Lifehack logo

Friendly Company

Making a Bear for my Nephew

By Blake SmithPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5

My nephew is nearing his 3rd birthday! Tragically, due to a lockdown in the greater Sydney area, I’m not going to be able to visit him. This extra time at home has, however, given me the opportunity to make him a gift!

I always feel that making a gift for someone is more heartfelt than buying one. Especially toys and the like for kids. So, ive decided to make him a stuffed bear which he will hopefully enjoy. Who knows, he may rip it to shreds. Really, it’s fine either way. At the end of the day, I’m making it for him, how he treats it is up to him.

I decided to get some nice plush fabric for this bear. The ones I chose are white for the main body and a blue patterned fabric for his paws and on his stomach.

Two fabrics, one plain white and one blue with stylised Australian flowers and animals on it

I tossed up some buttons for the eyes and nose, but decided against it. He’s only three, if he tears them off and swallows them, he could choke. I’ll embroider eyes and a nose on instead.

I made a pattern on some craft paper,

Craft paper with a pattern for a small bear drawn on. There is also a small ruler and eraser present

Then cut them out and traced them onto the main fabric.

The pattern for the bear is traced onto the back of the plush white fabric

Then cut those out and pinned them together!

White fabric pinned together in the vague shape of a bear

I embroidered the nose and eyes before sewing so it was on a single piece of fabric. It also made it easier to make them look even.

Bear face! Here he is compared to the white bear emoji

It can be a little hard to see, but for the nose I’ve embroidered half, stuffed it with cotton, and then finished. Then I sewed the nose piece to the face, stuffed and closed. The face changes slightly when the back of his head is put on. Remember to sew inside out! Pin the ears in place before you start and flip the face back around so you know it will look right when it’s done.

Here is the full bear head after being stuffed and closed.

Next up, I followed the process of stitching, stuffing, and closing the rest of the pieces.

The bear’s head, legs, arms, and body are all done and sitting together in the rough arrangement for how they will appear when completed

Then I sewed him all together!

The bear is now sitting up, him entire body is attached

Technically I should have finished him here, since the patch for his stomach should have been added earlier, before it was stuffed closed. I didn’t do that because I was worried the body might not work when I was making him. Instead I stitched it on afterwards. It’s a little wonky, but I’d like to tell you all what I told myself at this stage: “it is for a three year old who will likely call it a dog and play with it for exactly one day before forgetting it exists. It’s fine.” At this stage he was more of a project for me, anyway.

Here he is sitting on the table, all done!

Here is one last photo with my hand for scale (although this was taken at the pinning stage for the stomach patch).

Here he is in all of his little bear glory. His little legs and arms, and his little patch on his stomach. He’s quite small.

I was so grateful to have this little guy to work on! I can’t wait to see what my nephew thinks of him, and what he names him.

crafts
5

About the Creator

Blake Smith

Blake Smith is a student and aspiring author in Australia. Their work is influenced by their political leanings, trauma, and reading nonsense online. Who's isn't though? Did y'all see that orange with the limbs and the face? Terrifying :/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.