Lifehack logo

The 15 minutes that changed everything.

My new approach to tackling even the worst messes.

By Brianna Koucos MidgleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

It was Sunday afternoon when I looked around my house and wondered first, how it got so messy and second, how I would ever clean it up. My two-year-old was at her aunt’s house and my very hard-working tax accountant husband was taking a much-needed nap. Our mess was not a result of anything but a lack of time, energy and strategy. I personally blamed myself thinking I am a terrible mother, wife and manager of our home. That is my job, I am parent who stays home with a toddler and manages the home. I should be good at this. I should have more control over this. I should, I should I should. That moment, instead of doing the dishes, I sat and cried. Then, I wished for a fairy godmother or godfather to wave their magic wand and save me from the mess.

After a couple of days of reading cleaning books, and listening to some podcasts (still waiting for the magic) I decided to do one task. I remembered one of the books I read mentioned starting out with just 15 minutes. So, for this task, I would pick something and do it for 15 minutes. Honestly, for the first time since that Sunday, I felt like I could that. It seemed realistic to do anything for 15 minutes. So, I did. What blew me away was that I got a lot done in that time. It doesn't sound like a lot, but it's enough time to make progress. I started to see the magic (there it was!) in the 15-minute suggestion because that progress gives you not only a place to start, but some momentum to build on. The momentum led to results which, in this case, was a clean sink. The results lead to encouragement and motivation for another 15 minutes of work. That day I did three segments of 15 minutes. The next day I only did two. By the middle of the week, I had a day when I did four sessions of 15 minutes spread throughout the day.

Historically, I didn't think I had time to keep the house neat when I am chasing my toddler, trying to make her healthy meals and working to keep myself healthy and strong. My perception of lack of time completely changed in those 15 minutes. I know I spend at least that amount of time worrying about how to get it all done. So, instead of worrying I am spending that time doing and it's made all the difference.

There is still a lot to learn and I will stumble along the way but I feel like I have an anchor. When it feels overwhelming and I don't know where to start, I go to my phone and set the timer. No time to think, or worry, just identify an area where I can pick things up, put things away or wash something and just keep moving until the timer goes off.

For those who may need more structure within the 15 minutes, here are a couple of strategies to try:

1. Incorporate the 15 minutes into your plan/schedule for the week. For example, I now have a 15-minute block plugged in right before bed to fill the dishwasher and wipe down the counters.

2. In the morning I take 15 minutes to empty the dishwasher. It rarely takes 15 minutes, but it's nice to know I have the time if I am moving at an early morning pace.

3. My toddler joins in on the fun. Before her nap, we set the timer, sing our cleaning song and we pick up together. I know this isn't always possible with younger children, but partners, older children, family members can all participate. If your newborn or younger child can't yet help, sing or turn on the music and set them in a safe place with a book or toy and enjoy the time together. It can be a fun family activity. Just don't forget the music!

Keeping clean and organized isn't easy. I have worked my whole life to find a system, only to find myself knee deep in a mess and wondering why I can't just maintain the order. Right now, I am looking around at our weekend mess that occurs because everyone is home and enjoying some time together. Instead of allowing the mess to overshadow the joy and fun we’ve had together, I now look at it and say, well that might take about 15 minutes. There is relief there and happiness because I am losing myself in the worry and stress that our fun has created. Instead, I am present, enjoy what we are doing and know that as a group we can continue the fun and clean up together. Or, while they are doing something else which is necessary for the success of our family, I can step aside for 15 minutes and straighten up.

So, as I finish this, I know I am off to set the timer, turn on some music and do whatever I can to clean up for the next 15 minutes. Then, I might just put up my feet and enjoy the order for as long as it lasts.

"Real Life Organizing" by Casandra Aarssen, is the book referenced above. It has very helpful tips and suggestions. Worth the read!

house
3

About the Creator

Brianna Koucos Midgley

Career Development has been my life for over 15 years. I love writing about current topics as people navigate their careers. Also, I have recently self-published a Children's series, Yiayia's Kitchen. My writing touches on career and life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.