Lifehack logo

If you can dream it, You can achieve it!

A stimulating awakening.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

If you can dream it, you can achieve it!

It's time to start dreaming more...with our eyes wide open.

I have always appreciated a nice, refreshing nap. For the most part, a quick forty winks can easily turn into a long, substantial slumber.

Night time is a modest, uncomplicated time when I can ditch the daily stress that I have accumulated, and decompress in my own little dreamland of bliss and elation.

Admittedly, once I get comfortable, I can fall asleep almost anywhere. All that I need is a comfy, intimate space, and I can turn it into a lair of soothing happiness.

As a child I associated somnolence with a way to escape the reality of a flawed and faulty adolescence. This dreamy ritual perdured well into my adult life. When life became too complicated and challenging, I turned to sleep where I could control the elements of a picture-perfect, insurmountable world that I effectuated secretly and confidentially.

I learned how to control my dreams by means of sound, scent and meditations.

Just like most, a posh, ostentatious mattress is simply unattainable. Although, I wish that I was capable of relinquishing hundreds of dollars on an amazing bedstead, it just isn’t a reality for me right now. However, I have found preternatural rest by using a few, cheap hacks. Trust me, I have slept on couches, in cars and even on floors and woke up feeling refreshed and regenerated.

(Hint: Thrift stores sometimes have perfectly good, high-end bedding on the shelves. I was able to snag two Madison Park comforters for only $6.00 each. These normally retail for around $200.00)

The softness and comfort of a feather topper is unparalleled, and often times I have used these as my main source of comfort. For a lengthy amount of time my bed consisted of two foam mattress pads, covered with a feather topper. Sometimes you can find really good deals on these items, so go ahead and toss two feather toppers on there for added cushion and comfort.

Choosing your colors is a significant step. You should choose sheets that make you feel relaxed and easeful. Solid, neutral color linen covers are wonderfully cozy and make you want to snuggle in. And they’re great because the more they wrinkle the more comfortable they look and feel.

Some people find that basic, crisp, white sheets are satisfying and pleasurable. As for me, I tend to choose darker, and earthy colors such as browns, greens, and shades of black.

Find yourself a soft, and delicate, light-weight blanket. This adds an extra layer of comfort and is basically what will be wrapping your body in pure happiness.

Now for the climactic, grand finale – The comforter. As I mentioned above, “Thrift stores sometimes have perfectly good, high-end bedding on the shelves.” There are two things that most affluent, deep-pocketed people have in common. They get bored quickly, and they like donating to thrift stores. - Take advantage of this!

You have an adequate, satisfactory nest made, and now it’s time to concentrate on YOU!

When it comes to sleeping, take the advice of a sleep queen. “You don’t have to have fancy bedtime clothing in order to get a good night's sleep. In fact, just like posh, ostentatious mattresses, I don’t even own a nightgown. Sometimes these simple luxuries just aren’t in the budget, so we learn how to make do. A simple, basic t-shirt is palatable.

Once I crawl in between those soft, accommodating blankets, it’s time to unwind, and throw away everything that’s stinging and festering in my mind.

Try dabbing some lavender oil on your pillow, this is proven to combat stress and anxiety, aiding in relaxation and sleep.

Take three long, deep breaths holding each one in for five seconds and slowly exhaling. Envision all of your problems leaving your body with each breath. Sometimes, it may be necessary to repeat this step a few times until all of the troubles and ailments have parted. When you truly, concentrate, and visualize this, you will actually feel yourself become lighter and freer. This feels so wonderful and gratifying, giving pleasure and contentment to the mind and senses.

Stretch your legs out as long and far as you possibly can. Slowly point your feet and toes downward and hold that position for just a few moments. This releases your muscles and tells your body that it’s time for rest.

By now you’re feeling much more relaxed, and ready to enter that most wonderful place of dreams. This is your world, created intimately and clandestinely by you.

As you feel yourself sinking deeper and deeper remember that no one and nothing can enter your world unless you invite them in. This is your personal and secret place and you have complete control.

In our perfect world, there is no stress, no worries, and no drama, only complete and total peace and happiness.

To help navigate you to this place of dreams, you can infuse yourself with calming sounds such as rain, water or birds singing. Now close your eyes and picture yourself living your best life in total euphoria.

Feel the gentle breeze brush across your face, and let the grass tickle your toes. Maybe you want to go to the beach, the mountains, or just an open, grassy field full of wild flowers. Your dreams are unlimited and you can journey absolutely anywhere that makes you happy.

They’ll be no worries or burdens until you next open your eyes.

My New Year's Resolution is not only to sleep more, but to keep taking myself to these amazing, hopeful places not only in my dreams but in waking reality. To create a world where I find peace and happiness with my eyes open and conscious.

To have a stimulating awakening.

(and I verily hope that it is one of yours as well)

health

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca Lynn IveyWritten by Rebecca Lynn Ivey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.