Beat logo

Thank you, next...

I-N-D-E-P-E-N-D-E-N-T do you know what that means?

By Kaylie NelsonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Another year another day of...ew, no thanks. Admit it this is probably one of the most, if not THE most overrated holiday. There's tons of things you can do to try to avoid the love fest and make yourself feel better. There are many different kinds of therapies for people other than the general sit in the office and have someone listen to you complain and mope about your feelings. Personally music is a really good form of therapy because music speaks words that I could never say or think of. It helps get the feelings, emotions and thoughts of what I'm trying to say about a situation out.

Valentine's Day in general is pretty overrated but it's not worth moping around and drowning in your feelings because you're single. If anything being single is amazing! Not only because you get time to yourself (finally!) and get to do whatever you want to do (no more being forced to watch that awful show that made no sense). Being single is great! What a more perfect time to express that you're single than on a day where everyone is claiming to be in love!

Here is a playlist of 10 songs that you need to listen to to let the world know that you are single and PROUD OF IT! Put your headphones on or play your speaker full-blast because you're going to want to dance and sing (or scream) your heart out and start feeling yourself!

Dancing With A Stranger-Sam Smith, Normani

This song is perfect for if you want to go out by yourself and try to make your ex (or others) jealous. The song talks about jsut getting out of a break up and doing things to distract themselves of their feelings by going out and living their best life. Though this song has a little bit of a revenge vibe to it, it's still perfect for jamming out in your car and turning heads.

I connect with this song mostly because I went through a break up and all I did was sing this song and try to go out and turn some heads. This was for sure on my playlist of songs I'd listen to when I was feeling myself and knew I looked good. Basically my catwalk song.

NASA-Ariana Grande

If you're feeling a little more on the sad side of Valentine's Day or feeling like you need to break free from a clingy situation, NASA is the perfect jam for you! "In a world, I'mma need space." This is one of those songs that makes you feel a little more on the powerful side in terms of taking control of a situation. However, if you feel a little bit down this is also a very good pick-me-up song because it indulges the feelings of rather being alone and not wanting to be around others and socializing, especially a day like Valentine's Day.

Dictator-Rei Ami

Dictator is for those of us that feel more on the "I'm a bad b****." Needless to say this song is very powerful and is one that I definitely play full blast in my car and scream the words. Something about it is so powerful and just makes you feel good. Kind of gives me a movie scene where they set something on fire and it explodes as they're walking away but they look so good doing it. It's a very bad-girl vibe.

HOWEVER this song is also good for those that are stuck in our feelings and can't really get out. "Say you won't do it. I've been feeling stressed out, head is all ruined." The second half hits home for me due to the nature of my own experience with one of my relationships where things were considerably conflicting and back and forth. The second half (Meanie Head) is a good fit for the feelings of still getting over somebody but also calling them out on their bulls***.

Nothing To Work Out-Elko

The title speaks for itself. There's just nothing to work out even though the situation hurts, there's nothing else to do. Basically the song is for those of us that are either in a situation where you're telling someone "there's nothing we can do anymore" or if you're feeling a little unfriendly towards your ex/significant other. "There's nothing to work out baby, that s*** hurts no doubt. But I'm losing my own mind...don't come back this time."

I like this song for when I'm feeling a little on edge. The song can fit pretty much every situatino but in terms of anti-valentine, the words and title speak for itself when it comes to no love.

Sorry-Beyonce

"You're trying to roll me up. I ain't picking up. Heading to the club. I ain't thinking about you."

It's Beyonce and what she says goes. I don't really need to write anything here, it's Queen Bey and she's pretty self explanatory. I picked this song to be part of my anti-valentine playlist because the song is about benig cheated on and not being sorry for making the decision to leave. Even though situations can hurt sometimes it's better to be single and what better single anthem (other than Single Ladies) to channel your inner baddie to! "Sorry, I ain't sorry."

Irreplaceable-Beyonce

Speaking of the Queen, yet another anthem to turn up all the way and flaunt what you got. This song speaks volumes about knowing your worth and if you're reading this, you are absolutely irreplaceable. Know your worth and step out into the world as the confident elite human that you are! Irreplaceable talks about how you don't know what you got until it's gone but not from the wallowing perspective. This talks about knowing your worth and stepping away from a situation and being okay with being single! This is the perfect anthem to sing your heart out to channel your inner boss.

Mr. Brightside-The Killers

Though we do what we can do get over a breakup, sometimes it comes to a screeching halt. Whether that be going out and finding new love (or situationships) or doing the things we like to distract ourselves, sometimes it's hard to get over something that's so important to you. For those of us that hate Valentine's Day because we're in the middle of processing a breakup, this one's for you!

Filled with jealousy, disgust, but trying to be positive, Mr. Brigthside captures all of these feelings easily. The Killers capture the essence of being in the middle of a breakup but trying to hide the fact that they're jealous of their ex's new relationship. You may find yourself feeling like this and that's okay. Make sure you play this song loud and proud while you dedicate it to your ex. Just don't call them.

Mother's Daughter-Miley Cyrus

"Must be something in the water or that I'm my mother's daughter."

I relate to this song a lot just because of life scenarios that I've had. Miley talks about being on her own and flaunting what you got. Getting all the attention but going home alone. Knowing that you can go out and get exactly what you came for or anything you want really is powerful. I chose this song to be part of the anti-valentine because it screams freedom from all realtionship responsiblities and is just a feel-good song. Overall pretty bada**.

Feeling Myself-Nicki Minaj, Beyonce

I'm pretty sure this is the universal anthem that let's everyone know that you are feeling yourself and know you look good. This is the song when it comes to getting ready, dancing when you're already out or just driving in your car with no destination. Feeling Myself is the song for anything any time of day. Not only is this a song I listen to for when I'm feeling a little down on myself but this is also a song I turn to for basic daily affirmation that yes, I am that b***.

Pretty Girl Rock-Keri Hilson

On the topic of looking like a baddie and walking around town like you own it, Pretty Girl Rock talks about just that. You can't go wrong by listening to something so empowering and letting everyone know who your name is (as they should!). If you're single and having a good time, this is your song! There's nothing better than feeling good, turning heads, and going home to dance around your house!

"My name is Keri, I'm so very fly oh my it's a little bit scary. Boys wanna marry, looking at my derri-ere you can stare but if you touch it I'mma bury. Pretty as a picture, sweeter than a swisher. Mad 'cause I'm cuter than the girl that's with ya? I don't gotta talk about it baby you can see it. But if you want, I'll be happy to repeat it."

Shake It Off-Taylor Swift

"'Cause the haters gonna hate..." you might as well be happy and do whatever you want! Be single, be happy and rub it in everyone's face that being in a relationship isn't all that and doesn't bring you happiness. What brings you happiness is yourself and doing the things you want to do. Get up, shake it off and go do whatever you want to do, be whoever you want to be and just be set free and live your life! Whenever you're in a place of being stuck inside your head, turn this song all the way up and enjoy yourself. Lose yourself and laugh at the fact that you someimtes just need to shake things off and go about your day.

Admit it, Valentine's Day is overrated and definitely not worth the hassel of trying to find a valentine for one day. Be single and be proud that you have no responsiblities, nobody to report to and you can do whatever you want whenever you want! Plus the next day is 75% off chocolate so you can't be too mad that you're going to have to eat all of that by yourself and binge your favorite show.

If you want to listen to any of these songs, click the links above or listen to my playlist down below! If there are any suggestions to add to the playlist please feel free to let me know!

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Kaylie Nelson

Writing for fun!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.