Lifehack logo

How to Beautify Your Living Space

(Simply and Affordably)

By Jacqueline DeWittPublished 6 years ago 4 min read

As a 23-year-old who still lives at home with her parents, two siblings, and a yappy little dog, I understand how tremendously important it is to have a space of your own. Sometimes I feel as though my happiness is dependent on being able to go up to my room after a long day of work and just chill out in my own little square space; a space that is completely me.

Last summer, I diligently decided it was time to reorganize and redecorate my bedroom, and so I did just that. Not only is it a much more aesthetically pleasing space now, but the positive effects it has had on my own mental space have been vast. So whether you are like me and only have a bedroom, or you are living in an apartment, or even have an entire house to manage, I am going to share with you how I beautified my space ... and how you can too!

1. Take Notice

This is the first step of beautifying your space and is the easiest part, as well. All it requires is that you, whether out and about, at home or online, take notice of what you like—and don't like. That's it! You can think about such things as color schemes, patterns, textures, lighting, styles of furniture, and even general room layouts. It's important that you don't lie to yourself during this phase. If you don't like a certain style or passing trend, that's okay! It's not for you and your space.

At this point, you can either make a mental or physical list of specific things you like, and even items that you want to add to your space to spice it up.

This leads me to my next point...

2. Pinterest

First of all, what did we all do before this website? I'm obsessed. When I first signed up, it was just so that I could pin pictures of flowers, but this site has helped me organize pretty much my entire life, especially when it came to redecorating my bedroom. If you don't have an account/profile, get one! It takes ten seconds and it's always free.

I have a "board" for interior decorating simply called Interiors. This is where I developed the majority of my ideas for my bedroom. It makes it so easy to point yourself in the right direction as it takes seconds to re-pin a picture of an enticing color scheme or piece of furniture that you might be interested in. It is so useful as it takes all the ideas that you have in your head and suddenly gives you a vibrant blueprint for your space.

It can also provide you with links to websites that you can potentially buy certain products from, or even just get more design ideas from.

A Color Scheme Example From My 'Interiors' Board

I personally find these colors to work beautifully together. Now, for instance, if you liked this scheme as well and wanted to fill a room with it, you would now have an idea of what colors you would like to shop for—whether it's paint colors, a lamp, chair, table, rug, picture frame, or even a throw pillow. The beauty and simplicity of Pinterest!

3. Shop Around

This is the step to take if and when you find that working with what you already have is not working any longer...

Once you have some ideas of the style(s) that appeal to you, you can start manifesting your eye for design by actually bringing these items into your space! And the great thing here is that you really don’t have to spend a ton of money to get what you want. Now, I was lucky when I redecorated my room because I already had the big items covered: my walls were painted a color I loved, I had a duvet that was super pretty, and a kick-ass dresser and book shelf. So all I really had to look for was a desk and some accessories to spice it up.

For furniture purchases, I would suggest either IKEA or Wayfair. Both places have some really cool, inexpensive finds, and as long as you have your measurements handy, you don’t even need to leave your house to buy them! I got my desk from Wayfair for $150 Canadian, shipping included—not bad at all!

And this is going to sound weird, but for the smaller, cute things, I would either hit up a dollar store, Walmart, Bed Bath and Beyond, or even some yard sales. I have found an array or infinitely cute, stylish things at each of these stores/places. As long as you keep your eyes and mind open, stay true to your style and take your time, you will be sure to find what you’re looking for without emptying your bank account to get it.

This brings me to my last point...

4. Do it for yourself.

We currently live in a world where, whether or not we like it, we are constantly competing with and comparing ourselves to others. So many of us share so much of our daily lives with people we don’t even care about via social media. I am guilty of this and, unfortunately, it has warped the way I look at others and even the way I look at myself. Thus, what do we have that is truly ours anymore? Well, I believe that your home is yours to do with what you please. And if not an entire home, then a slice of that home—a space in that home. It is a true opportunity to express your authentic self regardless of what other people think.

If you are a grown dude that has a thing for black and hot pink, do it up! If you want to plaster movie posters all over the walls until you can't see the paint color any longer, just go on and do it. If you collect ceramic cat figures and want to show them off, put them out there. Do what makes you happy and brings you joy and peace, and if people don't get it, kick 'em to the curb!

I hope that this article has helped you in some way in your quest to create an enjoyable space for yourself. Have fun with it and get creative. The most authentic, original spaces are always the most beautiful!

how to

About the Creator

Jacqueline DeWitt

I am a 28 year old with a degree in English from UofT. I am passionate about communication and the arts.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jacqueline DeWittWritten by Jacqueline DeWitt

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.