Lifehack logo

How I revived an Old iPhone with a Hairdryer

I promise the title is not clickbait you just have to read how it happened and the logic behind it.

By Kevin GabeciPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Well, the story is as odd as you think it is and it just happened to me a few days ago. Let’s take things step by step and in the end the technical explanation. My old iPhone 6 had been stuck gathering dust in a drawer for the past 6 to 8 months since I made the change and getting back to Android devices.

Which was a decision that has made me so happy but that’s a story for another time. Anyway, I had to get some information out of the phone which had become relevant to me again now. Normally I think the battery is dead so I left it to charge for about 2 hours and nothing. The phone only showed low battery and when I unplugged the cable it immediately turned off. At this point, my phone was stuck like this representation in the picture below and I was almost defeated.

What Did I Come Up With?

After a good hour googling and searching for possible solutions I saw this method of blowing hot air from the hairdryer and then the phone magically turns on. My skepticism was through the roof but I was desperate to get the information out of my phone so I had to try it. So how it works it’s like this for anyone who wants to follow my steps.

Unplug your phone and remove the case if you have it on.

Put the phone on the ground with the display facing down.

Use the hairdryer on high setting for 45–60 seconds. About 10 centimeters away from the phone.

Whilst it’s hot put it in the charger pin back to the port.

Disclaimer! This will void your warranty so take the risk into your own hands.

Voilà! Immediately the Apple logo appeared on my phone. I was shocked, didn't expect that to work at all. Slowly getting my head into the technical side of things it started to make sense to me.

The phone had almost no ‘juice’ left in it so for it to start up it would’ve required a lot more. Sometimes they charge after a ridiculous amount of time like 20 hours and start, other times they just don’t. Heat creates resistance and resistance with current increases voltage. An increased voltage or ‘juice’ made it possible for the phone to boot up and work for about 10 minutes, that was all I needed to get out the information that I needed.

I continued experimenting with it and after leaving it to charge for a couple of days the phone now runs normally. The battery percentage was very wrong in the beginning after getting turned on by itself. It fluctuated in my eyes from 4% to 85% and back to 10%. It was weird but the battery now holds the normal amount that it would when I was last using it and the apps and games work without any problem. The battery health is at 82% according to its own software but I doubt that. This was my story and I had to tell someone about it since for me this is fascinating. I hope you enjoyed it and I’m working on producing more high-quality posts for everyone.

Closing Thoughts

I know that the whole notion of fixing an old phone with a hairdryer sounds mad and like something people would use to clickbait but this actually happened and at first, I too was skeptical. What I learned from this is that don't judge a method if you don't understand the full logic behind it. That was precisely what I did. I researched and figured it made sense and then tested it. Luckily I was pleasantly surprised and now I have my phone back and running again which I use as an MP3 player for my car. Like I promised this wasn't clickbait so it would mean a lot if you leave a like or heart in this article.

how to
2

About the Creator

Kevin Gabeci

Create with Heart and Build with Mind | Programmer with a Passion for Writing | Crypto is the Future #Bitcoin #Dogecoin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.