Lifehack logo

Saving Money

A few reasons why I save money

By Terri AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

So yesterday I was out for lunch with one of my work friends and as we were sitting there enjoying our Pizza Hut I received a phone call. It was from my car garage where I purchased my first car a few years back. I still remember the panic attack I had driving home from said garage with my ex boyfriend in the car, I don’t want to talk about it…

Well basically they were telling me that the price for used cars, my make and model specifically, was going up in price and that makes it the perfect time to trade in my car and upgrade without needing to spend much more a month. However, I’ve spoken to this about my two car enthusiast best friends (you know who you are, scary people) and I’ve mentioned that the only car I would upgrade to is a Honda Civic, and they are hella expensive.

Like if you want to hurt your feelings… look up how expensive your dream car is per month. Actually, that’s cruel, don’t do that to yourself.

But anyway, I got scared and I agreed to go into the garage this Friday to have a look at my options. I did tell the guy that I want a Honda Civic and he did laugh at me and stutter before replying simply “we can definitely have a look for some for you.”

That didn’t fill me up with much hope Mark, I don’t even want to upgrade right now I just got scared!

I do have savings but the original plan for my savings was to pay off my current car and have some left over for a rainy day.

But mostly I save up money just so that I can feel secure but it makes me violently sick to spend it. Moving into my own house was the worst moment of my life because my £5000+ savings went down below a grand.

However I am always saving up money because I have crippling anxiety that causes me to be constantly worried about not having any. So I’m going to share a couple of ways and methods that I use to save up money.

First would be that every month I will immediately transfer a select amount of money from my monthly wage into my savings accounts, the main savings account. Not to sound over the top or anything but I actually have four savings accounts.

One of my savings accounts is the one where I have the largest portion of my savings, currently sitting at £1300+ (try not to get jealous, I know I’m absolutely loaded). I have another one which has money in it for my rabbits in case they decide to injure themselves and need to go to the vet for any reason.

I also have two savings accounts where I am saving money for the future when I can finally begin the publishing process on a book. The earlier you start saving for the publishing process the better.

But yeah So monthly I put savings into all of these accounts and at the end of the month I split up my remaining money and also pop that in my savings accounts.

Secondly I pay in cash by taking £50 out of my account and using it to last the entire week. This has many benefits including that I will have more money left in my account by the end of the month by ensuring that I don’t overspend. That takes me into the third way that I save money.

I also put my extra change and left over notes into a money tin which I open up and count once the tin is full. I get a horrible pleasure from counting my money and a horrible panic needing to take my money into the bank. No idea why I’ve been taking money bags to the bank for my entire life. My mother always taught me that it's smart to save money which is why I’ve always done it.

No matter how you save money it's important that you do it for any reason. Even if you have nothing to buy, having money saved in the background is always good. There is so many reasons to save money so if you have a goal I’d recommend that you set yourself a money target, a date which you want to have the target hit by and how much you need to save to reach your target on time.

Good luck!

list
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.