Lifehack logo

Adult Things I Hated as a Child

But Love as an Adult

By Terri AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12

There are many things that I absolutely despise about being an adult. I hate responsibility, I HATE paying bills and for the majority of the time I hate having to work.

There are days where I so badly want to go back to being a child again but there are some positives to being a full blown adult.

I feel like talking about these things today.

Firstly I love the privilege of adult money. I get to spend recklessly (to a certain point at least) my hard earned money on whatever I want. It was like two weeks till payday this one month and while checking my online banking app I decided, spontaneously, “I have a spare £210 therefore I can buy myself a lightsaber.” So I did exactly that.

I randomly bought myself a custom built lightsaber which looks about as close to the real thing as you can get. As soon as I get a floating shelf in my living you bet your ass I will be displaying that lightsaber LOUD AND PROUD on my wall.

I can already hear the first thing that comes out of my guests mouths.

“What’s that?”

“Oh you know. My very expensive and custom built lightsaber. Try not to get too jealous.”

That brings me to my second thing. I have the creative freedom to decorate and paint my house however I want. An example of this other than the desire to hang my lightsaber on the wall would be that my kitchen walls are painted bright, baby pink. That’s right.

When I was sitting down last year deciding how I wanted to paint my flat before I even got the flat might I add. I had everything planned out and ready, just had to buy the paint. I decided that I wanted my kitchen to be mostly white with details in baby blue and baby pink.

My cupboards are painted white and my flooring in a light coloured wood texture lino. My washer dryer, fridge and cooker are all white along with my kettle, toaster and the microwave that I will be getting soon are also white. The holders that contain my sugar, teabags and coffee are glass with rose gold tops, they are so cute. My cups, cutlery and plates are all white marble however everyone that comes into my house has their own special mug because I have a terrible mug collecting problem (adult money problems).

I did over spend on my pots, pans and baking trays though because I wanted pink matching ones.

I don’t regret overspending on my kitchen as it is my favourite place in my whole house. I take immense pride and joy in my kitchen. Once again leading me beautifully into my next point and arguably my favourite part about my adulthood.

I love cleaning.

When I was a kid and even an adult still living at my home with my mother and brother I hated cleaning up so much. I was always blamed for the mess even though it wasn’t me causing the mess. When I did tidy up it was always messy again within an hour so it never felt like there was a point tidying up a mess that I never made.

Now that I have my own place though I can’t stop myself from cleaning. I have cleaned every single day since I officially moved into this place. My new favourite hobby is hoovering and it’s to the point that whenever I go over to my best friend’s house I will walk around her house hoovering the floor.

Where was this attitude when I was younger? I wish I’d always been this much of a clean freak because it feels good having a clean environment. I think having a very nice £300 (adult money, no self control) Dyson hoover was the best decision I’ve ever made.

That’s only a few of the things that I love about being an adult, I could go on. I could also probably write a book long note on the things that I hate about being an adult.

house
12

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    I find myself doing the same thing... especially the kitchen. I hate cooking in a dirty kitchen. Too many extra things to look at when I want to concentrate on the only things needed to prepare whatever it is I want to eat...And don't get me started on the stack of mail I should at least open...lol. Adulting is fun! I'm glad this was shared.

  • This was great. I had no idea what hoovering is lol took me a sec to figure it out

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Love my Dyson too!!! Loving your story so authentic and true!!!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💚Love this. Very fun article

  • This was a fun read!!! I really enjoyed it... I Subscribed to you!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.