Lifehack logo

SIX WAYS TO DRINK MORE WATER

It's Like Drinking Water

By Flora ChandlerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

After doing some study, it became clear that nobody really knows where the proverb "you need to drink 8 cups of water per day" originated. Others contend that physicians began recommending that amount because it was a good goal but that there was no scientific evidence to support it at the time. Some attribute its origins to a study conducted in the 1980s.

Whatever the case, the benefit of water to your body and intellect is undeniable. It is common knowledge that water can rid your body of harmful chemicals through both your intestines and the urinary system. Without the correct amount of water intake, our bodies degrade within days. However, some individuals can survive without food for a week or two. That only serves to highlight how vital water is to our systems.

Here are 6 short tips for drinking more water.

1. Always keep drinks on hand.

I prefer to purchase the 12-ounce water jugs and store them in the refrigerator. I bring a container with me whenever I go to the gym. I take a bottle as I head out the door to go to work. I grab a bottle before a journey that will last at least 30 minutes. I take a bottle with me when I attend a movie.

I always hold the bottle with the lid off in my hand while viewing TV or a movie. I drink from the bottle again & again till it is far empty. Making water accessible is a great method to ensure that you consume more of it.

2. Keep it cool.

I don't think many individuals enjoy drinking water that is at room temperature, and I certainly don't. You will consume more water if you keep it cold. I always make sure there is ice in my freezer because it makes it so simple to have a cold drink of water whenever I want.

3. Choose water when dining out.

I always drink water with some lemon whenever I dine out. The water is always pleasant, cold, and refreshing, and the lemon gives the flavor a little zest. After a brief while, you won't be craving your old drink of choice as much and you'll start to enjoy the taste—or lack thereof—that water offers.

Your body will appreciate you for trying water!

4. Set reminders

Using an app or the alarm on your smartphone or smartwatch, you can also make reminders to consume more water.

Try setting a reminder, for instance, to sip on a little water every 30 minutes or to finish your present glass of water and refill it every hour.

These reminders can help you increase your water intake, especially if you struggle with being forgetful or too busy to drink.

5. Replace other drinks with water

Replace other beverages, like soda and sports drinks, with water to increase your water consumption, improve your health, and consume fewer calories.

These beverages frequently contain a lot of additional sugars, which can be very bad for your health.

Reduce your consumption of added sugar to less than 5% of your daily calorie intake for optimum health. Just one 8-ounce (240 ml) cup of soda per day can exceed this limit.

Obesity and other diseases like type 2 diabetes and heart disease have been related to diets high in added sugars.

Additionally, switching to water from these sugary beverages is a simple and affordable method to reduce your calorie intake, which may aid in weight loss.

6. Drink one glass of water when you wake up and before bed

An easy method to boost your water intake is to simply drink one glass when you wake up and another before you go to bed.

In the morning, a glass of cold water may help you wake up and improve your alertness.

Additionally, consuming water before going to sleep can prevent you from waking up with a dry mouth and bad taste.

foodhealth
1

About the Creator

Flora Chandler

Thank for reading my articles. Its my hobby sharing good & valuable details about healthy life and how to be happy..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.