Lifehack logo

Springing Ahead Despite Disabilities

Life Hacks and Relativity

By Sadie ColucciPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

As the season commences to change into the glorious spring weather, I find my momentum starting to speed up wanting to immerse myself into the beauty outside.

Due to an unfortunate accident I have been immobile for over a month now. For someone so used to constantly being on the move, it has been quite a difficult transition to get back to the old energetic me. As a result of being sedentary, I unfortunately gained back all the weight I lost last year. Although the accident, as well as the pandemic, have hindered my progress and altered my life; I have created huge plans to get back on track and not let these setbacks discourage me.

From as long as I can remember, I have always been a fighter. Having had 9 surgeries and recovering from an accident hasn’t stopped my zest for life. In fact, it has only made me appreciate life more since I know what it’s like to have to constantly start over and persevere even with the odds stacked against me. Many people don’t understand the positivity I possess due to all my surgeries but I look at my tragedies as stepping stones to be a stronger and better person.

I start physical therapy to walk again next week, so that’s my first goal for the change of the new season. Once I’m physically healthy, I plan to begin working out again and following the keto lifestyle that I had done with great success last year. Those two goals will get my physical being back into tip top shape. I plan to take thirty minutes out of my busy schedule each day to meditate and relax outside on my comfortable rocking chair on my deck while taking in the beautiful fresh air and listening to the effervescent birds chirp to help improve my mental state. Sometimes people solely focus on the physical outer parts of the body and forget that mental health is equally important.

I base the quality of my life on my efforts and improvements regardless of how small they may be. Having ocd makes it difficult to accept setbacks of any kind; however with therapy I have learned that a setback is exactly what it is: a setback. It doesn’t mean I failed or diminished my progress. So, I plan on continuing therapy to make this coming season an even smoother and brighter one.

A new season is another chance to become an even better and improved version of myself. We as people are forever constantly changing and it’s our decision as to how we want to make that change. I am the “always see the glass half full” kind of girl. I have always possessed positivity and strength deep within my soul from as far back as I can remember. Maybe my strength really started to peak back when I was hit by a car at the age of 15 in the crosswalk of my high school. The physical and mental willpower it took to heal from that incident is inexplicable. I was so grateful to be alive, that from that day forward I have never let any surgery or setback halt my dreams or alter my perspective on life. I wake up every day just elated to be alive, never taking any second for granted.

So as my focus for the change in seasons may focus primarily on improving the quality of my physical and mental health, I am still going to filter in miscellaneous changes in other areas of life as well; just on a lesser level. I plan on reading and writing at night to stimulate my brain. There’s nothing more exhilarating than a stimulated brain raring to go wherever you want to take it. Having the

synapses fire allow me to gain energy and exertion, thus giving me the clarity to be more successful and resourceful in achieving daily tasks. There’s nothing better than a clear and rested mind as a hack and realm to lead to achieving more lucrative and successful organizational tasks and daily goals. Sometimes it’s the subtle tweaks we make rather than the elaborate extreme changes that make the most impact on efficiency and attainability of achievement and improvement. Fancy tips and hacks are always great to entertain but sometimes for people like me with ocd; it’s the minor more stable hacks and changes that allow for growth and change. Both types of life hacks and techniques are equally comparable in merit; it’s just what works best for each individual.

As I look at all the possibilities to come as I prepare to spring forward, I am excited to see what changes will transpire for me and my future. I’m exhilarated for the unknown and embrace what’s to come in the next few months. I’m going to be springing forward full speed ahead. Let’s go.

how to
1

About the Creator

Sadie Colucci

I’m 41 years old. I graduated with a degree in psychology and work with children and adults on the autism spectrum. I love reading, writing, poetry, singing, dance and learning.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.