Lifehack logo

Ikebana: The Japanese art of flower arrangement

The craft that is rearranging my soul elements

By PuriPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Ikebana- what attracted me to this art form of traditional Japanese flower arrangement? Many Japanese words tickle my soul by their sheer beauty and the deeper meaning they signify. Like "Ikigai"- meaning a reason for being; the thing that gets you up in the morning and "Ukiyo"- meaning "the floating world"-living in the moment, detached from the bothers of life. So what in Ikebana that made me connect? Was it just the word, or was it something more?

Ikebana, the word, its mere sound, did flow like water through the rubbles of my soul, at a time when it needed what it needed to flourish and grow. But more importantly, the beauty, peace, and creativity it brings struck the first chord of profound joy deep within me.

I have always had a deep yearning for beauty in simple things since childhood. I was fascinated by flowers and plants in all forms, appreciated and used them in different crafts. Recently through an inner calling, right before the pandemic, I started seeking the meaning and purpose of life more intensely and sought ways to explore my creative sides. And the pandemic brought a heightened sense of purpose to the process. And only then did I wander into the oasis of Ikebana through a casual WhatsApp post from a friend, somewhat accidentally, I should say. Was it an accident really, or was it meant to be, as always is? I still wonder!

Ever since Ikebana blossomed into my life, I have been fully immersed in it, trying several arrangements almost daily with few flowers and leaves from my little garden. There is a very elegant shift and rearrangement in my soul that are palpable in my external and internal worlds with every arrangement.

A physician by profession, I have spent all my life learning the science of healing a body. But for the first time, I feel that this beautiful craft of Ikebana is a path to heal your soul. It is also the way to seek your true self and the authentic connection between yourself and the world you are part of.

Ikebana, the traditional Japanese art of flower arrangement, where seasonal flowers and plant cuttings are arranged in vessels to appreciate their beauty, originated in Japan, in the 6th century, in the Chohoji temple in Kyoto.

What deeply attracts me to this art form is that it is not just arranging flowers beautifully. It is a sacred balance between colors, lines, and mass or volume, elegantly set by a creator reflecting on the elements, their energy, and connection among themselves and of his own.

Ikebana not only appreciates the beautiful colors or the external form of flowers. Instead, it is a deep appreciation of the beauty of the living energy itself. It is simply to view something with life, not through your mind, but through the life within you. I call it by different names, my heart, soul, living energy, or sometimes, call it my essence or the Presence. And this spiritual depth to this art makes it more meaningful and uplifting.

Ikebana has different schools and styles, the three common forms being the Rikka, Shoka, and Jiyuka. Rikka is the oldest style of vertical arrangement in a tall vase, representing a scene from nature or changing seasons. Shoka, the simplified form of Rikka, where a crucial balance between the lengths and heights of three lines are aesthetically presented with an intentional asymmetry, intrinsically incorporating the sun and earth. The longer left line represents the flowers growing towards the sun, the shorter one on the right suggesting the shade, and the vase representing the earth from which the flowers bloom and grow towards the sun. The third style is Jiyuka, or the freestyle where the artist is free to express himself precisely how he feels it, yet conveying the changing seasons and the inherent connection between the elements of nature.

I am currently exploring the different forms and styles. I feel that my soul leans more towards the Jiyuka style, where I can express myself freely through arrangements that align with my mood at that very moment. Every time I arrange flowers, I learn that I do not consciously think to incorporate this or that element and form. I feel the living energy in the flowers and plants, be one with it, believe in the process, and go with the flow. The final product born out of it has all the elements beautifully incorporated, elegantly asymmetric, and aesthetically balanced, without my thinking, simply by being and flowing with the energy. Once I finish an arrangement and view it from different angles and perspectives, each bringing out an extra dimension, I can feel the stillness, the serenity, and the sacredness of the whole space. I then smile. Sometimes I cry.

The striking simplicity of the whole process is another element of this beautiful art that stirs my soul and makes it very different from the more familiar Western forms of flower arrangements. The tools needed to create an Ikebana are very minimal. Just one or two flowers and stems, a vessel, a frog, a pair of scissors to trim, and a few tapes and wires are all that are needed to create a simple, soul-satisfying masterpiece. Flowers convey the color, season, and mood while the stems, cut to different shapes and heights, help build the background, balance, and connection. The vase or vessel that holds the arrangement compliments and presents the magical elegance to the outer world, often signifying the earth itself. The frog, which is the spiked centerpiece, secures the flowers and stems in place. This minimalistic approach of this art form stunningly represents the simple beauty inherent in nature. The fact that I can create a profoundly satisfying Ikebana with just a few flowers and twigs picked from my tiny little garden is very transformative and inspiring.

Through Ikebana, I seek to explore and appreciate the beauty in every flower, twig, leaf, and vibrant living energy they portray. I learn to appreciate the symmetry and the beautiful asymmetry in the different flowers. I get moved by the seemingly static twigs that display dynamicity. I am amused by the varied shades and shapes of leaves that complement the flowers and convey the seasons, sometimes even better than the flowers themselves.

In this process, I explore parts of myself, my shades, my balance, and the lack thereof. I cherish my asymmetry and the beauty of it. I am amazed by the fluidity within me and the feeling of lightness that flows from it. I am intrigued by the vibrant energy that springs from the stillness deep within. Ikebana calls for oneness with nature and inspires creativity through the beauty within and around me.

In Ikebana, my spirit embraces and arranges itself in alignment with nature. In Ikebana, I see the perfect alignment between my artistic, creative, sensitive, and spiritual sides. My soul simply opens up and sings. And I learn that the journey has just begun, and there is more of me to unfold.

In Ikebana, I find my Ikigai, my purpose and reason of being, and I can be in the Ukiyo, in the present moment, away from the bothers of life.

Through Ikebana, I create my happiness!!

- Puri

Link to a short video with my creations: https://youtu.be/BIUYCZbbsvM

crafts
1

About the Creator

Puri

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.