Lifehack logo

How To Prevent Gum Disease With A Simple Hack

No more debris, plaque, and bacterial colonization.

By Dr Mehmet YildizPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How To Prevent Gum Disease With A Simple Hack
Photo by John Torcasio on Unsplash

We all know about the importance of dental and gum hygiene.

My secret is inter-dental brush.

This very simple tool is extremely powerful as long as it is used habitually.

Habitual use of inter-dental brush substantially improved my dental and gum health.

The problem I found was that tooth brushing and flossing did not always clean between all the tooth grooves. Because of this limitation, harmful plaque and tartar can develop quickly in these hard-to-reach places of our dental systems.

In general, this hygiene practice can help prevent tooth decay, gum disease, and even bad breath.

According to established studies, gum disease and associated inflammation are surprisingly linked to cardiovascular disease.

My understanding of the mechanism from studies for gum disease leading to heart problems is the inflammation in the mouth also affects the inflammation of the arteries.

This inflammation of the arteries can cause the development of atherosclerotic plaques. These types of plaques in the arteries can increase the risk of a heart attack or even can cause a stroke.

With this knowledge, I learnt to pay more attention to my dental health. A straightforward measure was to increase brushing my teeth three times a day. I used to brush once or twice sometimes.

For many years I went to a dentist suffering from minor dental problems at least once a year.

My health care organization provides free dental check-ups per year.

I never enjoyed my experience in dentist rooms.

And of course teeth pain is undesirable.

My dentists talked about the importance of tooth brushing and flossing but never mentioned importance of inter-dental brushing.

Several years ago, I came across inter-dental brushing from some dentistry studies, which made the most significant contribution to my dental hygiene.

The problem I found was that tooth brushing and flossing did not always clean between all the tooth grooves. Because of this limitation, harmful plaque and tartar can develop quickly in these hard-to-reach places of our dental systems.

I experienced that the solution to cleaning between the tooth grooves was using inter-dental brushes.

You may ask what is so special about inter-dental brushes.

Inter-dental brushes are specifically shaped to reach into teeth grooves to remove debris and plaque.

From conversations with my dentists, I understood that excessive debris, plaque, and bacterial colonization were initiators of gum disease.

I learned and experienced that inter-dental brushing was the most effective solution in preventing bacterial colonization, causing tooth decay.

In addition to inter-dental brushing, recently I also came across a new toothpaste including activated charcoal. I always use activated charcoal for other purposes but never used it for dental hygiene before.

This specific toothpaste formulated with activated charcoal helped me remove the stains on my teeth more effectively. You can check the amazing benefits of activated charcoal for gut health from this article on News Break: How I Trapped Toxins In My Gut And Stopped Bloating Naturally. Contrary to the advice of my dentists, I use natural mouth washing liquids between the brushing times to rejuvenate my mouth. With the introduction of natural mouth washing liquids, I even noticed more improvement in my dental health, but my dentists do not believe it. Surprisingly, for many years, my teeth haven’t got any plaques.

I respect dentist’s views. However, in addition to suggestions by dentist, I also practice my proven techniques to experience the health benefits. My true feelings and proven personal experiences drive my motivation to explore and act on the techniques and tools that work for me.

Dental health is critical for a joyful life.

Since I use inter-dental brushes as a supplement to regular brushing and flossing, my dental health dramatically improved. I rarely visit a dentist, perhaps once a year for a regular free check-up. For long time, they dentist did not observe any tooth decay or other abnormalities.

Thank you for reading my perspectives.

Original version of this story was published on another platform.

health
1

About the Creator

Dr Mehmet Yildiz

I'm a writer and published author with four decades of content development experience in business, technology, leadership, and health. I work as a postdoctoral researcher and consultant. My background is at https://digitalmehmet.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.