Lifehack logo

The Importance of Testing a Product Before Writing a Review

Don't Trust all Reviews

By Debbie CentenoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Pixabay

My Shopping Preference

I don’t enjoy shopping at local stores. If I do, I make sure to know exactly what I want and make it a point to get directly to the item, pay, and leave. Therefore most, if not all, my shopping is done online. You know, that famous website that sells everything and anything and almost everyone has bought from.

Reviews Are Important to Me

I rely a lot on the reviews given to products by consumers. So it is important to me they have good ones. However, the new technique vendors are using to get you to write positive reviews for certain products is deceiving. And after my latest experience, I don’t know who and what to trust anymore.

My Nightmare of Experience

In May, I noticed that my hair was thinning and falling out more than usual. I opted to purchase a shampoo and conditioner to prevent hair thinning. It had great reviews–over 200 of them, so I went with it. It’s a little pricey at $24.99 a bottle each, but I purchased it anyway.

When I received the product, it had a sticker on it with instructions on how to get it for free! Woo-hoo, who doesn’t like free stuff, right? So, I jumped at the opportunity to get a free bottle of shampoo and hair conditioner. The instructions were simple. Go to the website listed on the sticker, enter your name, address, email, and order number, write a positive review, take a snapshot of your review, and submit it to the company. So, I fell for it and followed their instructions after about a week of using the product.

Product Didn’t Seem All Bad

The product smells amazing. I love the aroma of lavender. During the first week, I didn’t see much of a difference other than it left my hair a bit stringy–not soft like other shampoos. Also, the conditioner seems more like a hand cream than a conditioner. But I thought I’d give it a chance. It was only a week. Maybe I should give it more time.

Failed Test — I Lost A Lot More

A month went by and I saw no progress. After I washed my hair and began untangling it, I noticed more hair on the bathroom counter than before. I also noticed more hair in the shower too. I thought, maybe my thyroid is acting up. So, I went to see my doctor, which had me get lab work done. The results came back normal, so it’s not my thyroid. I felt perfectly fine and I’ve been eating very healthy, so what could it be? The only thing I’ve been doing differently is using the new shampoo and hair conditioner. So, I took a break from it.

I had some hair loss, but it wasn’t as severe as when I was using the special shampoo for hair thinning. But I still have the shampoo and conditioner that I bought, and it was pricey, plus the free ones for writing a positive review, so I gave it another try. I don’t feel it is preventing my hair from falling out. If anything, it made the problem worse. So now I’m in search of something that will really help.

I Failed to Recognize My Greedy Moment

My point is, I relied on those reviews. I’m sure, just as I fell for it, many may have too. But it won’t happen again. I’ve seen the same offer on other products I’ve bought. Now, I hold on to the special offer sticker and if the product is worthy of an excellent review, then I’ll go for it. If I didn’t like the product or didn’t feel it worked, I have forgone the offer. And if the “limited time” to submit the review passed, oh well. I will no longer follow a greedy pattern for free stuff.

I’m Feel Ashamed

I apologize to all for writing a positive review of a product that doesn’t deserve it because many of us rely on these reviews to make our purchases. It’s unfortunate that we deceive others just to receive a free product. Shame on me and others!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.