Lifehack logo

My Biggest Tip For Gaining Followers On Instagram

This has helped me gain thousands of followers, and it can help you too!

By KaciePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
My Biggest Tip For Gaining Followers On Instagram
Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, Instagram, it just so happens to be my go-to social media platform. I've created many different accounts over the years (one of which was an anime fan account back in High School...don't judge me). Nowadays, I am left with only two: my personal account, and the account I have for my cat. The account for my cat, found at @Joetheactualhoe, is the account that I learned my super secret tip for gaining followers! Do you want to know my super secret secret? If that's a yes, then keep reading!

Alright, the suspense is over, the secret is coming out! My account currently sits at 3,752 followers and it continues to grow each day. I would like to say I have all of these followers due to the account's true entertainment value, but in truth it's because of one thing: spam. Yes, I said it. The secret here is spamming! Now, what I mean by spamming is liking posts. I do not mean for you to spam accounts with comments or to advertise your account on other accounts (that's something I actually would highly recommend you stay away from). And when I say like posts, I mean to like literally hundreds of posts a day. This may sound super easy but there are some key things you need to keep in mind to do this as successfully as you can.

First of all, you need to know your demographic. What is your account about? Who is your account portraying, or who is it trying to reach? Once you have this figured out, your next step is to find two or three good hashtags. The key here is finding one that isn't too popular, so pick some that have only a million or so posts. You then go to the recent posts for this hashtag and proceed to like every picture you can. I suggest finding a less popular hashtag because it will be way less crowded and the pictures may have less likes which is good for your strategy. Posts with less likes and traffic are exactly what your target is. People love likes and attention in general, so you taking the time to like their picture can mean a lot and often results in a follow. This here is how you build your account. Now, you won't get followed by everyone whose post you like, but the few that do are what counts.

There are two key drawbacks to this strategy that should be discussed. Firstly, nobody wants to sit on their phone and scroll and like for minutes. But, once you get over the monotony of your task it gets better. You just have to know that you are doing this for a reason and the followers you gain should make it all worth it. The second thing that I hate immensely, is that Instagram will block you from liking posts if you have liked too many in a short amount of time. This is why you must play it smart and once you have gone on for a few minutes, you should stop and come back to it later. Instagram has two types of blocks. One lasts for only a few minutes, but the other more severe one can last for days. So, if you get to the first one make sure to stop for at least a few hours. You can get the small block about two or three times a day without getting to the harsh block so take advantage of this.

Well, there you have it, my super secret secret for gaining followers on Instagram! There are many factors that go into the simple task of liking pictures but once you get the hang of it, it will become a piece of cake. Just remember these three critical parts of your plan of attack: find a few small hashtags, like mostly pictures with less than 20 likes, and do not over-do it! Now go use those fingers and like away, it helps you become one step closer to that Insta-fame you are after!

Sincerely from my super secret mind,

Kacie

social media
1

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.