Lifehack logo

How to Wake up Early in the Morning

How to Wake up When You Are Supposed to Wake Up

By Dylan BehrendsPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Do you ever go to bed with the idea that you are going to wake up early and have a great morning, but actually wake up pressing the snooze button over and over again, waking up way late? These few tips will help you wake up whenever you want to wake up.

1. Ten second rule.

When you wake up in the morning after your alarm goes off and you feel like just going back to sleep, don't. Count to ten. The ten second rule is, whenever you wake up in the morning, count down from ten, and when you get to one, wake up. As soon as you hit one, just immediately get up. I have been doing this since I was younger and it has always worked for me personally, even though it sounds silly.

2. Prepare.

When you wake up, the first thing you think about is everything that you have to get done. The night before, you need to have your clothes prepared for the day, and whatever your school/work supplies are ready to go. Also, if you have to bring your own lunch, make your lunch the night before. This is so that when you wake up, you know that you have minimal to do to get ready.

3. Think ahead.

You need to know how much sleep that your body needs to function, without a doubt. This make take a few nights to figure out, but I personally need seven to eight hours of sleep. But go to bed however many hours of sleep that you need before the time that you have to be up. Also, you need good sleep. Thirty minutes to an hour, don't be on your phone. The screen on the phone is not good to look at right before you go to bed. Not to mention that you could see something that could stress you out. Try to read books too, before bed—fiction books preferably, so that your mind is not thinking too much at night about things that you could do. Sleep with less stress, and worry free.

4. BT Light Bulbs

This option does come with a price, but it definitely is worth it. I have a Bluetooth light bulb, and what I can do is set it to a time to come on. Whatever time that I am going to get up in the morning, I set the light to come on at the same time. That way, when I wake up, the light is already on and my eyes are already adjusting to the light, making me want to get up more.

5. Sleep clean.

There are two points to this. The first one, is to sleep in a clean bed. This means wash your sheets from time to time, and do not go to bed dirty. By going to bed clean, your bed sheets will remain clean longer. Plus, it feels better going to bed clean in a clean bed. Also, you need to have your room clean. It doesn't make too much sense, but when I open my eyes in the morning, having a clean room to be the first thing that I see makes it easier for me to get up.

So try out these tips and see if they work for you. Maybe one of these tips will be the reason that you actually wake up on time to do something great! If you have any other useful tips or tricks, feel free to let me know, because I would be happy to try them out myself. Nonetheless, if you're reading this and you've gotten this far, have a great rest of your day.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Dylan Behrends

I am here to help you make your everyday tasks easier :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.