Lifehack logo

Slow & Easy Skanking

My thoughts on sudden, abrupt change

By Ariel Celeste PirelaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mission is bigger than the bullshit. My ancestors tell me plain and clear, “Ariel, as long as you good… we good.” Me, my safety and wellbeing come first and foremost. I release, I am free, my time belongs to the goddess in me.

I am free, but now discipline matters more than ever. Keeping a clear mind is key to my survival. I write more now to Bryson Tiller because “H-Town got me feeling so throwed.”

Existing in this world got me feeling so throwed.

We are under constant surveillance by forces we can feel but not see. I promise you, they’re really not real. Really?

I’ve opted out of the broken hearted babe mold. Thank you God for protecting me.

Isn’t it fascinating that Beyonce only has Jay-Z to be broken-hearted over? Every song on my playlist touches a different past broken hearted string. Leaving or staying is every person’s decision to make on their own-- especially now that we’re grown.

So, I move in cloak & dagger. It’s a razor under my tongue when I smile. Can you believe that? I smile so much, you might have to wonder.

I can’t lean too far in any direction. Because it makes catching my footing harder when the rug gets snatched. Remember, the ghost photographer never stops snapping.

So, I remind myself-- the mission is bigger than the bullshit.

Pamela Anderson said it takes bravery, insane bravery to be in love.

After every broken heart, we have two choices: to close up and be bitter or persevere and love again.

I guess this applies to every kind of love:

Career Love

Romantic Love

Friendship Love

Family Love

Creative Love

Every kind of love comes with a return label, return to sender prepaid packaging.

As long as you’re happy, I’m happy.

Even if one day, you're not happy--I still will be happy. Why?

Because I stayed on mission.

I had to become Beyonce to the bullshit. Because if not, it will take you out. Down and in the ground.

I’ve already seen what the edge contains. You gotta really be ready to throw your life away. I never met a person who lived to tell me they really meant to do it. Because I don’t know the space beyond the edge, I’ll stay my Black ass right here until my number gets called.

I’d rather keep it cute and live to see tomorrow. See you on the troll road when I pass you up the highway. I should probably practice more kindness when shining, but I've been dimmed long enough.

I twisted the words of the Caribbean queen Sister Nancy slightly. I can’t be nice--I’m Haitian.

Let’s keep going on this note for the sake of conversation. Shall we? While I used to strive to check boxes off in strides-- things at home were always on a slip and slide.

I would check boxes but not check in with myself. Not foreal anyway. I’d always be in the mirror but the information I took in was surface level. I never went a layer deeper and made eye contact with my reflection. Voyeurism as they call it, perhaps.

I saw myself for so long through the lens of what other people “must see me as.” I would let the narratives about me shape the way I showed up in the world. A manifestation of everyone’s dream is the secret to becoming a dream girl.

I was always rushing and running to go nowhere fast. I appreciate Bob Marley for giving me a page out of his book. Now, I know for sure that I gotsta take it easy, Skanking.

vintagepop culturehow tohealth
Like

About the Creator

Ariel Celeste Pirela

Ariel Celeste Pirela is committed to maximizing potential for others & documenting her own growth along the way. She leads a millennial motivation movement by instilling confidence, creativity and conviction with her affirmation products.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.