Lifehack logo

It's Scorpio Season

Learn How To Manifest & Shine During Shadow Work

By Kayla LindleyPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
1
It's Scorpio Season
Photo by Sarah Brown on Unsplash

Check it out Scorpio season is among us. Here's the deal- some of you are going to dismiss this article and think I'm nuts. You might be genuinely curious because New Age and Metaphysical stuff isn't going away after the Halloween season anymore. Or your cousin has randomly become a "TikTok Psychic" doing pick a card pulls for random people on the internet. Regardless of the reason, I wanted to educate you on the New Moon and what this all means. So the next time Julie at Starbucks starts talking to you about manifesting you'll have an idea of what this means.

So it's simple. Basically every moon cycle there's obviously different phases of the month. But the new moon in particular is important to so many because it's considered "the self care moment" of the month. Basically you are setting intentions, reflecting, and releasing what no longer serves you in life. It's the time to set goals and figure out what path you want to go on. So if you want to get that new job, you desperately need a vacation, or you just want to manifest that relationship you've been craving this is how to do it. Below I'm going to outline my favorite things to do that are great for beginners!

Crystals are one of those things I collect and love, because each crystal is unique to the person who buys it. No one will have the exact same crystal as you. Listen to your body and it's needs. Often times you will get drawn to a specific crystal in the store, like you might think it's just pretty. But there may qualities to it that help with calming, or manifesting self-love, creativity etc. Now you do need to cleanse your crystals regularly. Which I could write a whole blog post on that alone. For now here is how to do a Crystal Meditation.

Rinse your crystal under warm water to remove any old or negative energy from its source. (If your crystal doesn't take to water well, you can use another cleansing technique.)Gently pat your crystal dry, and hold it up to your heart center.Holding your crystal against your heart center, set an intention to connect to more curiosity and connection under this new moon.

Once you feel the intention has been set, place the crystal in a pouch to carry with you or in a space that is visible to you often.Over the next two weeks and/or six months, you can meditate with this crystal to help you remove mental blocks and release you from any heavy mental energy, for its light to guide you forward when the road gets unclear.This crystal now carries with it the energy of your intention and the patience and light source to help you connect to your journey with more curiosity and connection.

-Sarah Regan

I have yet to try this personally myself, but I decided this month I wanted to get really intentional with my journaling. So much so that I found this really cool metaphysical store near me called Third Planet. It's located in Bellingham, WA and it's been my go to for all things metaphysical. They have a huge amount of crystals and like literally the first time I walked in, one of the workers told me I was going to need a solid hour to look at everything and he wasn't lying. But they have an amazing journal selection, so I want to start focusing on manifesting through this method with a brand new journal.

I have one for the past, but I feel like since I am starting over in my life, I want to burn that book and start over with something that has fresh pages and new intentions. That being said the 369 method is pretty straight forward. It involves you writing your intentions multiple times a day. Let me explain:

The 369 method is a popular manifestation technique that involves simply writing down an intention or affirmation repeatedly throughout the day. If you wanted to manifest money, for example, your affirmation could be, "I will receive a large sum of money."

You can do this method every day up until the full moon, two weeks after the new moon, or, if you wanted to play the long game, you could even commit to doing this method every day for six months, up until the new moon's corresponding full moon in the same astrological sign. Here's how it works: Write down your affirmation three times as soon as you wake up in the morning.Write down your affirmation six times during the afternoon. Write your affirmation nine times before you go to bed.

-Sarah Regan

So this gives me major Salem Witch Trial Vibes, but it's not totally uncommon. But basically the vibes you share with others who not only practice in the craft or spiritual space will actually amplify these intentions. Kind of like when you pray at church, it's the same concept you have people who are around you who have similar beliefs and are working towards common goals. Support network/systems etc. Basically here's an example that was outlined in the article I found recently.

Choose someone to lead the group. Go around the circle and announce your name and one word to describe your current emotional state. Partake in a short 5- to 10-minute meditation to center and ground. Take some time to journal separately about what is present. Share in what was revealed in the writing process. Take another 10 minutes to write out your intentions, as if they're already happening. For example, "I am finding myself feeling strong and flexible at my weekly yoga class." or "I am feeling relaxed, fully myself, and at ease on my date with X."Share at least one of your intentions aloud. Close the circle with another short meditation.

-Sarah Regan

I love soaking in the tub. I know it isn't for everyone, and I know a lot of places don't even have a tub. It's mostly showers. However this can be replaced with doing a foot soak in a bowl of warm water so you can still get the same affect. Using water allows you to amplify the intentions and detox the negativity energy after a long day. This is Sarah's recipe, and I am giving her credit because she came up with a lot of good things here, I am more or less commenting my personal experiences with these in between as well. So here's the list of what you will need for this specific soak, and it's good actually for the water seasons, especially in Scorpio.

What you'll need: Rose or jasmine incense, 1 red candle, 1 pink candle, The petals from one dozen fresh pink or red roses, 1 bottle rose essential oil, 1 bottle jasmine essential oil, 1 rose quartz crystal, 1 aventurine crystal, 1 feather, 1 abalone shell or fireproof container to catch ashes from the sage, A lighter or matches.

Light and burn your rose and jasmine incense next to the tub. Light the two candles in a safe place in your bathroom. Add the fresh rose petals to the bath water. Add 6 drops of the rose oil and 6 drops of the jasmine oil to the bath water—6 is the number of love. Add the rose quartz and aventurine to the bath water. During your bath, visualize yourself in a loving relationship, and place the crystals over your heart. Visualize your heart opening and a new love coming into your life. Soak for 20 minutes. After you've finished your bath, place your crystals on your nightstand. Give the rose petals back to the Earth.

I actually have never done this, but I know a lot of people who do. The new moon is also a great time to make moon water, which is essentially water that has had time to soak up some lunar energy. It can be used for a number of things, from bathing to watering your houseplants. It's most often made under the light of the full moon, but new moons certainly work too. Here's how to make it:

Fill a container with water. If you can use fresh rainwater, even better—but any water is OK. Place your container somewhere it's facing the moon. It doesn't matter whether it's outside on your porch or inside on a windowsill. Say an affirmation or prayer. Think about what you want to use this moon water for, and say an affirmation or prayer over the jar to seal your intention.Once your container is in place and your intention is set, leave the jar overnight. In the morning, your moon water will be good to go!

The following candle ritual comes from astrology expert Imani Quinn, who tells mbg that this is a particularly potent option to try if the moon is in a fire sign (Aries, Leo, or Sagittarius). This ritual will actually last you two weeks, up until the full moon, making it ideal for keeping your intention top of mind and taking aligned action. I would also add that this would probably be the easiest out of all the ones to do, and I do this regularly. Especially good when it comes to finances or money stuff in general.

Set and write down your intention on the new moon and light a fresh candle (consider choosing a candle color that aligns with your intention).Keep working with this intention until the full moon, repeatedly lighting and working with the candle. Notice any blocks that come up, and on the full moon, write down what you want to release, burning the paper with the candle under the full moon.

Because new moons are all about setting intentions and goals, one ritual you can do is simply sitting down and getting clear on what you'd like your intention to be. Here's an intention-setting ritual to try, from spiritual teacher Ezzie Spencer, Ph.D.:

On the new moon, prepare a sacred space. Activate the senses by lighting a candle or sage, making herbal tea, and sitting on a comfortable cushion or rug. Lay out a journal and pen, close the door, and turn off your phone. Close your eyes, place one hand on your heart and one on your belly to connect with your physical body, and breathe deeply. Ask yourself what you most desire. Do you want a career more aligned with your purpose in life? Do you wish to start or improve a relationship? Do you crave more health and vitality?

Notice how the answer feels in your body. Do you feel tingles of excitement? Do you feel peace and expansion? Tap in to the power of elevated emotions by allowing yourself to feel grateful that you have already achieved your goal. Feel this in your body. Open your eyes, and write down your intention to declare what you are creating. Phrase it in the positive. For example, "I feel joy as I create a mutually loving and supportive marriage."

-Sarah Regan

Get a tarot reading done! Look I'm not one to fully criticise. I have been reading tarot professionally for almost 2 years now, but I have done thousands of readings over on Keen. I'll link my profile so you can see my feed back, or if you even want to get a reading done. Sometimes just getting clarity if it's even worth bringing that relationship back in, or to mend old wounds/conflict with family will happen.

Tarot readings are VERY personal, and your energy should be taken seriously. There are a lot of fakes out there who are about the money only. So many can be skeptical when getting a reading. So here's the rule of thumb, if they ask a ton of questions up front- they aren't real. If they are very vague and keep leading you on to constantly pay more, they aren't real. Fishing is just a way of putting things on for show. And it's genuinely annoying. If they are real they will go in and be able to immediately gain perspective or insite on another person's thoughts, feelings and emotions. They should be able to just give you info without you actually having to feed them stuff.

Rule of thumb- if you aren't feeling a reading in the first 3-5 mins don't waste your money or time. Look for people who have online profiles with reviews. I like my website personally, because it's people in real time who have gotten readings and leave feed back. I have had my gifts since I was about 8 years old. No amount of meds has ever really "fixed" me being able to sense energy on people and places. I often times can read past lives, and do some mediumship. It's not always forced or prompted though. So if it comes through I will push message along, but I don't necessairly specialize in those areas. But I'm quick- and I typically like doing love and relationship categories. I pick up on whether or not people are cheating, or what's causing people to shut down.

It's more of an approach of looking for a longer term solution, rather than you having to constantly come back. You need tools of empowerment rather than a band-aid. Although I don't mind it- I'm just saying I want you to feel like you have the ability to have control over your own situations. I just tell you things from a more blunt/compassion perspective with a straightforward approach. So if you'd like a reading, you can check out my reader profile below. I get on at random times, but if you subscribe to texts- it'll notify you when I am actually online which is cool!

So I hope these suggestions were helpful to you. New Moon season is definitely one of those times where you should make the most of it. It's really impactful on your mental and emotional health. But more importantly it's a great form of self care, and having compassion on yourself. Which one of these do you think you will do during the full moon? Let me know down in the comments below!

-Kayla

how to
1

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.