Lifehack logo

My First Apartment-Process and what I wish I knew

What I wish I knew before renting

By Kaylie NelsonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

Looking for apartments can be very exciting but it is also stressful. Fortunately now there are tons of sites with information on what to check when you're walking units, what questions to ask, amenities to look for (or which ones are important to you), etc. Though it's exciting to look around, it's very to get lost in the process and jump the gun to apply to the first one that you see.

Here is how my apartment hunting experience went as well as what I wish I knew then what I know now. Hopefully this information helps when it comes to looking for your new home, whether it's your first time or not.

Overall the general experience of looking around was stressful but also fun. I liked looking at all of the different options, but there were definitely some things I shoud've checked on apartment websites that I did not check for before taking the tour. There are also some things during tours that I should've looked for but never bothered checking because I thought they weren't that important at the time.

Here are 4 things I wish I knew before before, during and after looking at apartments.

1. Move-in Specials

Move-in specials are great for when you're applying to apartments! They're always something you should look into just to see the details on what the special might be and/or how much gets taken off when you apply. Little did I know at the time that the specials don't always have to only refelct on the first month! Always ask if you are able to prorate the special along the lease term as this can bring down the monthly cost of rent (even if it's just by a few dollars). Don't be afraid to ask about more details for the specials and how they work.

2. Lease-Signing and Copies

I was very excited to sign my lease! It was my first apartment and I couldn't wait to sign my name on the dotted line and sign the date so I could get my things and FINALLY have a place to call my own. My own space, I can do whatever I want and nobody can tell me otherwise! However what I didn't know and should've checked at the time was how I can obtain a copy of my lease. I never had a physical copy of it as they told me it would be available online through the resident portal where I would also be able to file maintenance, ask questions and pay my rent.

At the time I didn't care and i tmade sense; but the longer I stayed the more questions I had about the apartment or things I could do within it and I didn't have the answers to any of my questions. Later I found out that usually management has to give you a physical copy for legal reasons. This made me nervous and felt like something was being hidden from me which overall I was little sketched out about the complex now. Always ask for a physical copy of the lease just in case any questions come up. It's also good to have it just in case and for general peace of mind.

Make sure you read everything in full and ask questions as needed.

3. Check and Document EVERYTHING

When you walk around the apartment that you're looking at whether you intend to rent and sign a lease on it or not, check everything. EVERYTHING. It's important to check to see if there's any damage prior to you moving in and documenting it that way you don't get in trouble and aren't liable for something you didn't do. Even the smallest things or things that you might think aren't important or don't really bother you, document it.

If it's broken floorboards, holes in the walls or ceilings, faucet is continuously dripping or something small like paint chips or scuffs, write it down and turn it into the leasing office before you move in. It's important that you document for the leasing office and yourself so you know that you will be getting your deposit back at the end of the lease term.

From my experience of not fully checking everything within my unit, there are still some remaining things that I should've wrote down but didn't catch in time. My complex specifically put me on a time limit when giving me the sheet to document any damages to the apartment. I had 24 hours to make sure I got everything written down and turned it back in before the form became invalid. I was already stressed out with the process to begin with so filling out another form to find things wrong with the unit that I thought was perfect for me was a little annoying.

Once I saw the things wrong with it (and there was a lot more than what initially met the eye) I started to no longer really loving my own space. It does feel a little better once you have your belongings in there to make it look more home-y, but it doesn't change the fact that in my mind there were things wrong with my apartment and I hope I don't get caught or blamed for something that happened prior to me moving in.

4. Credit

When applying for anything always make sure that you credit is good. It doesn't always have to be perfect (it depends on the leasing management and varies from place to place) but it does have to show that you are in good standing and can afford it. It's always a good idea to try to start your credit building before you apply for something big like an apartment or car.

There are cards and companies that can help you build your credit, if you don't know where to look start with your bank and see what they have to offer. Otherwise if you don't really have credit or have to rebuild it because of past events (things happen and it's okay) you can always apply for a secure card which is basically putting down a deposit on whatever your deposit is is you credit limit (e.g. I paid $200 to put on my card, my limit is $200).

Though credit isn't everything it is and can be a huge factor on whether or not you get approved for the apartment or not. Credit and income can also be a factor on how big your deposit is as well. Monitor your credit and make sure you pay on time, this will help your score go up and help when applying for anything in the future.

Though looking for places sounds easy, it's not as simple as looking at pictures and picking your favorite one. There's a lot of time and effort that goes into looking for apartments and there's a lot of little details included. If you're looking to move out at any point and this is your first apartment, make sure you have friends go with you to tours and have them help you in the process in whatever way you might need help. Having support is a huge deal, especially in a big decision like having your own place. It's life changing and is a huge financial decision.

If you want more tips on what to look for when looking for your own place please let me know!

Thank you for reading!

house
2

About the Creator

Kaylie Nelson

Writing for fun!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.