgash with Cottage Cheese

In addition to cooking, I have started to write recipes to post on Instagram, Facebook and Vocal. I love writing and wanted to practice the procedural writing skills that I have learned in my junior high/high school years. I also wanted to do something innovative, so I found recipe writing a magnificant way to be creative. You don't have to be a chef or a baker to be an amazing cook, baker or recipe writer! All you need to have is the passion for culinary arts and creativity!

EXERCISING AT HOME

For some reason, I have always found exercising at home boring, except for dancing and doing basic aerobic exercises. Since I could not attend the fitness centre next door to my condo, I had to work my way around the situation. On disgusting weather days, I couldn't just bundle up and go for a walk because it ws unsafe to do so. I feel better when I am regularly moving around and not sitting for long periods of time at home. I get tired of the same exercises and can feel discouraged occasionally. Even though I love dancing, I can easily lose interest when I can't find a good song to boogie-woogie to. So how did I solve my problems?!

It was simple but challenging at first......

I would surf the internet to research exercise videos, so I can practice them in my living room. It was a struggle to find the right workouts for me since I am not really into Zumba or any of those Latina dance workouts that everyone is enjoying nowadays. I would get bored of aerobics from time to time and I don't need to watch a video of people doing multiple exercises that I already know how to do. I typically love workouts that include any form of electronic music and disco hits from multiple generations such as the 90's. I also embraced different dance moves from scenes in different movies such as Napoleon Dynamite and would apply those moves in my living room.

During the summer, I started finding Chinese dance workout videos and the Walk At Home series with Leslie Sandone. Since I can watch YouTube from my TV, I was able to participate in the Leslie Sandone Walk At Home video series. I would watch the Chinese dance workout videos from my iPad and just move to the beat. Leslie Sandones videos include some amazing electronic hits that I don't know of just yet, so I really love her videos. I am also an avid walker, so I needed to find a way to enjoy walking in the comforts of my own apartment. Once I found Leslie Sandones videos, I now enjoy walking at home. I can even do some more of her workouts during the winter and on bad weather days!

Here is one of her videos that I loved doing yesterday! For all avid walkers and fitness fanatics, I suggest subscribing to her channel and checking out her videos!

Here is one of the Chinese dance workouts that I randomly found on YouTube. This one is one of my favourites!

TODAYS TAKEAWAYS:

1. Amusement doesn't mean having a bunch of friends over and attending a huge house party. Having fun doesn't have to be doing the biggest thing like going to an amusement park or having a cake fight in your backyard. It can mean, doing some of your favourite hobbies that you haven't been able to do for a long time.

2. Health is your number one priority. Being locked up at home is no excuse to not move around and stay fit. If you're doing chores, take breaks to exercise. If you're discouraged, find something that you love to do and stick to the exercises that you love the most.

3. You don't always have to pay for a gym membership to keep fit or active. Simple things such as YouTube workouts also do the trick! It will save you money and time, especially during busy weeks.

4. Social media is a great way to get fun activity ideas, but can also become addictive. Use social media wisely and try to take breaks from it to do other things that are more productive and meaningful like baking, reading or playing sports.

5. Just because the pandemic limited our opportunities to participate in recreational activities, that does not mean that the world has ended. It does not mean that we are unable to have fun with our friends, families or pets. There is always a way to work around things, especially in times like these.

6. You don't have to pay for an expensive trip to travel around the world. The internet can provide you with so many virtual travel opportunities that are all free of cost, like YouTube.

7. Quarantine does not stop you from learning new things. The more you learn, the better you will be long-term. Quarantine is a perfect time to learn new things. Anything can be accessed on the internet or with library apps such as OverDrive. Pick something that you are passionate about and never stop learning, even when the pandemic is over.

Have a great rest of the week and don't forget to like, send a tip and follow me on Instagram! Share this with your friends and family. My Instagram page is naturalbibliophile22. Cheerio to all of my friends on Vocal!

list
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Celia in Underland4 months ago

    Enjoyed this immensely -Love how you embraced new goals and language learning is always a wonderful opportunity to venture out when you can'ras much! Great piece!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Funny how we had similar pastimes! I took long walks on the beach, mastered knitting, and majorly upped my cooking skills, too. Seems like you learned an impressive amount too - I just started duolingo recently to learn Spanish. Overall, very glad we left quarantine behind!

  • I had not seen this but it's going to be interesting seeing people's early stories. Excellent work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.