Lifehack logo

Review of The Robotic Vacuum Roaming Around Your Home and What to Expect

My life is incomplete without it

By Debbie CentenoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Jens Mahnke from Pexels

My Reason to Purchase a Robotic Vacuum

House cleaning is a tedious chore that many dislike. I know I don't. So, to make my life a little easier, I purchased one of those robotic vacuums. Taking one task off my list gives me more time to dedicate to other stuff I enjoy - like writing. Plus, our floors are always clean. Having nice clean floors entices me to walk around barefoot and sit on the floor more often. But let's get down to why I'm really writing this article.

These gadgets have intrigued me since they made their appearance. It wasn't until my daughter got hers and told me how amazing it was, that I decided I'd like to try it. After researching the product, reading reviews, and considering my daughter's experience with hers, I went for the same brand she was using. There are a few of these robotic vacuums out there. It wasn't the cheapest one, but it wasn't the most expensive either. It has its pros and cons like everything. But the cons are not bad enough for me to stop using it. They are bearable and sometimes darn funny.

Pros

Let me start with the pros:

It has an app where you can program and control it. You can set the days and times you want it to operate and it will alert you if it's low on battery, stuck somewhere, or any other error it may encounter.

You can give it a name. We named it Crazy Lady, I'll tell you why in a bit.

Your floors are always clean. You can set it to vacuum daily as we did. Well, almost every day. We decided Crazy Lady deserved a day off - Saturdays, to be exact.

It roams around your house but does not intrude on your other chores. It's nice to continue other chores and not worry about your floors.

There are no cables dangling around, therefore no tripping.

When it's done, it docks itself without us instructing it too. It takes approximately 1.5 to 2 hours to complete its round.

Photo of Crazy Lady stuck under the sofa by Debbie

Cons

Now here's where it gets annoying:

It bangs against the dining room chairs so hard that it sounds like an angry woman throwing things around - hence the name Crazy Lady. I know because I've done that before. 😊

It insists on vacuuming under the sofas and gets stuck every single time. I thought it had intelligent programming and afterward would know not to go under the sofa. But that's not the case.

It does not understand boundaries. Since it's programmed to vacuum almost every day, some of our house decorations have gone from the coffee table to the floor to block the places where we don't want Crazy Lady vacuuming. One day I spent close to 10 minutes looking for the darn thing because it got stuck and I didn't realize it until I saw that it had not docked. It was under the sofa. Therefore, we use the coffee table décor vases to block the areas Crazy Lady might access.

Sometimes I think it has a mind of its own. I gave our dog, Chewy, a treat and he walked to a certain spot, opposite Crazy Lady (he doesn't like her) to eat it. Crazy Lady turned around and went towards Chewy. Chewy growled at Crazy Lady, picked up his treat, and went to the opposite side. Guess what? Crazy Lady turned around towards Chewy. I had to intervene and place my foot in Crazy Lady's way, forcing her to change her destination.

Sometimes it circles the same areas repeatedly like, "Ooh, I missed a spot."

If it gets a hold of a paper clip, it will make a screechy sound that will drive you insane.

When it goes behind a door, it pushes it sometimes to where it locks itself in that room or closet. Just the other day, it apparently came into the bathroom while I was showering and into the walk-in closet. I didn't realize it. I heard the light hovering noise it makes but thought it was in my bedroom. However, through my peripheral vision, I saw the walk-in closet door move twice but paid no attention to it. However, I thought, "what the heck?" and ignored it. The third time the door moved, I was already thinking there were ghosts in my house. So I ventured to my closet, and there was Crazy Lady stuck in a corner between my yoga ball and the wall. Every time Crazy Lady bumped against the ball, the ball banged on the door. Almost gave me a heart attack, but I was thankful there were no ghosts!

Photo of new living room arrangement to block Crazy Lady's access by Debbie

Conclusion reached

Now that I look at the pros and cons, I realize there are more negative aspects to it than positive. But, as I said before, they are not so bad to convince me to ditch it and do the floors myself. As long as it does a good job, I'll tolerate its quirks. Actually, I enjoy analyzing the robotic apparatus. Therefore, based on my great reviews, I recommend you get one if you don't have it already. And, if you do, what stories can you share with us?

product review
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.